RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-11-2018, 04:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Festivus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hobe Sound Florida
Posts: 45
Sleep Number Bed

Hello, VTDP 4369 has anyone accessed the sleep number bed power supply under the bed but apparently behind a bulkhead? Thanks in advance.
__________________

Festivus is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-11-2018, 05:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
flyboy013's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 426
I have in my MADP. To access the wall plug, I had to disconnect the two struts for folding the bed up, remove about 4 screws that holds the plywood to the frame at the headboard and two more screw near the hinges for the plywood.

I then slid the plywood towards the foot of the bed to get my hand in there.
__________________

__________________
2018 Newmar Mountain Aire 4531 - Spartan K3-500
2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
SMI AFO, Blue Ox
flyboy013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 07:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2,518
We accessed ours by removing the right side (aft) plywood decking under the bed. There is a crossmember which makes it difficult to access. To get a hand on it...you can remove the rectangular plastic panel, from the inside of the coach....and then reach into the cutout from outside of the coach, there is a port cut into the bottom of the br slideout.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 05:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 309
Sleep Number Bed

I just pulled back the mattress and enlarged the hole that the air tubes and electric wire from power unit go thru enough to get my hand thru to reach the electric receptacle below. Very easy.
__________________
2017 London Aire 4519
2016 Wrangler Rubicon Hardrock
resullivan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 03:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
siggyd's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 715
I do not know who "designed" the location of that outlet ? It is by far the worst possible location.
Siggy
__________________
Siggy & Ursula.
2011 Newmar DSDP 4020 (no Tag, no DEF, 07 emission),
FTL XCR ,ISL 400,2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited, 4x4, V6, Active Drive II, BrakeBuddy
siggyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
pointrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cen Il.
Posts: 538
Ten min with the saws all made my unit a lot more accessible.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Providence 42p
pointrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 04:41 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: NE Wisconsin
Posts: 66
I have a 08 38F Bounder and it came with a sleep number. I had to tear half the bed apart to get the controls and motor box out when I removed it. They say when it comes to sleep number beds you either love them or not. Well, I fall in the not category. Either too soft or like sleeping on a balloon to me. But that's just me. I gave it to a friend who likes them and ordered a Nectar memory foam wannabe. I was limited to height of the mattress due to an overlapping countertop when the bedroom slide is in.
The other problem I had was bad planning by Fleetwood. One night I parked be a friends house while visiting. He offered me a current bush (outlet for laymen) to plug into but I told him I didn't need it. My inverter powers the outlet for my coffee pot and micro outlet as well. Around 1:00 a.m. I laid down on a quite deflated sleep number so I turned on the inverter and guess what, it didn't power the outlet the sleep number was plugged into! Not wanting to start up my genny at that hour I just slept on the couch.

Steve


[moderator edit]
stevewitt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 07:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Winepress's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,249
I opened the area above the outlet, gained access to the existing outlet and then installed two outlets, one on each side of the bed. Still difficult to reach, but useable.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3402.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	165.9 KB
ID:	225827Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3403.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	324.9 KB
ID:	225828
__________________
2018 Dutch Star 4369
Everything was working fine, until it wasn't.
Winepress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 09:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Boomer's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Festivus View Post
Hello, VTDP 4369 has anyone accessed the sleep number bed power supply under the bed but apparently behind a bulkhead? Thanks in advance.
Just curious, why are you accessing it, is there a potential issue we should be aware of?
__________________
Bob and Terri
2019 Ventana 4037 Spartan, 2018 JL Wrangler Sahara
State College, PA
Boomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2018, 03:42 AM   #10
Member
 
Festivus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Hobe Sound Florida
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomer View Post
Just curious, why are you accessing it, is there a potential issue we should be aware of?


Hi Boomer, this unit and bed are new to us. It appears the little pump under the bed does not work. So I thought this was a good place to start.
__________________

Festivus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the right number for sleep number mattresses ?!? JohnBoyToo Class A Motorhome Discussions 25 01-12-2013 01:26 PM
Sleep Number Bed gator67 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 01-31-2009 11:09 AM
sleep number bed David and Fran Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 19 10-27-2007 08:41 AM
Sleep number bed issues The Godfather Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 04-05-2006 05:01 PM
sleep number bed Motorhome05 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 05-03-2005 10:15 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.