Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2008, 08:42 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
After owning my coach for nearly two years, I finally got fed up with the complexity of getting satellite TV. The final straw was when I purchased an external dish to receive around trees and the satellite port was dead. Despite the wiring diagram provided to me by WRV, it was impossible to understand the reality of the connections when compared to the diagram--too many splitters and coax spagetti. I even had an A/V guy look at the set up, he just shook his head and said "it will never work". So, I had the guts ripped out and the whole system re-wired with a high quality A/V controller. Now I'm waiting for the new show&tell demo.

sdcyclist
2006 36FDDS
thought it was de-bugged
__________________

__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-25-2008, 08:42 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
After owning my coach for nearly two years, I finally got fed up with the complexity of getting satellite TV. The final straw was when I purchased an external dish to receive around trees and the satellite port was dead. Despite the wiring diagram provided to me by WRV, it was impossible to understand the reality of the connections when compared to the diagram--too many splitters and coax spagetti. I even had an A/V guy look at the set up, he just shook his head and said "it will never work". So, I had the guts ripped out and the whole system re-wired with a high quality A/V controller. Now I'm waiting for the new show&tell demo.

sdcyclist
2006 36FDDS
thought it was de-bugged
__________________

__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 04:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 348
sdcyclist,
I would be enterested in knowing what you did.
On our previous MH we had a switch box that one could switch any antenna or dvd player to either tv, very simple. The Alpine manual explains about nothing. And what a mess behind those great black panels that keep the heat in.
You can reply to my email address if you like.
Brad
__________________
05 Alpine 36MDDS, 09 Subaru Forester, no animals.
two sailors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 04:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Saratoga, CA
Posts: 199
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">"it will never work". </div></BLOCKQUOTE>


I admire your "Guts" to do this . I too am feed up with inability to record to the VCR.
My solution was a DVR box.
__________________
Dan and Patty
"04" Alpine 34' FDDS
Saratoga, CA
Mule Skinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2008, 06:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
swansnest's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: North Tustin, CA
Posts: 320
Last summer in Junction City we paid someone (Bobby Voden)who use to work for Guaranty to change our entertainment center and put in a switch box.

It made everything so much easier and it did away with the parasitic draw we were getting when everything was turned off but it wasn't really "off". And it also did away with the heat that we were getting in the cabinets when everything was "off".
__________________
The Swans
2007 ALPINE APEX 40'MDTS
#75710.
swansnest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2008, 03:30 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
two sailors,

I had a Winegard A/V controlled 6 input switch box installed. All works now with just the push of a button. All of the WRV cabling and splitters were removed (appologies to Phil Mattoon)and replaced. Fortunately on my rig WRV did a good job on managing the component heat generation.

Milo
2006 36FDDS
__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 07:25 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Summer Rowlett TX (Why?)/Winter Palm Springs CA Two Springs RV Resort http://www.twospringsrv.com/
Posts: 521
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">I had a Winegard A/V controlled 6 input switch box installed. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Milo, what is the model number of the switch box you installed? All coax connections? Several Apex owners also have totally redone their coaches using the old Winegard switch boxes with all coax connections to simplify operation of the A/V system. HD video is usually hooked up with composite video or HDMI cables for max video quality. I am having trouble visualizing how to get HD video through the switch box with coax connections without loss of video quality. What am I missing?
__________________
Basil & Sue Shannon
Former Apex owner (Gary & Renee have it now)
Was Traveling Circus (2 clowns/Sage the Wonder Dog) Tent rotted. Circus folded.
Basil Shannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 08:32 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Basil,

HD video should be run to the TV through HDME or component (3 cables just for video + 2 for audio) cables from the satellite receive and the DVD player. This of course, requires the input on the TV to be changed each time you change the source of what you are watching, an added complexity. This is my preferred method along with a Harmony RC.

The antenna feed for the OTA antenna and cable can be run through a switch box to both TVs with no problems, but the satellite antenna cables should not. (Unless there are some new switch boxes out there that I don't know about.) Running all of your video inputs to the TVs, after the satellite, through a switch box using the antenna in on the TVs is the easiest way to do it, but as you stated you will loose video quality.

The problem I have in trying to help anyone, is that our systems are different depending on what year your coach is. I am just familiar with 2002 and 2007. The other problem I have is the same one that the factory has. Everyone has different requirements from their systems. Like, do you require a cable or external satellite dish? How do you use your rear TV? etc.

Dale
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2008, 03:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
I agree with Dale. Using the Winegard switch box, which came with the '04's, is great for switching which coax cable goes to the VCR, the bedroom TV, or an outside TV. But to get the best picture on the wide screen TV's you need to use either a HDMI connection or the component video connections to the TV directly from the satellite tuner and/or the DVD player.

(Either HDMI or component video connections are required for high def.)

If you are going to rewire your entertainment center using the coax cables, you might want to consider using Impact Acoustics Velocity Mini-coax cables. They are smaller and very flexible, making it easier to run the leads to all the necessary components, and stuff everything back in the cabinet. They come in various lengths, as short as 1.5 feet.

http://www.cabletechnology.com/index...ROD&ProdID=445

Many universal remotes like the Harmony can record macros which will change the TV input automatically. If set up correctly. Worth every penny!!
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 11:24 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
sdcyclist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 175
Basil,

The video selector installed is a Winegard VS6412RV. As noted by Jim A, the video connections are by RCA plug which is not the best for signal transfer (S-video in next best and Component is the finest). Even though my satellite receiver is the RCA HD model, I did not subscribe to DirectTV HD programming. Since the changes have been made, I have not run a DVD to look for a decrease in image quality.

Milo
2006 36FDDS
__________________
2006 Alpine 36 FDDS
sdcyclist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2008, 12:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,376
Milo,

That is the same Winegard switch that came in my '04 coach. What you did is probably what WRV used to do! I still use it to control what goes to the bedroom TV, and it works well. But I don't use it to select what goes to the plasma screen. Depending on what size TV screen you have, I suspect you will see a difference in DVD image quality.

If it is noticable and is not acceptable to you, it is easy enough to connect the component video and the audio to a different input on the big TV. You don't need to change any of the other wiring. You can also do the same thing with the S-video and audio from the RCA HD box to another input on the TV.

Then you can easily just change the TV input to get the better picture, or stick with the simplicity of the coax switch at other times.

Basil,

You are correct. You can't get the HD signal by way of the coax. What I mention above will get it for you.
__________________

__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Outside entertainment Center Finhawk Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 8 05-02-2008 12:45 PM
Alpine Entertainment Center-Update sdcyclist Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 02-13-2008 06:50 AM
Entertainment center waterboy Newmar Owner's Forum 7 11-05-2007 11:44 AM
Entertainment Center Jim A Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 16 02-28-2007 07:15 AM
Outside Entertainment Center Nick and Sonia Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 06-16-2005 06:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.