Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2013, 12:24 PM   #1
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
Aqua hot

Does anyone know why the electric side of aqua hot does not work but if you use the power plant it works 05 web alpine 40ft. Thanks
__________________

__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-17-2013, 12:34 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
smlranger's Avatar


 
Country Coach Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Glen Allen, VA
Posts: 7,266
Blog Entries: 1
Failed electric heating element would be my first suspicion. Or, some other electrical problem that is preventing the element from getting power...tripped breaker, etc??
__________________

__________________
'07 Country Coach Allure 470 Siskiyou Summit #31578, Cummins ISL 425; 2014 Ford F150 toad; Air Force One Toad Brake.
Glen Allen, VA; Smith Mountain Lake, VA.
smlranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 12:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by highsticker View Post
Does anyone know why the electric side of aqua hot does not work but if you use the power plant it works 05 web alpine 40ft. Thanks
I recently had this problem. On mine, the AC High Temperature Thermostat had failed. This is an easy repair if you can easily get to the thermostat. When you turn on the Aqua Hot on electric, are you showing any amp draw?
__________________
F117plt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 09:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 240
I'am not sure what you mean by power plant. The electric element only works if you are plugged into shore power or have the generator running.
__________________
Jim & Sandy
2008 34' FDDS Alpine
Limited SE
JLMunsil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 10:04 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
C&SL's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: ND
Posts: 634
Power plant / generator = same thing. No the electric heating element did not Failed if it works with the generator. There is a problem with the shore power in the coach to the Aqua hot unit, Yup, could be a tripped breaker, bad wire.
__________________
C&SL
05 Monaco, Signature 525 Hp Cummins
Jeep Grand Cherokee
C&SL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2013, 11:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Could be bad leg on the xfer switch not xfering
Generally when the high limit switch (basically a thermal overload safety) malfunctions it doesn't matter what source of electricity the xfer switch is choosing. Although the high limit switch can be intermittent for a short time before it goes completely. I've changed out two, one each on two different Hydro Hot units, & both limit switches had functionally disintegrated so that one or both the input wires to the switch had fried till they parted.

Could also be a bad leg on the shore power extension cord or its further continuity to the xfer switch. Could also be bad connection of one leg at the main (gray) breaker panel (mine needed tightening after~4 years), or bad connection on the output wire of the AHot breaker.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 05:57 AM   #7
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
I'm sorry it should be generator instead of power plant thanks.
__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 05:59 AM   #8
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
Thanks everyone for your help Highsticker.
__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:48 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
dshogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 341
My problem was diagnosed by Cummins in Coburg as a problem on the board - apparently power goes from the element switch to the board but does not go from the board to the element (or wherever it's supposed to go next). So just living on diesel. Don't think running on generator will change that situation.
__________________
David Horn, TX; 2014 40ft Phaeton QTH; 2014 Mazda CX5; 2013 Can-AM Spyder RT-S on TandemTow trailer; Traveling with Ringo (an English Cocker)
dshogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 05:26 AM   #10
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshogman View Post
My problem was diagnosed by Cummins in Coburg as a problem on the board - apparently power goes from the element switch to the board but does not go from the board to the element (or wherever it's supposed to go next). So just living on diesel. Don't think running on generator will change that situation.
Thank you what or where was the problem
__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2013, 05:31 AM   #11
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
Thank you.
__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 01:22 PM   #12
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
High everyone thanks for the help on my aqua hot furnace why it wouldn't Work because the high limit sensure was out it got so hot it fell apart it was realbritel
__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 10:23 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
I carry a spare high limit for the electric side. Where they place it the thing is buried inside the 120v j-box with the electric heating element so it gets hottern Hello in there every time the electric element cycles. No wonder they get brittle & fall apart. I scanned the outside of the j-box at > 135 degrees when cycling, so you know it's getting toasty inside.
I'm thinking of drilling some air holes for cooling in the j-box & its lid.

The high limit for the diesel burner (which looks the same as the 120v high limit but is rated for the 12v power of the burner) is mounted in plain sight above the burner when the sheet metal cover is of the HHot, so it gets a lot more air circulating around it and it doesn't seem to fry out.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 10:53 AM   #14
Member
 
highsticker's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Maplewood mn
Posts: 50
Thanks mike that's what I'm going to do. I runway. my electric all the time it has to get down to 20 a bove before I go to diesel. The last fellow Jim put a 6 gallon hot water tank in for a resivoir and a little pump like what they use in the aqua hot furnace really works good always have hot water on electric see ya. Highsticker
__________________

__________________
highsticker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.