Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Newmar Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2017, 05:55 AM   #1
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Where should I set Shore Max??

I have a Ventana DP with an 8 kw Onan Diesel Generator. I have 6 days to 6-volt house batteries.

I'm wonder if I should change the default Shore Max setting of 30 Amps when I'm connected to 50 Amp service or am running the generator.

If I increase the setting to 50-amp, would that result in a quicker battery charge...might be useful when we're dry camping and run the generator mainly to recharge batteries? Any downside to resetting to 50-amp (other than forgetting to reset it to 30-amp when we only have 30-amp service)?

If I'm at home and want to charge up the batteries, would I lower this to 15-amps to keep from blowing the house fuse or is this taken care of when I set the EMS to 15 amps?
__________________

__________________
bobmoore1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-18-2017, 06:08 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
bobsharon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Waco, TX
Posts: 173
I will follow for answer...
__________________

__________________
2017 Newmar Ventana 4037, 2010 Chevy Equinox LTZ
Roadmaster tow stuff, Winegard Trav'ler SWM/DirecTV
2+2 USAF Retired, 2IDGITS
bobsharon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 08:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Selah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,297
Not sure what system you have. My Magnum default is 50 amp but it will auto detect and display a 30 amp connection. You can easily test that at any site that has both.
__________________
Paul, Kathy, and Tux the Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 08:15 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,388
This setting limits the amount if current the battery charger can pull.

If dry camping and using generator I set to high number for faster recharge. If at home on 15/20a circuit I set it to minimum so as to not pop a breaker. If camping with electric hookup I usually just leave it set to minimum as well, as deep discharge is not occurring and fast recharge is not needed. And minimizes having to remember to change the setting.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 08:47 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Gdawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 309
Setting the control panel amperage load coming into the coach also sets the the point that devices are dropped. Usually 90% of the load. So if it's set at 30 amps the system will shed devices to keep the load below about 26 amps. You can set the sequence and order of devices being shed like ac units, charger etc.
__________________
2013 HR 43DFT RR10R
All Electric FWS-Tag
FMCA 451687 Monaco Int.
Gdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 09:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ricci's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 165
Where to set: Set the Shore Max setting to match the current rating of
the utility power or generator’s circuit breaker. If using multiple AC sources
(utility and generator) through an AC transfer switch, adjust this setting to
the smaller AC breaker size. This setting is very dependent on the stability
of the AC source. If using a generator, factors such as altitude and output
voltage regulation may require a lower setting than the generator’s breaker
size. For best performance, lower this setting to 1/3 its rated capacity
and gradually increase while ensuring the voltage level stays above the
SETUP menu’s 06 VAC Dropout setting.
CAUTION: The Shore Max setting does not limit the current to
the inverter loads. If the current from the loads on the output
of the inverter are greater than the circuit breaker rating on the
incoming AC source, you may experience nuisance tripping on
this breaker
__________________
Tom and Annie & Java (F.T. since 2011)
2016 Tiffin Allegro Bus 40AP
2018 DSDP 4369 Spartan (soon)
Ricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 10:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 11,388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gdawgs View Post
Setting the control panel amperage load coming into the coach also sets the the point that devices are dropped. Usually 90% of the load. So if it's set at 30 amps the system will shed devices to keep the load below about 26 amps. You can set the sequence and order of devices being shed like ac units, charger etc.
What system does the OP have that this setting also controls device shedding? Thanks.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 10:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
There's a panel by 'Precision Controls' which I believes limits the current to the coach. It senses whether the coach is connected to 50 amp or 30 amp service and limits coach loads to stay within it. There are manual settings for 20 and 15 amp service, I believe. Separate, there's the Magnum panel. And I believe the Shore Max setting we're talking about limits the battery charging current.
__________________
bobmoore1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 11:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Shooting Creek, NC... for now
Posts: 2,622
[your coach may be different]

with our Magnum MS2012 and Magnum Inverter/Charger Panel, I set the SHORE MAX at different levels DEPENDING on the incoming power options, AND my outgoing power needs... examples:

- 50a service, and want to charge the batteries the quickest: 50a

- 50a service, BUT want to also run both AC units and other items, and the battery charging is not as immediately important: 5a or 10a(trickle charge)

- 30a service: 20amp max if running other items, especially an AC unit or microwave

- 120v residential service: 5a if running other items, 15a if only to charge the batteries

- Generator: 40a if running a few other items, and no AC
: 20a if also needing an AC unit
: 5a if needing both AC units

- AGS with Voltage setting, for battery charging: 40a, maybe 50a if nothing else running

note: be aware of your Electric Water Heater switch, if you have one. If it is ON, then the amps it draws, which will come on and off periodically, could be a culprit to a breaker tripping, if the SHORE MAX setting is too high, whether on Shore Power or Generator. Of course, if does not operate under the Inverter(battery power), even though the switch may be on.

in critical situations, such as when drycamping overnight with the AGS, I turn the water heater OFF so that it is not a draw when the AGS kicks on the Generator in order to charge the batteries. I want the most power to go to the batteries thru the Charger.
__________________
The Turners 2014 Thor Palazzo DP 33.3 35'

'14 FordFocus, KingTailgater2 DishHD, 200w/10a mobile SOLAR, 75,000+ miles
all continental US states, Alaska, and yes, most of Canada!
MisterT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 11:30 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
powerboatr's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East Texas
Posts: 3,577
ours is set to 50 amp max. Been that way since 2009.
never had any loads shed or dropped. When i am on a 30 amp pedestal i have not noticed any difference.

but now i have to start watching
__________________
USN Retired, Life time member of the DAV.
Enjoying the 2008 Damon Tuscany 4056, no your eyes are fine, there are really 6 slides
2016 Expedition Toad on Hauler flat bed
powerboatr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 12:28 PM   #11
Member
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 33
Obviously, I'm not clear on this, but I thought from reading the manual that Shore Max only limited charger current. That it would preferentially fulfill other loads and charge at whatever was left over...but in no case would it give the charger more than Shore Max.
__________________
bobmoore1954 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 01:38 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,049
There are limits for the EMS (Load shedding feature) and settings for the input to the Magnum Inverter/Charger.

The Electrical Load Management panel (Three buttons) I leave it set where it is. I suppose you could set the genset rating, but the main distribution panel still is fed by a double ganged 50A breaker.

It should sense 50 A whenever it sees voltage between L1 & L2 of 240v...in other words, you are connected to a 50 amp outlet. It will default to 30A if it just sees 120v on one phase, like when you connect to "other than 50A"... if you connect to 20A or 15A...you must manually adjust to that setting.

The EMS system just monitors the loads and can shed up to 6 different loads depending on a hierarchy. Newmar commonly connects the shedding loads of, (not in order) #1 A/C, #2 A/C, #3 A/C, Water heater element #1, Water heater element #2, and Block Heater. It has a few special features as well...that are carried out by networking to the MS2812 MagnaSine Inverter.

The inverter input, should be set to the rating of the breaker that feeds it. It is usually a 30amp breaker. There is a separate setting to control charge rates.

Charge rate is set on the ME-RC remote by inputting a percentage. The manual describes how to calculate this setting. If you have Interstate Flooded Lead Acid batteries...they are somewhere around 232ah (20hr rating) each. Since it takes two to equal 12 volt...six 6v are combined to make three 12v. Three times 232ah would be 696ah... Interstate recommends a charge rate of C/10... so 696 divided by 10 would give you 69.6 amps of charge... The MS2812 inverter has a 125 a charger built in.. 69.6 divided by 125 time 100 equal...55.68%. So, you would set the charger rate to 55% of the MS2812's output. If you have a different inverter...the charger rating will be different. The manual explains how to do all this.

If you have AGM batteries, forget the calculation I did. The Lifelines are rated at a very high charge rating...I'm pretty certain 100% of your chargers capability will not come close to maxing out the Lifeline AGM's... check your batteries manufacturers recommended settings when figuring out the percentage of charge.

The ME-ARC advanced remote has even more features for regulating the charge.

Hope this helps...
__________________
Charlie & Ronni plus the Sammies...Conner & Ginger.
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2017, 03:17 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Gdawgs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Fayetteville, GA
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
What system does the OP have that this setting also controls device shedding? Thanks.

Magnum Inverter/Charger. 800amp House setup with 8 100 amp AGM batteries. I sat for 6 hours at the dining table and read the Magnum manual while trying all options. Had to lay down for a good nap after that. Good system though.
__________________
2013 HR 43DFT RR10R
All Electric FWS-Tag
FMCA 451687 Monaco Int.
Gdawgs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2017, 04:23 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by vsheetz View Post
What system does the OP have that this setting also controls device shedding? Thanks.
The device shedding is controlled by the Precision Circuits, Central Monitor Panel and Load Center. They share information with Magnum Energy Products (Inverter w/ built-in Charger) to do some amazing things. But for the Owner of the coach...a lot of the stuff just happens.

It's basic design is to prevent nuisance trips of breakers when the end user chooses to try to power more things than can be provided for. This is mainly a problem whenever plugged into a 30amp site, where 50amp service is unavailable.

http://www.precisioncircuitsinc.com/...nersManual.pdf
__________________

__________________
Charlie & Ronni plus the Sammies...Conner & Ginger.
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C-Max toad set-up photopilot Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 2 05-22-2017 11:49 AM
Speed going up grades: max HP vs. max torque RTegarini Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 19 01-16-2016 09:16 PM
How to set shore Max with two installed systems Mauro Entegra Owner's Forum 9 10-17-2014 08:33 PM
Max Gen Set Run Time RESharp001 Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 06-29-2012 01:13 PM
Tire Pressure (Max or not to Max) Experts? Always-RVing iRV2.com General Discussion 32 09-30-2009 08:46 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.