Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2009, 04:06 PM   #1
Member
 
SC RV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 32
Basement Thermostat

Just took delivery of '08 Ltd SE 36' MDS and dealer didn't have all the answers. Does anyone know where the thermostat for heat in basement is located. Wanted to check setting? Also need owners manual for same model if one exist. And finally, where is the antenna boost switch? Thanks to anyone that can help.
__________________

__________________
Tom Wilkinson
SC RV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-09-2009, 05:00 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
Hello & Welcome SC RV’er:

To my knowledge WRV never placed a thermostat in the basement of the Alpine. The basement is heated through ducting into the basement when the coach is heated.

If you were to go to the ACA http://www.alpinecoachassociation.com/ web site you may be able to locate an owners manual on line. We hope you join ACA and any of the other Alpine Clubs.
__________________

__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:15 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
If it has Aqua Hot It will be on the basement ceiling, somewhere behind the water tank. At least that is where mine is.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:48 PM   #4
Member
 
SC RV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 32
Thanks and application and check going out tomorrow.
__________________
Tom Wilkinson
SC RV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:50 PM   #5
Member
 
SC RV'er's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Mt Pleasant, SC
Posts: 32
Mine is AquaHot and I will look. At the dealer for a few items and I will have them look. Thank you.
__________________
Tom Wilkinson
SC RV'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 07:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
SC- Check out the ACA Tech Library where you will find a 2008 SE Owner's Manual & 34' Coach Schematics which will be dangerously close to exactly what WRV woulda produced for a 2009 Manual, and a whole lotta other stuff applicable to your coach. If you didn't get a pile of other system manuals & product info w/the coach, you will want to copy that from another Alpiner at an upcoming rally.

Aside from that, you'll find the remaining answers to your questions here. TedIII is our resident expert.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 11:46 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Where we park
Posts: 70
On the issue of the antenna amplifier. We have a 2005 and it is located behind the panel above the front entry door which has the Sat TV Rcvr, Inverter Panel, etc. Don't know if the 2008 is the same, but in the 2005 they have separate antenna inputs to the TV for Off-the-Air and Cable, so they just leave the amplifier on all the time. Again, don't know about the 2008, but that will give you a place to start.
__________________
John & Carol Randolph
2005 Alpine 34 FDDS
2006 Jeep Liberty
johnwr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:27 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Both of my Alpines had the antenna amp inside the entertainment cabinets, I think both of mine were on the drivers side. Where it is mounted, you could not reach it to operate its off-on switch and there was none in the circuit. I am sure that it draws next to no amps. That said, being the way I am, I added a switch with an indicator light to its circuit, in the front of the cabinet where it could be seen and reached easily.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 09:40 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
The TV amp may not draw much current, but when you add the CO detector, propane leak detector etc. it adds up. That's why you turn off the house battery switch by the door when you are away from external power for some time.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Not that it matters, a lot, the switch was moved to the battery compartment in '06 or ,07. My concern was having the antenna powered all of the time and we don't use the OTA antenna very often, while still in the coach a lot.
__________________

__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacement thermostat for basement Heat Pump jspande RV Systems & Appliances 4 05-14-2012 05:10 PM
Thermostat Calibration? Ron & Dee Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 07-03-2009 09:50 AM
Replacing RVP 6795 Thermostat sduffer RV Systems & Appliances 1 06-26-2009 03:58 AM
Basement air thermostat removal kokosfriend Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 06-09-2009 10:06 PM
RVP (Winnebago) thermostat interface with Onan EC30 rnabors Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 9 01-23-2007 01:41 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.