Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 01:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
Finally! We got the toad tires instrumented with the same SmartTire temp/pressure sensors as on our Alpine Coach.

So now while driving our coach we see all 10 tires on the display - a really nice way to be sure we're not pulling a toad with a flat! Once John got the sensors installed (with the help of a tire shop), it was super easy to configure on the VMS.

Audrey
__________________

__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-11-2006, 01:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
Finally! We got the toad tires instrumented with the same SmartTire temp/pressure sensors as on our Alpine Coach.

So now while driving our coach we see all 10 tires on the display - a really nice way to be sure we're not pulling a toad with a flat! Once John got the sensors installed (with the help of a tire shop), it was super easy to configure on the VMS.

Audrey
__________________

__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 08:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
Technical Question: Will the toad's sensors keep working when the toad passes you going down Cabbage Hill grade?

Norm
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 07:49 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
LOL - I guess they'll work for a while!

Then we'll lose the signals.

Audrey
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 10:49 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Audry,

Turn off the Jake brake and you will catch the toad! Quickly!!
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 12:06 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 563
Any suggestions for the best price on a Smartire System?
__________________
Rick Coleman
'05 Alpine 36MDDS
Rick Coleman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 03:10 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
The least expensive system is to have Sue ride in the toad with her walkie-talkie.
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2006, 04:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
The least expensive and quietest ride is with the wife in the toad. She can put on make-up listen to her favorite radio station and never get lost and not cause an accident.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 06:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Rick Coleman:
Any suggestions for the best price on a Smartire System? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
We paid around $155 for the four temp/pressure sensors for the jeep. Bought from www.tirerack.com.

They sell a kit that includes the four sensors plus a display unit for monitoring for $229. http://www.tirerack.com/accessories/...artire_all.jsp. This basic display shows pressure only. They have several other display options.

So, we don't know if this is the "best" price, but $155 was pretty cheap for us to integrate the jeep tires into our VMS display.

Audrey

P.S. You guys are BAAAAAaaaaad!
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2006, 09:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Oregon Coyote:
Technical Question: Will the toad's sensors keep working when the toad passes you going down Cabbage Hill grade?

Norm </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
What are you, psychic? Or trying to "jinx" us? LOL!

Audrey
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 01:37 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
We are still having trouble with our SmarTire system. WRV has paid for three new sensors. The fourth one is out. Camping World techs admit they don't know what to do. At first we thought we would take it to Coburg, OR to the person who set up the system for WRV. It seems to be programming on the SilverLeaf that is wrong. Due to some doctor appointments, etc., we don't want to travel all the way to Oregon from South Carolina this year.

Any suggestions as to where we should take it? I called the Alpine dealer in Arkansas, and he did not have anyone trained to work on it. Audrey, where did you and John have your system installed? If it was Motor Home Specialist, we could take it there. (We are from Oklahoma originally and have relatives we could visit, so we wouldn't feel it was a trip to TX just for this).

Ted, what has your experience been with the dealer in PA? I may call him Monday.

Another question, do we even need to take it to an Alpine dealer?

A SmarTire rep came from Michigan to Camping World and didn't resolve the problem either, so it will take someone familiar with both systems (SilverLeaf and SmarTire) and their integration.

We plan to be at the PreRally in NC. We hope somebody is there that can work on the SilverLeaf system.

Thanks in advance for any opinions any of you have.

Beverly and Buddy
__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 03:33 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">it will take someone familiar with both systems (SilverLeaf and SmarTire) and their integration. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Beverly and Buddy, you hit the nail squarely on the head. It is the integration that makes it difficult to diagnose your problem. Each component's manufacturer will tend to blame the other component for the failure. Even Silverleaf does not manufacture their own equipment at their office in Albany, Oregon. It is manufactured by another company near Portland. For sure though, there is someone in Canada at SmarTire that works with someone at silverleaf so that the Silverleaf system can correctly interpret the SmarTire digital signal.

I would tend to start with SmarTire and see if you can talk to or email the person who deals with Silverleaf-- carefully explaining the problem as best you can. It is highly doubtful that anyone at WRV or at any dealership will have a clue as to how each of those components talks to the other.

Norm
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 03:38 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
Audrey: Never again will I joke about loose toads.

Norm
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 07:29 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Audrey, where did you and John have your system installed? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Our SmartTire sensors came with the coach as a WRV option. I suspect they were installed by Les Schwab Tire who delivers the entire axle assemblies to WRV. I'm not sure who did the Silverleaf programming - that would have been done at the factory as far as I know.

We had no trouble programming Silverleaf ourselves to recognize the jeep numbers. We just had to enter the ID numbers for the sensors on each jeep tire and assign them to the right wheel. In fact the VMS system automatically recognized the number in most cases and we just had to assign it to the right position. The Silverleaf manual explains the tire setup. They have a special document on the tire sensor stuff on their website.

Do you have the build sheet for your coach chassis? We got the factory to send this to us once - it contains all the part numbers and serial numbers. Very handy. It should contain the ID numbers for all your sensors. These are the numbers needed by Silverleaf.

Audrey
__________________

__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 5er Tires with Light Truck Tires RKamperRV 5th Wheel Discussion 12 02-10-2008 07:54 AM
Working smart?? Don (W5IT) Just Conversation 9 01-26-2008 06:28 PM
Difference between RV Tires and Truck Tires? Dunnpe Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 6 01-15-2008 09:50 AM
smart converters tut60 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 12-10-2006 04:43 AM
smart wheel sandy1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 03-19-2006 10:49 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.