Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2009, 07:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
McDanie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 10
RV genset to power house during power outage

Can this be done? This may not belong in this forum, but since I'm talking about the Generac Guardian Quietpact genset in our '04 Newmar Scottsdale I thought I throw it out here first!

I have a manual 10 circuit transfer switch like this one here http://www.homedepot.com/webapp/wcs/...10000003+90401

I am ready to install in our house next to the main breaker box. We park our Scottsdale next to the garage when not traveling in it, which is just on the other side of the wall that our main breaker box for the house is located on. So the genset is less than 15ft from where that manual transfer switch will be located.

So what I would like to have, is the manual transfer switch installed in the house and then be able to connect the genset to the transfer switch in the event of a power outage to power refrigerators, freezers and some lights. This would be completely manual, so power goes out I would have to connect genset to manual transfer switch, start genset and transfer power on the selected circuits from shore power to the genset.

Has anyone done this? if so how?

I look forward to your responses!

Thanks,

Mac
__________________

__________________
________________
Mac
'04 Scottsdale
McDanie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2009, 09:24 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Max Hubrich's Avatar


 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Pikeville, NC
Posts: 1,724
I can't answer your question.

My home is near hurricane area in Eastern NC. Several people have had portable generators tied into the houses main Bus. Then they turn off all circuit breakers not needed and crank up the genset. The problem comes in when commercial power is restored unexpectly and it feeds back into the gen set. Maybe someone else can clue us in on that-----------
__________________

__________________
Max H,
2002 Newmar Mountain Aire, 37', 3778, W-22, 8.1 Vortac, Ultra Power upgrade, CAI (cold air intake), Taylor wires, colder plugs, Koni shocks.
Max Hubrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:55 AM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27,649
I have use my 55 Generac for power outage a few times but have fed off outlets within MH compartments NOT in load center within house. Would think you would need some kind of a transfer switch so when commercial power came back on the Gen would not feed back or out on downed power lines being fix by power company.
The load you may want to keep working in house the 55 may not be able to supply.
I fed the refrigerator, pellet stove and some lights through out house for safety.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:53 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
McDanie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 10
Thanks for the responses! As I mentioned in the initial post I do have the manual transfer switch that provided a link to. The transfer switch will handle to where power is coming from whether its the genset or shore and stop backfeed into the genset when power is restored. I was only planning on running a couple refrigerators a deep freeze and some minimal lighting until the power is restored. The genset should be capable of handling that, I would think anyway.

Thanks,

Mac
__________________
________________
Mac
'04 Scottsdale
McDanie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 11:21 AM   #5
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 27,649
The transfer switch is just that, a MANUAL switch, you would have to be there to keep power from going external from home, transfer I was talking about acts as your transfer in MH, automatic between two feeds.
55 should be able to handle that load just didn't want to see you liable for any problem be on your home.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 02:34 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
McDanie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lebanon, OH
Posts: 10
I understand now! Not sure I did at first.

Thank you!

Mac
__________________
________________
Mac
'04 Scottsdale
McDanie1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 06:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
stubeje's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 152
Just be sure you have your "MAIN" switched to OFF in the house while your gen set is running and you will not backfeed onto the power lines. Also,when power is restored it will not "fry" your gen set.
__________________
Newmar Kountry Star 2005 37'

8.1 Workhorse w/UltraPower,Taylor 409 plug wires,AC Delco 41-993 Plugs and OEM Engineering Fuel Filter Adaper
stubeje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 06:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 12,522
Hi Mac,
I have done this. I had an electrician install an automatic transfer switch. I installed an additional outlet in the coach electrical bay. The outlet has power only when the generator is running. I have tested this and everything works the way it should. The house is cut from the Florida Power & Light Co line. The generator will operate the circuits I have wired to the transfer switch. This is the house refrigerator and all the lights. Unfortunately, all my 220 VAC stuff will remain off until FPL returns power to the house. I have 60 AMPS coming from the generator and it powers the refrigerator and 110 VAC circuits fine. No A/C, HWH, Pool Pump, sprinkler pump, dryer, etc.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2009, 08:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 23,363
Can it be done? Well.. I've done it, At least twice

I had the house re-wired when I got the coach, a new service panel, new entrance, new central air conditioning, and...

A proper GENERATOR transfer panel and inlet

I then added the proper matching outlet to the RV and bulit a matching heavy duth 30 amp cord

Found I only need 17 of those 30 amps
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No 12 volt house power Gmears Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 02-07-2009 12:43 PM
house power madmax MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 10-20-2008 04:24 PM
house batteries?? txbeachfolks Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 06-12-2008 01:02 PM
Gen Set Issue - No House Power Okie Malibu Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 04-28-2008 10:27 PM
Using MH Gen Set to Power House BIGRED1 RV Systems & Appliances 9 10-16-2006 05:15 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.