Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2010, 04:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olympia
Posts: 670
Stan,
Do you have DirecTV or Dish network?
__________________

__________________
Jeff
'99 Alpine Coach
Jeff and Cheryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-09-2010, 07:02 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff and Cheryl View Post
Stan,
Do you have DirecTV or Dish network?

In our gas rig we had the Dish network. The reasoning was that we could put it on standby for $6.38 a month. Then when we went out for a few days, all we had to do was activate it. When we came in deactivate it. The bill was prorated by the day ...into what the monthly package rate was. (..for a $90 monthly package, the cost would be $3 per day..) So two weeks..cost you $45 and then goes on standby till you go out next month, next year..or whenever. All it took was a phone call..10 minutes later you're activated...or deactivated.

So we kept a big package on standby all but 3/4 weeks a year...and it was relatively cheap to use daily. Compared to renting movies etc.etc.

I've been told that Direct TV is better suited for the MotoSat equipment itself...BUT they don't have a standby plan. You have to have DirectTV activated at least 6 months of the year..and can only suspend the account twice a year. Thats no problem if you're fulltiming...not quite so good if your not.

Stan..
__________________

__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:28 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Fulltimer
Posts: 30
For some unexplainable reason mounting a tv satellite (not a dome) on Alpines is a problem. It was explained to me it has to do with aerodynamics only found on Alpines. My motosat is installed on rear roof of coach behind the air conditioner. WRV was aware of this problem but never did anything about it. Seems Alpines are the only coach with this situation.
__________________
Christopher Cratch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 08:57 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Cratch View Post
For some unexplainable reason mounting a tv satellite (not a dome) on Alpines is a problem. It was explained to me it has to do with aerodynamics only found on Alpines. My motosat is installed on rear roof of coach behind the air conditioner. WRV was aware of this problem but never did anything about it. Seems Alpines are the only coach with this situation.


That's what Dale Morris (as per Beagles link above ) told me today also. He was Customer Relations rep for MotoSat for 6 years, and (as Beagle said) knows his stuff.

Here's his direct link again: RV Satellite Systems | Mobile TV Satellites | Motosat, TracStar, Kingdome, KVH | Mobile HD TV check it out.

He says that Alpine roofs flex in front of the front A/C...there's much less support there than farther back on the roof. The flexing causes causes the dish to flop and is responsible for motor damage and drive chain breakage. Also said that Alpine is the only coach he has ever seen it happen on..and he's done service on most all of them.

He told methat he went to Alpine plant and relocated 17 dishes one time ...and explained to the management what was going on, but they never did anything about bracing the roof or relocating the dishes in a different place.

He is self employed now...but still thinks the MotaSat is a premier if not the best system to be had.

Nice fellow ..was very helpful..gave me some information that kept me from making some expensive mistakes..

Stan..
__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 12:03 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 426
Stan

My Motosat was factory installed by WRV on my 2000. Over the years I did upgrade several times an ended with a Nomad 2 controlller which worked great. You can use your present dish and upgrade to the Nomad 2. With that dish, it won't work for high defintion. If you want high defintion, you will have to replace the whole system. You can install the Nomad 2 yourself, it isn't that hard. I did all my upgrades myself. On my 2007, Installed the whole system myself.

If it were me, I would move the dish behind the AC and upgrade to a Nomad 2 and you be very happy.
__________________
2007 Apex MDTS (425 hp) #75723
2007 Toyota 4-Runner
2014 Ram Laramie 3500
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 03:51 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Dave and Jaime's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 393
Quote:
Originally Posted by StansCustoms View Post
In our gas rig we had the Dish network. The reasoning was that we could put it on standby for $6.38 a month. Then when we went out for a few days, all we had to do was activate it. When we came in deactivate it. The bill was prorated by the day ...into what the monthly package rate was. (..for a $90 monthly package, the cost would be $3 per day..) So two weeks..cost you $45 and then goes on standby till you go out next month, next year..or whenever. All it took was a phone call..10 minutes later you're activated...or deactivated.

So we kept a big package on standby all but 3/4 weeks a year...and it was relatively cheap to use daily. Compared to renting movies etc.etc.

I've been told that Direct TV is better suited for the MotoSat equipment itself...BUT they don't have a standby plan. You have to have DirectTV activated at least 6 months of the year..and can only suspend the account twice a year. Thats no problem if you're fulltiming...not quite so good if your not.

Stan..
Stan,
I assume from your comments you don't have Directv service in your bricks and mortar home? Because if you did, then getting service in an RV with Directv is as simple and inexpensive as installing a receiver in the MH and paying $4.99/month for the receiver (you don't need to have a separate "RV" account or plan with Directv). You can even avoid the $4.99 if you are content to simply move one of the receivers back and forth from the brick and mortar house. That would be even more cost effective than the Dish activate/inactivate plan. Of course, if you don't have Directv at "home" then it would require you to purchase a regular plan for the MH.
__________________
Jaime & Dave (and our 3 cocker spaniels)
2005 Alpine Coach 36FDTS w/ 2009 Honda CR-V, Doran TPMS, Roadmaster Towbar, US Gear Braking
Dave and Jaime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2010, 04:53 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave and Jaime View Post
Stan,
I assume from your comments you don't have Directv service in your bricks and mortar home? Because if you did, then getting service in an RV with Directv is as simple and inexpensive as installing a receiver in the MH and paying $4.99/month for the receiver (you don't need to have a separate "RV" account or plan with Directv). You can even avoid the $4.99 if you are content to simply move one of the receivers back and forth from the brick and mortar house. That would be even more cost effective than the Dish activate/inactivate plan. Of course, if you don't have Directv at "home" then it would require you to purchase a regular plan for the MH.
Correct on all counts Dave..

We had Dish at our bricks and mortar home and at our lake cabin for years...but when we were able to get cable (finally!)...we "had to have" cable internet. It's sooo much faster....and the dual package price dictated the tv service change too.

So we just put one of the dish receivers in the MH permanently and put it on standby. The convenience is great. It's nice to be able to have TV for just 2 days if you do something on a weekend, or if we have all the kids and grand kids for the holidays and use the MH for an extra bedroom. They have TV too....

Stan..
__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 08:30 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraig View Post
Stan

My Motosat was factory installed by WRV on my 2000. Over the years I did upgrade several times an ended with a Nomad 2 controlller which worked great. You can use your present dish and upgrade to the Nomad 2. With that dish, it won't work for high defintion. If you want high defintion, you will have to replace the whole system. You can install the Nomad 2 yourself, it isn't that hard. I did all my upgrades myself. On my 2007, Installed the whole system myself.

If it were me, I would move the dish behind the AC and upgrade to a Nomad 2 and you be very happy.
Thanks for the info kraig...I'll probably do exactly that. Did you install another base plate...or move the complete unit and patch the old mounting holes?

I need to look agin...but ther maybe a solar panel issue behingd my a/c..I don't remember how close they are to the front A/c.

Stan..
__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 10:35 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
Stan:

My MotoSat is behind the solar panels and the front AC, about mid-coach, just in front of the kitchen vent fan. No noise.
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 01:50 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 426
You can move the aluminum base plate with dish and patch the holes with the screws you take out and caulk them no problem.

You may have get a longer contol cable from Motosat. You may have extra length up by the TV.
__________________
2007 Apex MDTS (425 hp) #75723
2007 Toyota 4-Runner
2014 Ram Laramie 3500
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:32 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by takepride View Post
Stan:

My MotoSat is behind the solar panels and the front AC, about mid-coach, just in front of the kitchen vent fan. No noise.

Excellent glad that works..I 'll have do do the same thing. I looked at the roof again yesterday...the solar panels won't let me put them colse to the rear of the front a/c..

Stan
__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:33 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by kraig View Post
You can move the aluminum base plate with dish and patch the holes with the screws you take out and caulk them no problem.

You may have get a longer contol cable from Motosat. You may have extra length up by the TV.

Ok kraig..thanks for that info. Sounds like the way to go to me..

Bst regards..Stan
__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 11:33 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
chris cross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: LAKE POWELL
Posts: 326
This thread started out regarding the Winegard HI-Def dish so I'll finish it off. I had my dish moved by Bill Adams a couple of days ago. We moved one of the solar panels to make room. I am happy to report the offensive knocking is gone.
__________________
CHRIS & DEBI CROSS

40' 2004 ALPINE COACH FDTS
chris cross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2010, 02:51 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris cross View Post
This thread started out regarding the Winegard HI-Def dish so I'll finish it off. I had my dish moved by Bill Adams a couple of days ago. We moved one of the solar panels to make room. I am happy to report the offensive knocking is gone.

allrightey then...!

What did you do with the solar panel?

Stan..
__________________

__________________
StansCustoms is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Winegard RoadTrip SDI Satellite Dish? OldForester Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 13 04-01-2011 12:29 AM
Winegard sk-3005 Conversion to Dish 1000 Bpsailr49 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 10-01-2010 03:19 PM
Installation on a Winegard Trav'ler Dish 1000? Born2RV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 10 02-01-2010 08:50 AM
Dish Network receiver & Winegard Antenna Dive-n-diva Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 17 08-06-2009 02:22 PM
Winegard and Dish Network? doc Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 12 06-07-2006 11:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.