Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-29-2010, 03:44 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Douglas, GA
Posts: 117
Brake lights not working...anyone??

I believe this problem has been well covered several times over, but, now it has hit home and I can't remember how far back this thread has
run before... Anyway, my problem is my brake lights don't function.
And then I found out that my cruise control doesn't disengage when I step on the brakes, either. Seemsw like there just might be some collusion between the cruise control and my brake lights.
The little 15 amp fuse is not blown, under the passenger side dash... but what now? I'm missing something. What is it?

Help!

Jim
2003 38' FDTS
__________________

__________________
J.S.Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-29-2010, 03:59 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
jeepfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Home is where we park it
Posts: 417
Could be the brake light switch. I know that some are mounted up under the dash and work of the brake pedal arm . But I think some are mounted on the master cylinder which I don't know if you have one if you have air brakes. The reason I suspect the switch is because you still can set the cruise control and if there was no power to the cold side of the switch you could not. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
2007 Allegro 34wa .WH w20 8.1 6speed. Bow tie powered 79 CJ7 or a 2014 Jeep Unlimited Rubicon Toad.
jeepfreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,375
The brake light switch is a likely culprit, and should be easy to check with a VOM meter.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 04:43 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Douglas, GA
Posts: 117
I thank you, Jeepfreak. My thinking was somewhere along those lines. I'll check that out first thing.

Jim Eddy
__________________
J.S.Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 10:51 PM   #5
Registered User
 
mountainkowboy's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Socal Mtns
Posts: 542
Also a bad 4-way flasher switch will do the same thing. If its not off all the way you will not have any brake lights. What chassis?
__________________
Chuck, Ruth, & Dixie and Hanna
1990 F350 S/C Dually, 460/ZF 5spd, 1990 S&S 11 SCB C/O Camper
SEMI RETIRED, FINALLY!
mountainkowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2010, 11:19 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,375
All Alpine's are on the Peak in-house chassis.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 01:44 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
Hello Jim:

When my Cruise Control would not disengage I traced the problem to the Brake Light Switch. Once I replaced it cured the problem.
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 02:43 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Let's analyze.. The brake lights do not work but the cruise control will engage

This means there is a good fuse, the wires to the brake light switch are good, the wires FROM the brake light switch are good, the 4-way flasher switch likely makes no difference at all, and at least one of the brake light blubs is good.

The Brake light switch is not the prime suspect. It is the ONLY suspect

The Cruise won't engage if any of the other things are bad,, Only a bad brake light switch will allow the Cruise to engage but the brake lights won't work.

Suggestion

Lie under the dash, Depress the brake pedal (Once it's down you can lay you head on it and that may hold it down.

PULL THE BRAKE LIGHT FUSE

(you may wish to do that first)

Now press and release on the brake light switch plunger (This assumes it's one that senses the position of the brake arm) about 35 or 50 times.


Replace fuse and see if that fixes it... You might get lucky
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:35 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Jim&MaryJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Fernandez View Post
Hello Jim:

When my Cruise Control would not disengage I traced the problem to the Brake Light Switch. Once I replaced it cured the problem.
Same on my 04 with adjustable pedals, but upon further investigation...
The switch in my brake switch assembly did not fail.
I could push the plunger and it still worked.

Appeared the surface of the plunger had worn where it contacts (rubs) against the steel brake arm.
I cut out a small piece of velcro and stuck it on the plunger to fill the gap needed to get it working again temporarily, but eventually replaced it.

WHen it started to wear again and failed, I figured the shape of my brake arm and/or the linkage that determines the contact gap between the arm and plunger was a little off.

It's been awhile, but here's what I can recall (and confess):

At that point, frustration overtook my normally "anal" desire for clean fixes and I chose to remove a nylon bushing from the large steel pivot pin for the brake arm. This, of course created some lash in the brake linkage, but it also allowed the brake arm to contact the plunger, like it should, but arguably, not the way it should...
__________________
2004 Alpine 34 FDDS
Anaheim Hills, CA
Jim&MaryJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 11:41 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Selah, WA
Posts: 106
Thinking a little differently, when I picked up my '09 at the factory the brake lights didn't work. Seems they had connected the brake wires to the wrong pins in the back Vansco module. I didn't drive it without lights so I don't know if the cruise worked or not. I'm not sure what year WRV started using the Vansco. Maybe the Vansco is something else to look at???
__________________
Terry McGuire
09 Alpine Limited SE 36FDTS
14 Chev Silverado Toad
TerryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 12:10 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Douglas, GA
Posts: 117
All you good people have simply loaded me up with ideas. I am looking for my brake switch which I believe to be the culprit. I guess it is under the dash. I don't believe the 2003 had Vansco in its inception.
Thanks loads for all your help.

Jim (from down in Georgia)
__________________
J.S.Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 06:31 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 51
Same prob started today--no brake lights, cruise control engages but doesn't disengage w brake. All other lights & flashers work perfectly. We have 04 36' MDDS. We are stopped for the night near Coalinga CA (!!). Would like to try the trick mentioned to remove fuse, pump brake 35-50 times and replace fuse but can't locate fuse. 04 does not have fuses under passenger side dash. Does anyone know where brake fuse is on our model?
__________________
John and Susie Balistrieri
San Diego, CA
2004 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS; 2013 Honda CR-V
SusieBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 07:16 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Jim A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,375
Quote:
Originally Posted by SusieBee View Post
Same prob started today--no brake lights, cruise control engages but doesn't disengage w brake. All other lights & flashers work perfectly. We have 04 36' MDDS. We are stopped for the night near Coalinga CA (!!). Would like to try the trick mentioned to remove fuse, pump brake 35-50 times and replace fuse but can't locate fuse. 04 does not have fuses under passenger side dash. Does anyone know where brake fuse is on our model?
It probably doesn't have a brake fuse. The '04's should have the Vansco system. If you are lucky, turning off the power to the chassis batteries might reset the Vansco and fix it. But I doubt it.

I don't think the earlier post meant to pump the brakes 35-50 times, but to press and release the plunger on the brake light switch 35-50 times. Pumping the brakes should not do anything, except maybe jar the switch and un-stick something. And if it did it would probably mean the switch is bad and the fix would be temporary at best.
__________________
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2010, 07:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim A View Post
It probably doesn't have a brake fuse. The '04's should have the Vansco system. If you are lucky, turning off the power to the chassis batteries might reset the Vansco and fix it. But I doubt it.

I don't think the earlier post meant to pump the brakes 35-50 times, but to press and release the plunger on the brake light switch 35-50 times. Pumping the brakes should not do anything, except maybe jar the switch and un-stick something. And if it did it would probably mean the switch is bad and the fix would be temporary at best.
Thanks. Since I am the one who fits under the dash can u help me Id the brake switch? What does it look like? Is it easy to pull & replace or do I need to find a smaller mechanic?
__________________

__________________
John and Susie Balistrieri
San Diego, CA
2004 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS; 2013 Honda CR-V
SusieBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Brake lights nplenzick Monaco Owner's Forum 5 03-16-2010 07:13 AM
Brake Lights not Working slabman Spartan Motorhome Chassis Forum 11 05-26-2009 06:30 AM
Help - toad lights just stopped working JerryKelly Newmar Owner's Forum 15 04-14-2008 04:41 AM
Engine Brake Make Brake Lights Come On? JavaJelly Newmar Owner's Forum 8 03-13-2007 03:59 AM
Brake light not working? I R KAMP R Pop Up, Tent Trailer and Teardrop Topics 5 05-26-2005 02:50 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.