Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2015, 05:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
ralph0808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 211
ATS power sequence

I would like advice on your way of power off before connecting to shore power. I am in the process of replacing the ATS because of the PO must have connected & disconnected under heavy load conditions which has caused the switch to clack & click like a machine gun when swapping power source. I would like to start using the best sequence to safely power up & power down my system. Thanks for your help & advice.



2005 Alpine 40 FDQS
Thanks
Ralph
__________________

__________________
2005 Alpine 40 FDQS, 2011 Chevy Equniox, Ready Brute Elite Towbar, Ralph & Debbie with Sassie & Shelby
ralph0808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-21-2015, 05:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,937
Frankly, I haven't paid much attention to a "power-up" protocol.....Some applications like your roof ACs have a built in delay before the compressors are activated. The other two big 120VAC draws I can think of are the hot water heater and the inverter [bat charger side]. Depending on type of inverter, you can deactivate the instant charge function in the menu. Not sure how quickly the hot water heater element gets up to speed but suppose you could ensure it was off.
The OEM x-fer switch on many Alpines was an AC-based model from Iota. My OEM switch went south fairly early, so I installed a Lyght DC-contactor model. No issues since....
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 07:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,252
Prior to disconnecting I shut off the Aqua Hot AC, assure both the AC's are shut off and since I have been plugged in for some amount of time, the inverter/battery charger should be in float so that is ready. While we are using the coach I leave the inverter on all the time (I have a residential refrigerator so if we loose power the refer will continue to run) even if on shore power at the campground.

To connect, I first check to see that the circuit breaker in the power pedestal is shut off, I then plug in the 50 amp cord and check my incoming power (I monitor AC volts, amps and frequency) if everything is within specs I proceed, if not, I resolve any issues. By that time if the power is good the transfer switch has engaged. I then go inside, and assuming I have just driven to the site I turn on the Aqua Hot AC switch (the engine coolant has been circulating through the Aqua Hot so it is up to temperature and switching on the AC does not place a load on the incoming power) and I then engage the AC units if required.

Let me know if you have an questions.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 08:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ralph0808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 211
Thanks, guy's that is similar to what I have trying to get in the habit of doing. But with the old ATS it was clacking no matter the sequence that I used. But in the future I hope to minimize the loading during power up of the ATS.
Thanks


2005 Alpine 40 FDQS
Thanks
Ralph
__________________
2005 Alpine 40 FDQS, 2011 Chevy Equniox, Ready Brute Elite Towbar, Ralph & Debbie with Sassie & Shelby
ralph0808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2015, 09:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,252
ATS power sequence

Ralph, you need to search for threads about the transfer switch, if I remember correctly the chatter is indicative of problems, I think the contacts pit and cause the problem, do the search.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 01:35 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
The proper power source change:

Cut off major loads (A/C(s) Microwave, Water and space heaters)

Optionally.. Turn off main breaker (I usually do not)

Disable incoming power (Turn off PARK breaker,, Turn off generator)

IF you did not turn off Air contitioners and/or residential fridges,, Wait 3 minutes,, If you did, just a few seconds (Time to move from breaker to switch or the other way around) before starting Generator or turning park power back on.

IF restoring shore power.. Right away
If starting Generator: Wait for transfer to happen (Usually 30 to 60 seconds) then restart heat loads (Water heater,, Space heater). Wait 3 minutes (Shore) or another 2.5 (Generator) for A/C and Fridge.

That woks both directions

ALWAYS shut off active source first.. That is the only thing you truly need to remember ALWAYS shut off active source first.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2015, 03:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ralph0808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 211
Thanks guys for your support, I had the ATS replaced with my extended warranty. I just want to make sure that I minimize the load when connecting or disconnecting the ATS so it will function properly longer. But the original lasted 10+ years I hope to get 10+ years on this new one.
Thanks


2005 Alpine 40 FDQS
Thanks
Ralph
__________________

__________________
2005 Alpine 40 FDQS, 2011 Chevy Equniox, Ready Brute Elite Towbar, Ralph & Debbie with Sassie & Shelby
ralph0808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Such a thing as too much solar power? 1bigmess Going Green 46 02-02-2015 06:47 AM
Switching Power Sources on an 85 Mallard wolf_7669 Vintage RV's 4 10-28-2014 03:16 PM
No house power, mh newbie barber3827 MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 08-02-2014 12:25 AM
troubleshooting no power to receptacle gemini5362 Class A Motorhome Discussions 12 04-19-2014 09:35 AM
Banks Power Ultimate RV Power System - any experience? Dusterella Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 04-11-2014 02:38 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.