RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-04-2019, 12:58 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 83
Sales Switch ?

When the salesman switch is off, is there still power to the inverter?
__________________

__________________
2014 Newmar 3610
Toltec is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-04-2019, 01:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CaptainGizmo's Avatar


 
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Glendora, CA
Posts: 570
Yes. At least on the Dutch Stars, the inverter is wired directly to the batteries, and bypasses all switches.
__________________

__________________
Steve & Janice
2019 Dutch Star 4369
"We're late to the party!"
CaptainGizmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 02:06 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,906
My inverter is used solely for powering the front socket that powers the TV. Flipped the battery disconnect and just about everything that used 12v quit. Pressed the inverter button, and I could power on the TV.
__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
2015 Jeep Wrangler 2DR 4WD Sahara, Automatic, Hard Top
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 02:17 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 83
Thanks!

Thanks for the quick replies.
__________________
2014 Newmar 3610
Toltec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2019, 07:58 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Blairsville, Georgia
Posts: 2,884
I think to turn off inverter, you use the inverter control panel and push the off button. I don't know for sure, since I have Silverleaf on present coach and I just use the Control Panel for that and one choice is inverter off. I then turn off master switches and that kills all the power to everything. As an added measure, I can turn off the inverter breaker, and the general purpose #1 breaker, which also takes out the front TV stuff. Then I know for sure the inverter is off.
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 01:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Apollo Beach, FL
Posts: 2,080
Yes--- I found out the hard way. I had thought that turning off the salesman switch would also turn off the inverter. Went back a day or two later and the batteries were pretty much depleted.
I found you need to turn off the inverter at the control panel, then turn off the salesman switch. If you turn off the salesman switch first, it stops communication with the inverter, so whatever state it is in when you hit the salesman switch, that's the state it stays in.
__________________
2013 DS 4338
2015 F-150 toad with kayaks,bicycles and a Harley in the back
PanJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 04:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,317
Hi Toltec,
My coach is an 05 and when the switch is pressed to store (use/store switch) the inverter go's off.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2019, 05:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi Toltec,
My coach is an 05 and when the switch is pressed to store (use/store switch) the inverter go's off.
That's a rare thing.
Most battery disconnect, latching relays, are only rated for 60 to 80 amps.

A 1000 watt inverter draws way over that.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 04:50 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
GaryKD's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wellington, Florida
Posts: 13,317
Hi twinboat,
Your assumption about the size of my inverter is incorrect. My inverter is 600 WATTS. Or about 5 AMPS. The breaker on the inverter is only 7 AMPS.
__________________
Gary
2005 Newmar KSDP 3910 + GMC ENVOY XUV 37K lbs Moving Down The Road
The Avatar Is Many Times Around The USA
Nobody Knows Your Coach Like Somebody Who Owns One Just Like Yours
GaryKD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 06:38 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 17,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi twinboat,
Your assumption about the size of my inverter is incorrect. My inverter is 600 WATTS. Or about 5 AMPS. The breaker on the inverter is only 7 AMPS.
I didnt assume you had a 1000 watt inverter.

I said that your inverter being controlled by battery disconnect is rare.

I gave an example of a 1000 watt inverter, as a guess, because its a popular, small inverter used by many RVers.

Even your 600 Watt inverter is capable of drawing 50 amps, 12 volt DC, at full output.

With a 7 amp AC breaker, the surge rating could be up to 750 watts or 75 amps, 12 volt DC.

You may be right at the limit of your battery disconnect solenoid, without adding the other 12 volt house loads.

If your only watching TV with it, then it don't matter. The amp draw will be much less.

Running any inverter drawing more then 30 to 40 amps is probably best done connected directly to the batteries with an appropriate sized fuse, and disconnect if wanted.
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:02 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,527
Toltec,

I would take a peak in the "Black Bag" to see if Newmar included the Fuse/Breaker handout for your coach. My 2016 came with a six page handout showing the location of mostly all the 12v systems fuses/breakers. There are of course hidden inline fuse holders here and there not documented.

The cord reel bay on our coach is where the physical house disconnect relay is located on our coach...there are some fuses/dc breakers that are "constant battery power" and some that are "disconnect battery power" the disconnect ones are what gets shut down with the switch. Two 40a breakers in the reel bay that are disconnect powered feed the 1/2 bath fuse panel circuits...so those all get turned off. That's the majority of what the relay does. Most of the other circuits shown are chassis powered.

Our MS2812 powered directly from the house battery bank thru a 350A T fuse...so it isn't powered via the house disconnect relay at all.

Anyway...I find it very very informative to look at this list...especially the ones that are constant battery powered...to see what's left ON.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 09:18 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 27
OK, I’m going to demonstrate my ignorance now. I think I’m the only one who doesn’t know what a “salesman switch” is, any help?
__________________
2019 DSDP 4362, to be picked up 6/24
2019 Rubicon, 2018 Goldwing
The Last Hurrah
gjos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2019, 10:03 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,527
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjos View Post
OK, I’m going to demonstrate my ignorance now. I think I’m the only one who doesn’t know what a “salesman switch” is, any help?
I believe the switch is most recently installed on the passengers side control pedastle...to make it easy to hit from the entry door. You can look at it like a house master switch... If you didn't want to take the time to sort thru switching items off when leaving...it turns off the majority in one fell swoop.

Honestly, I hardly ever use it...but if you have a lot full of rvs...and they don't have shore power connected, it's an easy way for salespersons to shut things off when done showing a coach. I use it when I'm about to pull my batteries out for cleaning and touching up the battery tray. I can use it as a roundabout method of rebooting the bluetooth in my SeeLevel II gauge (aftermarket item).
__________________

__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sale, switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
On Line Sales and Sales Tax wnytaxman Just Conversation 56 07-09-2018 01:28 PM
Florida RV Super Show Sales Topple Previous MCD Sales Records DriVer RV Industry Press 3 02-04-2013 09:46 AM
Workhorse Restructures Sales and Marketing Operations; Adds New Sales Vice President DriVer RV Industry Press 1 07-06-2008 02:48 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.