RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2018, 09:09 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 10
Automatic Transfer Switch on 1999 Alpine Coach

Can anyone tell me where the automatic transfer switch is on a 1999 Alpine Coach? Thanks
__________________

carol.llamas is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2018, 09:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by carol.llamas View Post
Can anyone tell me where the automatic transfer switch is on a 1999 Alpine Coach? Thanks
In the bays on the celling just forward of the holding tanks, between the frame rails.
__________________

__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 10:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 96
Auto transfer switch

I have s 1998. Does it have an automatic transfer switch? Begging your pardon but what is an automatic transfer switch?
TheKassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 06:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,628
yes--I think you do--it "automatically" transfers 120v power from shore power to genset and back.....
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 10:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
yes--I think you do--it "automatically" transfers 120v power from shore power to genset and back.....
Thanks
TheKassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 08:11 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Red Bluff, Ca
Posts: 148
Kassman,

If you stand near the service bay when connected to shore power and have an assistant toggle the shore power breaker on/off you will the switch "click" when it is energized. That will help you locate it.

I can hear the switch on my 1998 36, even with my poor hearing.
__________________
Gene
1998 36FDS Alpine
Red Bluff, Ca.
gmcgene is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 09:54 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 96
Transfer Switch

Thanks, I'll try that
__________________
Alpine Coach: 1998 36 SDS
2004 Saturn Vue
Indio, CA
TheKassman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2018, 09:23 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,557
The default is the generator position, connecting to shore power “transfers” the coach power to the CG pedestal. Which happens automatically.
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2018, 05:14 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13,878
The ATS only connects to the generator wiring, if the generator is running and there is power being produced by it. It is the " Priority " position of the switch.

The " Default " ( resting ) position may be shore power or open and not connected at all.
twinboat is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 09:40 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: SoOC
Posts: 43
Thumbs up

Hopefully, not a hijack of the thread, but I'm have an issue with 50A svc not transferring. The generator aspect works fine. Is the location and wiring applicable to an '07?


I will check the wiring diagram, too, thanks.
__________________
2007 Alpine SE 34FDDS
whalepirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 10:16 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4,628
...probably not applicable, by 2007 you have an OEM surge protector that may also include the ATS function...hopefully a knowledgeable 07 owner will chime in....
Ps--start by doing a voltage trace back from the pedestal thru all the adaptors and power cord reel to the surge protector....if not physically in the cord/connections, could be an issue with your surge protector....
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 12:24 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: SoOC
Posts: 43
Truly a jumbled mess of large wires/plugs leading to a box with labels,including the ATS. I'm just about to do a coach wire continuity check, as no LED indicating shore power to the Xantax.
__________________
2007 Alpine SE 34FDDS
whalepirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 06:13 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: SoOC
Posts: 43
After a few hours of messing around, it works, but I'm unsure why. I bypassed the reel's cord then the Surge Protector, as there are 4-5 50A plugs/sockets in that bay; unsure if that's factory, but I'd bet not.


I pressed the reset button on the inverter, cycled the power switches and checked the connectors to all batteries and coaqch posts; many with some visible corrosion, but seemingly okay.


We'd seen no charging of batteries nor Convection oven power and the overhead display showed an error referring to a bad ground. All that changed.


Does the inverter need to be ON via the overhead control panel, above the passenger's footwell, for shore power to connect??
__________________
2007 Alpine SE 34FDDS
whalepirot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 06:40 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Sco70ttie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Warrenton, Va.
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKassman View Post
I have s 1998. Does it have an automatic transfer switch? Begging your pardon but what is an automatic transfer switch?
Yes you do and here what it looks like. It is in the center rear in the overhead of the bay forward of the tanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2905.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	194.3 KB
ID:	219719  
__________________

__________________
Scott Shaffer
1998 Alpine 36 SDS
Warrenton, Va.
Sco70ttie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
1999, switch, transfer switch



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transfer switch didn't transfer/switch jimmy braden Class A Motorhome Discussions 29 06-03-2018 11:04 AM
Power Switch Automatic Transfer Switch rptipp Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 06-19-2016 11:55 AM
50 amp automatic transfer switch, power switch dutch99 Newmar Owner's Forum 16 08-08-2011 08:13 AM
Automatic Transfer Switch (Power Switch) Ragman National RV Owner's Forum 2 07-18-2011 09:51 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.