Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2015, 11:51 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
2003 36ft Alpine coach Generator problems

Our generator won't start. We aren't getting power to switches. How do we solve it?
__________________

__________________
Charlesstuar is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-12-2015, 12:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 588
Which switches? Both on the generator and in the coach? How old are your batteries? Have you checked them with a voltmeter?
__________________

__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 05:43 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I would check the voltage on the chassis batteries. I believe those provide the power to start the generator, not the coach batteries.

If they are low, like under 12 volts, I would try the 30 second jump switch to see if the coach batteries will start the generator.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 05:56 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
Could one or both battery disconnect switches be in the off position or have gone bad? I would also look at the Ground on the batteries and check the master fuses in the service bay. I would also check for power on the rear of the Generator, the battery cables are accessible from under the coach when the Generator is extended.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 08:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,253
First, what do you mean by won't start? Does it crank and not run or does it not even crank. What inverter/charger do you have. In some cases (Xantrex for example), the generator does not run (or continue to run) if the inverter/charger is in the Auto position. Place the inverter the manual start position then start the generator.

If it will not even crank check the batteries, the chassis cutoff switch and see if you get 12 volts to the generator.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
More info please--assume you are talking no cranking Vs cranking over but no start. 12v genset starter on 03 is wired directly to chassis bats [or house] via a separate fuse--no main switch cut-off. Auto genset on 03 may have some issues with starting but dont think so. If no crank, need to check to make sure there is 12v power to the cables going to the rear of the genset. Think both the remote switches in the coach and the one on the genset are all powered by the 12v cable feeding the genset.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 09:20 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Hello everyone. Power to the genset has been checked and it's getting power. Fuses are fine. Not getting any power to any of the switches. So it is not cranking. I'll ask our friend to check that cable to the 12v. We don't find any cut off switch to the chassis.
Fuses on the main panel have been checked. We'll check the voltage on the batteries. They were all replaced in 2012. (inverter replaced then also) We don't use the generator much at all but did last summer for a short time. When trying to start it this last fall we found this problem. I will relay all of your thoughts to the man who is trying to solve this for us. Thank you.
__________________
Charlesstuar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 02:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
"Assume" you tried using the start switch on genset itself? Not sure how remote switches in the coach are powered, but would think the switch on the genset is tied directly to the internal genset controller [brain].......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 09:58 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Does anyone know where the fuses are for the chassis for our 2003 36 Ft. Alpine coach?
__________________
Charlesstuar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2015, 10:37 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
There are two basic locations for the 12v fuses. The first location is behind the panel in front of the passenger seat. Pull the panel which is attached with velcro and you will see 3 black boxes. Pull the covers on the boxes and you see the fuses.

The second location is where the 120v circuit breakers are located towards the rear of the coach. In the same cabinet you will see an addional row of 12v fuses.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 11:09 AM   #11
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Generator runs but no output

I have a Generator problem too. Not quite the same because mine does start and run, it just doesn't seem to put out any power - i.e. AC table lamp plugged in in coach doesn't lite, AC units don't come on.
Possibly a defective operator.
Is there a fuse or switch that I can check? I'm an old hand at RVing, but this is a "new" coach to us. And I confess I'm not much of a mechanic. It's a 2004 36' FFP. Thanks for the help.
Jim
__________________
jimmays is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 11:41 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 523
Jim,

Start by turning off and back on the breakers on the generator itself.

If you are safe working around 120 VAC:

Next, check for 120 VAC at the "generator in" side of the ATS (Automatic Transfer Switch).

If power in, then the ATS has failed. If not, check all connections between generator and ATS.

Brett
2003 Alpine
__________________
wolfe10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 01:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlesstuar View Post
Hello everyone. Power to the genset has been checked and it's getting power. Fuses are fine. Not getting any power to any of the switches. So it is not cranking. I'll ask our friend to check that cable to the 12v. We don't find any cut off switch to the chassis.
Fuses on the main panel have been checked. We'll check the voltage on the batteries. They were all replaced in 2012. (inverter replaced then also) We don't use the generator much at all but did last summer for a short time. When trying to start it this last fall we found this problem. I will relay all of your thoughts to the man who is trying to solve this for us. Thank you.
Not sure I understand this?
If the Gen won't crank over, check the oil level. I think there is a low oil safety switch built-in. ?
__________________
Dan and Patty
"04" Alpine 34' FDDS
Saratoga, CA
Mule Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:08 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Generator runs but no output

Wolfe10 (Brett), we're finally where we have wifi again, and a dry place to look at the generator. Thanks for the advice, I'll do as you suggest. I confess I didn't know the generator had breakers actually on it. I'll let you know how it goes.
Jim
__________________

__________________
jimmays is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2001 Alpine Coach alternator replacement. dispr64 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 16 04-28-2016 10:23 AM
2006 Alpine Coach Limited Cruise Control dennismhamm Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 09-13-2014 10:42 AM
Alpine coach cuemaker iRV2.com General Discussion 2 03-09-2014 08:01 PM
2006 Alpine Coach newbe1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 12 02-06-2014 08:26 PM
2003 Alpine FDTS power problems bgames Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 18 12-15-2013 07:52 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.