Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-04-2014, 08:12 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
2006 Alpine Coach Limited Cruise Control

i cannot get my cruise control to engage, anyone had this problem? is there a fuse that could be blowed? 2006 alpine coach limited

Thanks.
__________________

__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-04-2014, 09:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
TonyDi's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Point Pleasant Beach, NJ
Posts: 10,458
Hi Dennis



Glad to have you here with us. Your cruise control has a fuse. Additionally check to see if by chance your brakes lights are on. If so it will disengage your cruise or keep it from engaging in the first place. That's my best guess, someone else may have another idea for you.

Good Luck and Happy Trails!!!
__________________

__________________
Tony & Ruth........... FMCA#F416727
Newmar Dutch Star 4320, Spartan MM Chassis, Cat C9, Jeep Grand Cherokee Hemi, Blue Ox Aventa LX, and Brake Buddy. TST 507 TPMS
TonyDi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
if the abs light is coming on would that cause the cruise not to work? not sure why the abs light is coming on? the brakes seem to be working ok
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Alpine Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 88
I have had this problem with my 1999 coach. As soon as I started to trace the problem, the cruise control started working again. Then the next trip it would not engage. I finally got it to engage after trying to turn in on/off/on... many times over several hours of travel. I decided to leave the switch in the on position, and it worked fine on the return trip. Turned it off/on again and it failed to engage. So I left the switch in the on position the next time I got it to engage and have had no problems for several years. Probably a bad switch, but if it works by not turning it off, I'm not going to try to fix it.
__________________
1999 Alpine Coach
Alpine Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Alpine Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 88
I also had my ABS light go on and stay on. I had to replace the brake rotors for other reasons and that fixed the problem. I think rust that had accumulated in the slots on one of the rotors prevented the magnetic rotation sensor from getting a sufficient signal. Cleaning the slots with a wire brush might have cured the problem as well, but I needed new ones anyway.
__________________
1999 Alpine Coach
Alpine Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 04:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
Try turning off the chassis power switch located in the battery compartment. This will reset the Vansco Unit. Turn it back on after about 30 seconds. This fixed a problem I had with my cruise control.
__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 05:11 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Is that the switch that turns the battery's off
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 05:33 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
It disconnects all power to all chassis components and resets the Vansco which is the controller for your chassis components. So, yes, it disconnects the batteries from the chassis.
__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2014, 08:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks for your help. I will try that tomorrow.
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2014, 08:20 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Do the gauges on the dash reset everytime you turn the ignition on?
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2014, 11:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The gauges don't 'reset' but they do a gauge version of a bulb check. They do a sweep pattern so you can check to see they are working.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 03:26 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Do you know if the fuel tank on the coach gets to a quarter of tank will that cause the generator to not run?
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2014, 06:39 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Yes--approx 1/4 tank limit on genset......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2014, 09:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
cant figure out why the cruise control wont work on my 2006 alpine coach? Took it today to alliance coach in wildwood fl which is a huge motorhome dealer and service repair center and they called me today and said they cant figure it out either. Done all the test and shows nothing wrong but it wont work. This is crazy!
__________________

__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cruise control



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to get headlight lenses Wrinklemeist Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 7 09-04-2014 06:38 PM
Cruise Control cvik Cummins Engines 7 07-23-2014 04:21 AM
Replacement Cruise Control DonL Monaco Owner's Forum 3 05-20-2014 08:26 PM
Alpine coach cuemaker iRV2.com General Discussion 2 03-09-2014 08:01 PM
help with cruise control '96 KS manitou Newmar Owner's Forum 3 08-31-2013 05:18 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.