Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-30-2008, 05:46 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
Looking for input on which satellite dishes are the best. Has anyone had luck with the Motosat HD-SL5 unit. How about Weingard? I currently have an S360 Tracstar unit that is no longer able to follow the new Directv satellites.
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-30-2008, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
Looking for input on which satellite dishes are the best. Has anyone had luck with the Motosat HD-SL5 unit. How about Weingard? I currently have an S360 Tracstar unit that is no longer able to follow the new Directv satellites.
__________________

__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 07:25 PM   #3
Member
 
Joel & Mary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 51
We have had the new MotoSat HD-Sl5 for three months and are finding that it works very well with DirectTV. Our system includes the NOMAD 2.

Recently DirectTV made some changes to its Satellite IDs. When the MotoSat suddenly became erratic, we were told that we needed to download an upgrade . This can be done online if you have the correct cables. In our case, MotoSat sent us an upgrade module which we plugged in, followed directions, and then returned the module.

The system now works perfectly again.

Thus, it appears that MotoSat is very compatible with DirectTV and has plans to continuously upgrade the software when necessary.
__________________
The Langords 2006 40' MDTS

Plus Noel (Bischon Frise)
Joel & Mary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 09:08 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus


 
Monaco Owners Club
Excel Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Hangin' with Sacs and the Pins
Posts: 9,413
Jerry..
we have had ours since early this year. The MotoSat 5LNB has been wonderful.
I did get the latest upgrade done also without any problems occurring before the upgrade...All I can say is..I LOVE MY MOTOSAT!!

I will never go back to any other sat. system.


MM
__________________
MM
*MonacoMama with the 2 Pins & SacsTC Nearby*
*2007 Monaco Diplomat 40' SFT<>2006 Chevy VortecMax Toad<>2006 Buick Lucerne Leading the Way*
MonacoMama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 05:32 AM   #5
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,608
Another satisfied MotoSAT customer here.

MotoSAT has such a great reputation, there is no need to look elsewhere.
__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 06:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
I chose MotoSat. I had an early one on our last coach and found it to work excellent. I chose it over the Weingard, as I felt that MotoSat has the most experience in motorized dishes and build a robust unit. A 5 LNB unit is the only way to go if you want to use a DVR and want HD TV.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2008, 02:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
03HRVacationer's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dover NH
Posts: 367
Just chiming in to say that my Wingard 3005 has been flawless and locks on in minutes, HD delight inside and out. I hope I'm as happy with it in a couple of years. Only time will tell, I'm putting a red led on the mast to be as cool as you guys...LOL

Al
__________________
Al, Linda and Haley Morancy

Morancy Adventures!!
03HRVacationer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 05:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 335
We have the moto sat antenna and love it. takes a bit to lock on. Also if you have a computer you can download the latest update with a cord you need to order from motosat. only problem with that is if your computer is Vista, not xp, Vista does not have a hyperterminal and cannot transfer the information to the Nomad 2. I hope that someday that Moto Sat will develop a program that doesn't require hyperterminal to upgrade. May just get an old xp latpop just to upgrade. the modules work great tho. Ya gotta love the blue light on the dish but the one on the nomad 2 sure is bright at night so the cabinet door is closed.
__________________
Melorene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 10:52 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
Melorene,

With Windows Vista, Hyperterminal does not exist, but Telnet does. Perhaps, Telnet will give you the access to MotoSat that you need to do an upgrade. Telnet is not installed in Vista by default. You will have to install it:
1. Go to Windows HELP and type Telnet
2. Select Frequently Asked Questions
3. Select How do I install Telnet
4. This will give you step by step instructions for installing Telnet.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2008, 01:17 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Traveling the lower 48
Posts: 2,450
Telnet and Hyper-terminal are not the same and are not interchangeable. You cannot use Telnet to update the Nomad 2 TV controller. Telnet works with the MotoSAT Datastorm D3 controller but the D3 does not require Hyper-terminal.
__________________
Bill Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 05:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
phototex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Home Base: Austin, TX
Posts: 138
I had my King Dome removed and a Motosat HD-SL5 installed in its place earlier this year. The Motosat works great. Had to give up recording TV shows on the DVR while I'm driving, but it was worth the sacrifice.
__________________
Bill Nowlin | 2007 Newmar Dutch Star DP | 2001 Jeep Wrangler | SMI Air Force One
Location of my Dutch Star.
phototex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 03:58 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
CSX4350's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Quartzsite AZ
Posts: 229
I hear great things about the Motosat, but I have two of the Winegard 3005's, one on the coach one on my race trailer. I got them because it is easier to find a service center for Winegard than it is for Motosat. No real problems with the Winegards, they seem to work great.
__________________

__________________
John

CSX4350 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing single LNB with Dual LNB Bill Davis Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 08-16-2008 02:07 PM
Just a Look at 5 LNB MonacoMama Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 22 03-12-2008 04:45 PM
Local channels on 3 LNB vs 1 LNB dish wagonmaster2 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 06-09-2007 03:39 PM
Troubleshooting LNB Vette Racer Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 09-11-2006 07:31 PM
5 LNB systems Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.