Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2011, 05:01 PM   #1
Member
 
Mike and Amy's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 37
Air Intake Hose Clamp

I was cleaning my engine service bay and noticed the clamp on the air intake tube, (the one you can see when the bay door is open, on the upper left corner, thru a cut out in the metal back plate), was loose, I tightened it to its stop, and the rubber hose is still slightly loose, this is before the filter, so not super critical, but it may allow a small amount of dirty air to come in before the normal air intake area. It is a R.G. Ray clamp, the clamp is probably a minimum 24" in diameter, max might be 26". I think I need one that goes from 23" to 25". I am not sure how tight I can get it yet. I was wondering if anyone has had to change this clamp on theirs? And if so, where did you get it. I looked at the RGRay web site and it dosent list one that big, if no one replys to this, I will call them and maybe it is a special order....Thanks, Mike.
__________________

__________________
Mike Francis and Amy Spehar
Durango, CO and Thousand Oaks, CA
05 Alpine Coach 34 FDDS Limited, 04 Jeep TJ Rubicon
Mike and Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-24-2011, 08:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Mine is the same way. I have not bothered with it yet but probably should. If you get the proper clamp please post the number.
__________________

__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2011, 09:04 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,937
If its before the filter canister, I wouldnt bother. Lots of opportunities for dirt to enter the air intake at or before that point.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 05:59 PM   #4
Member
 
Mike and Amy's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 37
RG Ray responded to buy the clamp from the manufacturer....i.e. WRV.....I guess they havent supplied clamps to WRV for a few years and dont know they are out of business. I know this isnt critical, but I am going to check around and see if its available anywhere else and post a update when possible....Mike.
__________________
Mike Francis and Amy Spehar
Durango, CO and Thousand Oaks, CA
05 Alpine Coach 34 FDDS Limited, 04 Jeep TJ Rubicon
Mike and Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 08:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
Mike & Amy,

I would bet McMaster Carr would have it.
Hope you both are having fun and relatively trouble free.
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2011, 08:53 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Would any of the screw clamps available here work?
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 09:16 AM   #7
Member
 
Mike and Amy's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 37
Hi Ted..we are having a great summer, we are in Silverton, CO for the month of July. The Alpine is very comfortable and we havent had any major problems. I thought the turbo was whining louder than it did when we bought it, I took it to a Cummins dealer and everything checked out ok, so that was good, but there is still a whine....... As for the clamp, McMaster Carr only sells up to 14", but they offer a "make any size kit" with a minimum 10' band included, so I will try that.....Thanks....Amy says Hi!!
EngineerMike, thanks for the input, I checked their site and they only offer screw clamps up to 20', maybe I can put two together, maybe two 14"...??.. As a few people have told me, it is not critical, but I would rather the intake air came from its upper outside inlet source, rather than down lower where the air is dirtier from everything the tires can kick up. Mike.
__________________
Mike Francis and Amy Spehar
Durango, CO and Thousand Oaks, CA
05 Alpine Coach 34 FDDS Limited, 04 Jeep TJ Rubicon
Mike and Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2011, 07:21 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
I'd rather get cleaner air as well.
That was my thought- get two or three longer band clamps that can be end-connected to make one larger one. If you can yard on it sufficiently to achieve tightness, you could also substitute some thick zip ties; the fat ones are 175# tension capable, so that oughta do it. Another solution is stainless tie wire; I have a gizmo to do a double or quadruple wrap of tie wire and then cinch it to a crimp. I have a coupla these patches now hard at work on my coach, including one on the pitman arm/ball joint grease cup (it fractured badly, and the double wire wrap holds it together to maintain grease in the ball joint fitting).
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
M&A:

I have not looked at mine yet, but is that hose 24" in diameter or 24" in circumference? Clamps are listed by diameter, so a 24" circumference hose would use a 4" clamp (which is still a good size, though easily available).
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 12:27 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 250
Would it be passable to fasten two or three clamps in series to get the length needed.
I have pulled this trick a few times. Just a thought from a guy who likes to keep it simple.

Dick.
__________________
Airtool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 09:16 AM   #11
Member
 
Mike and Amy's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 37
Takepride, very good point, it is actually 24" in circumference, and maybe 7" in diameter, my mistake, so EMike, and Ted III, the sites you suggested have clamps that will work. Not as difficult to find as I had made it out to be thinking it was 24" in diameter!! Thanks everyone!! Mike.
__________________
Mike Francis and Amy Spehar
Durango, CO and Thousand Oaks, CA
05 Alpine Coach 34 FDDS Limited, 04 Jeep TJ Rubicon
Mike and Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2011, 01:37 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
M&A:

Obviously my math is a little lacking, but the theory was there....

Before you order that clamp, you might remeasure that circumference. A 24" circumference is an 8" (7.64") diameter.

circumference = 2 x pi (3.1416) x radius (half of diameter) so,

24" = 2 x 3.1416 x radius or,

24/ 2 x 3.1416 = radius

3.82 = radius

radius x 2 = diameter, so

3.82 x 2 = diameter

7.64 = diameter

An 8" clamp would be required.

__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 08:53 AM   #13
Member
 
Mike and Amy's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Durango, CO
Posts: 37
Takepride, Thanks again, I figured I would get a 8" as long as it has a good length of slots.....Mike.
__________________

__________________
Mike Francis and Amy Spehar
Durango, CO and Thousand Oaks, CA
05 Alpine Coach 34 FDDS Limited, 04 Jeep TJ Rubicon
Mike and Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yet another DIY Cold Air Intake that is different than the rest. Now Improved! skitime Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 38 10-17-2010 07:47 PM
Dometic Penguin AC intake air whine walt2137 Monaco Owner's Forum 2 07-29-2010 03:24 PM
Cold air intake J. Ingram MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 04-02-2010 07:26 AM
Air intake water disposal path RonNBama Monaco Owner's Forum 5 03-17-2010 10:40 AM
F53 Air Intake Fix wanderlust2 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 1 11-04-2009 09:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.