Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2011, 08:29 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 133
A/C Clutch not engaging

My A/C clutch won't engage. I started a thread looking for the fuse but apparently mine has a Vansco control system instead of a fused system like is supposed to come on '03s?

My Vansco doesn't have any output named A/C clutch. All three blower lights come on when the A/C is turned on.

Any help is much appreciated!

GT
__________________

__________________
2003 Alpine Coach 40FD
2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in tow.
2 kids, no dogs or cats.
GTHill is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-09-2011, 08:33 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
I could be you need freon. There is a pressure switch that allows the compressor come on at a certain pressure. Not sure if yours is the same set up but you might want to check your freon.
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2011, 08:59 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by RJay View Post
I could be you need freon. There is a pressure switch that allows the compressor come on at a certain pressure. Not sure if yours is the same set up but you might want to check your freon.

Oh really? I was actually going through the process of adding freon but the directions on the freon canister said not to put more in unless the compressor was on.

Adding freon fixed it. Thanks!

GT
__________________
2003 Alpine Coach 40FD
2010 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited in tow.
2 kids, no dogs or cats.
GTHill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 07:53 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
I .had the same problem and traced it to the low pressure switch. I bought a container of freon with a pressure gauge attached. Got it at Walmart. I attached the gauge to the low side connector and found that the pressure was too low for the switch to turn on the compressor. I added freon until the pressure came up. When the compressor turned on the low side pressure dropped abruptly. I added freon to bring the pressure up to about 45 psi.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 08:25 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Nuge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hammond, IN
Posts: 353
You can also put a jumper in the plug that goes to the pressure switch to get it running for filling purposes or to check compressor/clutch function.
__________________
1982 CrossCountry - NW Indiana
Ford Electrician
Built WITHOUT your tax dollars!!
Nuge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2011, 09:09 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
The devil is in the details--you didnt mention in yr original post that you were attempting to add freon. Generally, there is enough pressure in the first can of freon you add to get the system up to pressure to let the compressor start. Still amazed you have an 03 with vansco--learn something about Alpines everyday!!!!
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SCS Frigette Dash A/C Blowing Clutch Fuses gbonner MH-General Discussions & Problems 15 08-16-2012 06:24 PM
A/C clutch lockup ron55 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 0 07-14-2011 08:12 AM
Blown a/c clutch fuse aber4 MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 07-19-2010 08:28 PM
DIY A/C clutch remove replace? saturn9 Newmar Owner's Forum 2 07-07-2009 08:24 AM
Chassis A/C clutch bad ? psyflyjohn Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 23 07-19-2007 07:35 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.