Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2012, 08:00 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
Can't View TV with Antenna

Just purchased a 2004 40 MDTS and have not been able to view TV with the antenna signal on the front or rear TV. I have the 37" plasma TV up front. The Winegard entertainment select box is turned on and I have tried selecting the antenna fir both TVs and also passing the antenna signal through the VCR to the front TV, but still get no picture on either TV. The antenna is also cranked up. Any recommendations appreciated. Dan
__________________

__________________
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-25-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,495
I umderstand your Coach is 2004 and if the TV's are OEM supplied, they may not have a digital front end and I would doubt very much that your VCR can receive Off Air digital TV either.

Does your TV antenna system have an analogue amplifier in the circuit?

You may need one or 2 D to A converter box.
__________________

__________________
Libero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 08:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bruceisla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: St. Lucie West, FL
Posts: 5,127
Middle of 2009 was the transition to digital. TV's prior to 2009 are unlikely to be "digital ready". As Libero mentioned, you probably need one or more digital receivers (converter). The DA Converter does a conversion of the digital broadcast signal to an analog signal for older TVs. The converters are about 8 inches wide X 2 inches high X 6 inches deep and are 120VAC powered.
The Digital TV Transition: What You Need to Know About DTV
RCA DTA800B1 Digital TV Converter Box, Analog Pass-Through DTV Converter Box, Compact Converter Box, RCA Converter Box
__________________
bruceisla is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 09:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
I agree that is the most likely explanation. Some owners have no idea about "over the air" issues as they are on either cable or satellite. After playing with the digital converter boxes for a year I pitched both my old sets and bought new HDTV sets. Time for an upgrade!
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Blacknchrome's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: York PA
Posts: 265
Blog Entries: 7
TV

Do I need one for each TV or just the main antenna line coming in prior to the splitter?

Bill
__________________
2015 Forest River Legacy....2 Harley's and one Mini Cooper
Blacknchrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2012, 10:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,508
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacknchrome View Post
Do I need one for each TV or just the main antenna line coming in prior to the splitter?

Bill
One converter for each TV if you want to watch different channels on each. Also, you will need to set the TV's for either channel 3 or 4 and use the converter to change channels.
After struggling with the converters for a while we upgraded both sets to new LED units and they work much better and receive more channels too.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:23 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
When the country went through the conversion process you could get a voucher to cover the cost of the converter box. Now you have to pay for one, assuming they are still available. You may get lucky and someone will give you their old one, otherwise I think it will be a waste of money.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 08:38 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 4,845
can you not go back to the seller and ask ?
Did you turn on your signal booster ?

convertor boxes, IMHO, are very much a waste of money and effort for what will be less than satisfactory performance... new tv's are way down in price.... especially right after Christmas sales !

but if you have a 37" plasma - guessing it was not the original tv...

maybe the original owners only watched up front ? and didn't setup the rear tv ?

give us model numbers, etc.. of the tv's and we can do a google search to see if they will handle digital only broadcast...
__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk, 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:03 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Do I need one for both TV's.. NO, you need one for the VCR then you can feed same channel to both TV's.

One major word of caution.. I've been helping the camp host with some electronic issues in his RV, I've shot 2 out of 3 troubles and will shoot the 3rd when I return to that park in 1.5 weeks.

Light up entrance handle.. Re-engineered, replaced lamp and resistor (not related to this thread)

OTA antenna not getting many channels.. Removed FROM ANT lead from the converter and hooked it back to the ANT lead on switch box, Ran jumper from TO VCR on Switch box to converter, Moved converter out from ANT to FROM VCR on switch box. What was a signal in the 20's now pushing 90. What was ZERO now over sixty.

You do have to aim the antenna.. This is important.

But you WILL need that converter.

IF, your switch box has extra inputs and outputs...

(For example mine is a 3 TV switch box but I only have 2)

Run the unused output to the Converter, then run the converter back to an unused input (AUX) as your first mod.

If not, put the converter in the VCR line (TO VCR) and leave the VCR off so it passes through I use DVR's. two converters, a complete re-wire, different system, designed by me, and very little of the original wiring, but what I've described above was "earlier versions" of my install.

Once you have it working, I can improve it for you and get you multiple stations as well.. I'm still improving mine (one more slight mod needed).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 09:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
Of the ones out there, the RCA is a better unit. Your Wingard should provide power to your antenna.

If the Windgard has a 3/4 switch that lights when you push the button, you only need to use that for a DVD player. It's the RF modulator control and can be left off. It is not power to the antenna.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 10:56 AM   #11
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Middle of 2009 was the transition to digital. TV's prior to 2009 are unlikely to be "digital ready". As Libero mentioned, you probably need one or more digital receivers (converter). The DA Converter does a conversion of the digital broadcast signal to an analog signal for older TVs. The converters are about 8 inches wide X 2 inches high X 6 inches deep and are 120VAC powered.
The Digital TV Transition: What You Need to Know About DTV
RCA DTA800B1 Digital TV Converter Box, Analog Pass-Through DTV Converter Box, Compact Converter Box, RCA Converter Box
NOT ALL converters need 120VAC.
The one I use: < http://www.artectv.com/ehtm/products/t3ap.htm >
on the VCR in my coach is 12VDC powered, and smaller, (6.42"W x 1.18"H x 3.94" D).
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 11:51 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
I can't believe there are still VCR's out there.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 12:09 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
UFO Pilot's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sonoma County, CA
Posts: 4,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by bruceisla View Post
Middle of 2009 was the transition to digital. TV's prior to 2009 are unlikely to be "digital ready". As Libero mentioned, you probably need one or more digital receivers (converter). The DA Converter does a conversion of the digital broadcast signal to an analog signal for older TVs. The converters are about 8 inches wide X 2 inches high X 6 inches deep and are 120VAC powered.
The Digital TV Transition: What You Need to Know About DTV
RCA DTA800B1 Digital TV Converter Box, Analog Pass-Through DTV Converter Box, Compact Converter Box, RCA Converter Box
2009 may have been the transition year for on air broadcasts, but my RV was built in 2007 and both TV's are digital.
__________________
Wayne & Roberta and Maggie the Miracle Dog
08 Winnebago Destination 39W Gas UFO Workhorse Chassis
Making the Journey in our Destination

UFO Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2012, 05:39 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,820
Ah but there is Digital and there is DIGITAL.
The TV I just replaced was "Digital" it picked up Digital CABLE and decoded it just fine, but ATSC, not a option (That is over the air digital) Alas, it died of old age (Even if it was not all that old, six years) and the replacement is ATSC, HD, Wide screen, Lighter, Slightly smaller, and the picture is so sharp... Well.. My razor should be so sharp.

So which digital is it? 12 or 12.2 (the last is an ATSC channel, the first, QAM)
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.