Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-13-2018, 09:38 AM   #1
Newmarian
 
NealC's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 1,894
Question Tips for 30A site on 50A coach

In an effort of escaping FL I found a campground that is 30A vs. 50A I typically take as my coach is 50A. I have the EMS but I'm open to suggestions on living on 30A.

While the EMS will load shed, should I try to manage electric before EMS has to do its job? For example, it's hot in FL. Should I only use Zone 1 COOL or is it okay to turn both zones on and let EMS handle it? How about Microwave use? Should I leave AC I/II in the OFF position and only use the Burner?

Thank you for any tips on 30A life for 5 days in hot weather.
__________________

__________________
Neal (and Sam - yellow lab)
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037 with 1800W Solar | 2017 Chevy Colorado with Blue OX/AF1

NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-13-2018, 09:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: The hilly part of Texas
Posts: 381
Sam, would it not be easier & less stressful to find a CG with 50A service??????
__________________

Old Crows is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:44 AM   #3
Newmarian
 
NealC's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Crows View Post
Sam, would it not be easier & less stressful to find a CG with 50A service??????
Sam, the dog would agree, I however can't find campgrounds trying to get north out of Florida right now. I'm in Ft. Myers (east side) and every RV ever made is down here right now, or so it seems.
__________________
Neal (and Sam - yellow lab)
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037 with 1800W Solar | 2017 Chevy Colorado with Blue OX/AF1

NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 09:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 31,253
No real problem on 30 amp, unless you REALLY need more than one air con. You just have to limit what you have on at one time.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:01 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ewlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 518
Living on 30 amps with a 50 amp coach is doable if you follow simple guidelines. Turn off both electrical elements on Oasis and turn on the burner for hot water when needed. Use one air conditioner at a time as they will pull about 14 amps each. The microwave is a big amp draw too but you can use it no problem. The basic thing to remember is that you have 30 amps total instead of 50 amps on each leg which actually gives you 100 amps total. Every appliance you run will add up to an overload. BTW, set your control panel for the inverter/charger to 30 amp input which will limit the amount of amps it will use to recharge your batteries.
__________________
Wayne, Cindy, & Golden Retriever Finn
2017 London Aire, 2014 CRV, Go Hokies
ewlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:03 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
twojayhawks's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Lenexa KS
Posts: 879
I prefer to manage the electric use myself and let the coach system be the back up. Question, what temps are you looking at? 80 degrees would be no issue at all on 30 amp. One AC would keep your well insulated coach very comfortable. One AC will also use about half of your available power.
__________________
Bill & Kelli 2015 Dutch Star 4366
2002 Safari Zanzibar 3906
1995 Fleetwood Bounder 36JD
twojayhawks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:24 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 99
Neal, and Sam, watch using any appliances with heating elements while on 30 amp. You can use them, but not as many as you can use on 50. Things like crock pot, hair dryer, coffee pot, etc. when we re on 30 if we need to use those appliances, we ll turn off the AC. Like others said run Oasis in diesel burner and one AC. Turn off unnecessary electronics. Let us the EMS be the backup, (safety). You ll soon learn what you can and cannot use. We re on 30 amp about 20% of our camping.
MNawman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:31 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
fegans02's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by NealC View Post
In an effort of escaping FL I found a campground that is 30A vs. 50A I typically take as my coach is 50A. I have the EMS but I'm open to suggestions on living on 30A.

While the EMS will load shed, should I try to manage electric before EMS has to do its job? For example, it's hot in FL. Should I only use Zone 1 COOL or is it okay to turn both zones on and let EMS handle it? How about Microwave use? Should I leave AC I/II in the OFF position and only use the Burner?

Thank you for any tips on 30A life for 5 days in hot weather.
Or you could just come home to VA to cool off. Currently we are a balmy 37 degrees.
__________________
Adrienne Fegans
2015 Newmar London Aire
Richmond, VA
fegans02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:32 AM   #9
Newmarian
 
NealC's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by fegans02 View Post
Or you could just come home to VA to cool off. Currently we are a balmy 37 degrees.
I'll take it! I live there for a reason - seasons! This trip to Naples proved to me why. 87 degrees here in east Ft. Myers yesterday. No thanks!

I can't wait to get back to Luray KOA when they reopen. That's my fav place in the area so far.
__________________
Neal (and Sam - yellow lab)
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037 with 1800W Solar | 2017 Chevy Colorado with Blue OX/AF1

NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:45 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3,026
Is running the generator for a couple of hours of peak temperature with both ACís on an option to cool it off good then switch to one AC on shore power?
__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:48 AM   #11
Newmarian
 
NealC's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Midlothian, VA
Posts: 1,894
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stuart W View Post
Is running the generator for a couple of hours of peak temperature with both ACís on an option to cool it off good then switch to one AC on shore power?
I was thinking that too and/or while using the microwave. It needs to be exercised but it got a good run when I arrived at my current CG as the pedestal had a bad receptacle (that was a goat rope!). Thanks to my AutoFormer and EMS for finding that issue right away.
__________________
Neal (and Sam - yellow lab)
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037 with 1800W Solar | 2017 Chevy Colorado with Blue OX/AF1

NealC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:53 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Stuart W's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3,026
Tips for 30A site on 50A coach

Sounds like you need to put your name on some wait lists, and get out of there ASAP
Is this what they refer to as ruffing it?
__________________

2018 Dutch Star 4369 Spartan!
2017 Jeep Wrangler Smoky Mountain
2016 Canyon Star 3710 SOLD
Stuart W is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 10:53 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Winemaker2's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Western NY
Posts: 1,627
Neal
Good tips so far.
I have a new to us 2013 VTDP 3433 I have been following many of your posts for education. We are still up N but have been packing to leave tomorrow for FL. I have 30A I ran at home for hook up while getting ready ir working on the MH.
I have been watching the Ammeters in the control panel under different conditions.
If you watch what you have running vs A draw you will soon have a goid handle on what you can run. Then it's perdonal preference what you prioritize.
And you should be able to run gen for periods you want more power.
__________________
Don & Marge
'13 Newmar Ventana 3433 - '14 CR-V TOAD
'03 Winnebago Adventurer 31Y - SOLD
Winemaker2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2018, 12:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
CoachC's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 281
Don't want to steal this thread but has anyone installed amp gauges to monitor each leg? I would like to do that. My coach doesn't have that now. Perhaps at the circuit breaker panel?
Any thoughts or suggestions?
Thank you!
__________________

__________________
Rick & Sue
2005 Kountry Star 3907 DP, Spartan MM
Stick built in Michigan but the MH gives us a really big back yard!
CoachC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of 50A Surge Protector with 30A Pigtail for 30A Shore Power hugh37 Newmar Owner's Forum 9 07-08-2016 01:14 PM
50A Coach to 30A Electrical Service jlabit Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 03-12-2014 07:49 PM
Is it possible to convert a 30A coach to 50A? D-n-Tyke Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 01-10-2011 10:38 PM
30A to 50A Step Up Transformer? Houdini52 5th Wheel Discussion 53 12-04-2010 08:06 PM
Intellitec Power Monitor shows 50A when on 30A Power Yoda2405 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 0 10-22-2010 08:54 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.