Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2011, 12:18 AM   #15
Senior Member
takepride's Avatar
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563

Mine will run both on 30 amps, but often is not happy. Also not a good idea to under-power AC units.

CW also has a 20 amp + 30 amp jumper that will emulate 50 amps if they are out of phase and the 20 amp outlet is not a GFI (kinda unusual at campgrounds, I find). At home, you can just run a 20 amp line (out of phase) next to your existing 30 amp. Or, re-wire to a 50 amp, like I ended up doing.

Remember, your charger is what really pulls some amps. Turn it off if you're trying to save draw.

2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-12-2011, 12:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
Algoma's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,166
I have one of those Maximizer adapters but haven't found a campground I could use it at because of that GFCI problem. Most campgrounds have signs banning the use of these even if it did work. Works at home because I disabled the GFCI (my bad) on my 20A outlet.

John and Mary Knight
2015 Ventana 4311, 2015 Cadillac SRX
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 10:45 PM   #17
Senior Member
takepride's Avatar
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
Originally Posted by Algoma View Post
I disabled the GFCI (my bad) on my 20A outlet.
Great idea! (Shame on you....)

2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sightseer 35J- 2 A/Cs on 30 amp service? Lincoln4 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 09-27-2013 10:52 AM
installing a 50 amp service fxdave iRV2.com General Discussion 4 11-28-2010 05:29 PM
50 amp Service Question Mike Canter MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 10-19-2009 09:07 AM
A question about 30/50 amp service Dmax Newmar Owner's Forum 6 09-27-2007 07:12 AM
Another First for Workhorse Means Better Service DriVer RV Industry Press 1 06-28-2006 03:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.