Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2005, 03:08 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Mike & Nancy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 222
Would like to plug into 50 amp service while Coach is parked at my house. I have a 50 amp 220 (red-black-white-green wires) outlet in garage.....can plug be changed to accept 4 prong plug coming out of coach and work without frying Coach electrical system. I have gotten different answers to this question so I need some help EngineerMike where are you.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Mike and Nancy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2009 Hummer H3 Alpha
Mike & Nancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-30-2005, 03:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mike & Nancy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 222
Would like to plug into 50 amp service while Coach is parked at my house. I have a 50 amp 220 (red-black-white-green wires) outlet in garage.....can plug be changed to accept 4 prong plug coming out of coach and work without frying Coach electrical system. I have gotten different answers to this question so I need some help EngineerMike where are you.

Mike
__________________

__________________
Mike and Nancy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2009 Hummer H3 Alpha
Mike & Nancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2005, 03:14 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
TXiceman's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Oklahoma Boomers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Full Time, TX Home Base
Posts: 17,150
Blog Entries: 21
The thing to do is to get an RV 50 amp plug and have it wired in next to your dryer connection. Of course you can not use the dryer and MoHo at the same time.

Ken
__________________
Amateur Radio Operator (KE5DFR)|Full-Time! - 2012 6.7L Ford Crew Cab Dually -2013 HitchHiker Champagne 38RLRSB - Travel with one Standard Schnauzer and one small Timneh African Gray Parrot
TXiceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2005, 11:53 AM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Cruzer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 4,901
Apparently you have a 4 prong outlet in your garage because you have the four different colored wires. Your 50 amp RV service needs to be a 4 wire split phase system. That means that if you measure with a voltmeter you'll have 240 volts between the red and black, 120 volts between red and white, and 120 volts between the black and white. The white is neutral and the green is ground.

If you have this, you can install a 50 amp RV style receptacle in that location. Note that you also need to have #6 wire gauge (#8 is fine on the green wire though) and a 50 amp breaker. If you only have #10 wire gauge then you're only capable of 30 amps unless you upgrade your wiring.

Do not connect your 50 amp 4 wire split-phase system to a 3 wire non-split-phase system, such as is typically found in a 30 amp dryer connection. You will need that 4th neutral wire to balance out the loads between the two phases.
__________________
Mark & Leann Quasius
2016 Cornerstone 45A
2007 Allegro Bus 42QRP (Sold)
2012 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited - Rubicon
Cruzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2005, 06:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Mike & Nancy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 222
Cruzer....

Thanks for the detailed info on 50 Amp service. This is exactly what I was looking for


Mike
__________________
Mike and Nancy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2009 Hummer H3 Alpha
Mike & Nancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 06:44 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
I guess it's clear, right, that you are not connecting 240V to your RV. You're connecting two 120V lines. A 50 Amp connection is actually two 120V 50 Amp connections.

I have heard of someone wiring in 240V and then burning a bunch of stuff up!!

Audrey
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 06:43 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
bigfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
A typical installation for a 50 amp branch circuit is a 3 pole/4-wire grounding 50 amp straight blade receptacle (NEMA 14-50 configuration) fed from a 2 pole 50 amp breaker in your home's load center. Should be able to pick up the receptacle at any Lowes-Home Depot-Menards, etc. outlet. Wire size from load center to receptacle can be #8 awg copper. If distance is over 100' from load center to receptacle, then wire size needs to be larger (#6 awg cu). Green wire is equipment ground (grounding conductor), white wire is the neutral (grounded conductor), red & black are your hot leads.
BT
__________________
bigfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2005, 07:07 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
"Cruzer" is absolutely correct on the wiring. Any other way will definitely fry lots of things that will create many unwanted situations.

With the proper box which "bigfish" suggested it is the better way to hook it up. Personally I would stick with the # 6 wire gauge. Bigger in this case is always better.
Ted
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 01:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,127
Ground and neutral are the same thing. Go to the load center wher the meter is and pull the cover off. You will find that the green wires (the ground) qnd the white wires (neutral) are wired to the ground buss bar. Does anybod disagree?
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2005, 06:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
bigfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
Bigfish disagrees, Gnd & neutral are not the same thing! Typical home load center will have a neutral bus bar with the white wires connected to it, there should be a separate equipment ground bar where all the bare gnd's are attached. The neutral bus bar & the equipment gnd bar are then bonded, generally by a #6 awg or # 4 awg cu bare solid wire. The neutral bus bar is then grounded via #6 or # 4 cu solid wire (size depends on load center size 100A or 200A) to a driven gnd rod and/or incoming metallic water line (on line side of main water shutoff) or other means per local code. With older installations, the load ctr may not have an equipment gnd bar and all bare gnd wire & white neutrals are connected to same bus bar.
BT
__________________

__________________
bigfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running 50 Amp coach on 30 Amp service Higgins RV Systems & Appliances 7 11-26-2008 05:46 AM
Wondering if I can use a 50 amp converter cord with my 30 amp service? luke_vardanian Travel Trailer Discussion 12 11-10-2008 04:34 AM
Upgrade 30 amp to 50 amp service Kazoo Tom Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 20 09-20-2007 06:41 PM
50 amp service - help Norm Newhall Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 80 08-18-2006 05:36 PM
I want to change out my 30 amp service for a 50 amp NCTarheel 5th Wheel Discussion 10 07-19-2006 08:58 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.