Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-30-2006, 05:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Full-timer
Posts: 12
We are full timers once again. We have had 5 motorhomes. We have owned our Alpine for one month and really do like it. We know from experience that you will have some things that just don't quite work like they should. We did a lot of research and felt Alpine was a great coach for the price.

We have had several things not work properly. We purchased the coach from Saddleback in Irvine, CA. The coach was made at the factory with our requirements.

We took possession of the coach in Arizona as we our South Dakotians. After several hours of going throug a walk through we left Irvine to drive to Arizona and take possession. We were able to catch some of the things but you get so involved with how everything works you forget to look for the things that aren't quite right. We have discovered that we are missing two shelves in the refrigerator door (Amana all electric), whoever installed the appliances bent the screen under the microwave and the stove top is bent. Anyway, we also have not been able to get the front TV work at all. It was on Power Save Mode and we can't get it off. We have not been able to get anyone to help us either from Saddleback or WRV. We keep calling and no one returns our calls.

Any Advice???
__________________

__________________
datibbitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-30-2006, 05:41 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Full-timer
Posts: 12
We are full timers once again. We have had 5 motorhomes. We have owned our Alpine for one month and really do like it. We know from experience that you will have some things that just don't quite work like they should. We did a lot of research and felt Alpine was a great coach for the price.

We have had several things not work properly. We purchased the coach from Saddleback in Irvine, CA. The coach was made at the factory with our requirements.

We took possession of the coach in Arizona as we our South Dakotians. After several hours of going throug a walk through we left Irvine to drive to Arizona and take possession. We were able to catch some of the things but you get so involved with how everything works you forget to look for the things that aren't quite right. We have discovered that we are missing two shelves in the refrigerator door (Amana all electric), whoever installed the appliances bent the screen under the microwave and the stove top is bent. Anyway, we also have not been able to get the front TV work at all. It was on Power Save Mode and we can't get it off. We have not been able to get anyone to help us either from Saddleback or WRV. We keep calling and no one returns our calls.

Any Advice???
__________________

__________________
datibbitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 06:04 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
datibbitts CONGRATS all around to your new coach and coming to IRV2 for answers to your questions.
If they are not all out camping I'am sure your follow Alpiners will be with you asap. Enjoy the forums and especially the Alpine forum. "007"
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2006, 07:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 279
First, let me know what type of tv system you have; I, too, have an 06 and have had several problems but need to know what you have before I might be able to assist you.
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 04:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Datibbitts
If it is the Sharp LCD there is a power switch in the top right hand corner.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 05:27 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Full-timer
Posts: 12
WoW! If only we could get Saddleback and WRV to respond like you did. Thank you. We have an LG TV. Satellite won't lock on and we cannot get the TV to stay on long enough to get it out of Power Save Mode. Called Direct TV to sign up but we couldn't get either TV to go to channel 100 which is what they wanted.

Yesterday our step went in when we started the RV and now it won't come out. We have a blue wire hanging down near the step. Any ideas?
__________________
datibbitts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 06:51 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 279
On LG remote, go to 'source' and be sure it is set on 'DVIPC'. Kenwood sound on Video 2. To start, I would hit 'reset' on Sat Rec behind door to card. On Sat remote, go to Menu, then to System Setup to Installation to Dish Setup to Select Dish Type to 'Round', ok. Now go to Guide on Remote. Now I assume you have a kindome. Press and hold on/search and let thing grind thru setup. If kingdome cannot find and you are in clear, call kingdome tech for assistance. I find that it can take several minutes for all of this things to happen. Good Luck. Gary
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 07:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
If there is an A/B switch to select between the roof dish and the aux dish, make sure it is set correctly. My '04 switch was miswired, keeping it from linking up with the satellite.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 08:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
We have the same problems with the TV. We paid a tech $60 in TX to come out after hours to get our TV working (LCD option on 06 models). He spend 2 1/2 hours and was ready to conclude it was defective, when by accident, he got it. It was 9 p.m. by that time (Friday), and I didn't have the heart to ask him to go over the steps slowly so I could write them down. We have so many other more serious problems that learning to use the tv can wait.

We also have a step that won't come out. Down at the repair shop, it came out after the person had already come out of the coach.

Our most serious problem is the hydraulic hoses with the slide malfunctioning. Hopefully, it is being repaired (all hoses replaced in a different position) as I write.

Beverly
__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 08:49 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 183
Welcome,
If the step will not come out it most likely needs to be reset. This is done by disconecting all power to the coach..all power. Wait a few minutes and turn things back on and your step should work. Don't worry about the blue wire as it seems to have no function.


Lyle n Cathy
Apex #1
__________________
Lyle & Cathy Fuller
06 Apex 40FDQS
Datastorm #3481
Lyle & Cath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 08:52 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
Hello & Welcome datibbitts:

Sorry to hear about your TV & Step. I do not know about the TV but for the step I would also check the door switch which is located on the door frame, sometimes on my coach I have to move it so the switch will make a good contact and the step will work again. I have also had to use the rocker switch which allows the step to move in and out when the door is opened and closed. One of the two switches will get the step to work properly again at least that what I do to get it to work properly again.

I hope one of these suggestion will work for you.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 09:35 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 279
Re: Step. When they say all power that means the main chassis disconnect switch at battery compartment. Then count your 20 seconds and reactivate. That did it for me. My step moves very slowly, however (vs my 2000). My wife moves so fast that sometimes she about does a header when exiting!!! Obviously that is not a problem with me!
__________________

__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
selling a 36' Alpine Limited ClarkBowen Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 04-16-2011 08:49 AM
Alpine Limited Series Motor Coach Launched at Annual RVIA Trade Show DriVer RV Industry Press 1 01-03-2008 06:14 AM
2007 Limited Alpine Sammie Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 07-31-2006 08:05 PM
Hydraulic brakes on 2005 34' alpine limited dan&donna Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 13 05-18-2006 04:40 PM
ALPINE LIMITED sandy1 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 01-17-2006 04:58 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.