Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 11-09-2005, 05:44 AM   #1

I'm sure this subject has been discussed many times but forgive me as I am new to RV'ing and to this site, so I missed any previous discussions.
Why do the RV service facilities charge so much to change the oil, lube and filter? I understand the filter costs more than an automobile's, and there is something like 14 quarts of oil. Those might account for $35 more, not $175 more than a car!!
I plan on changing my own. What do you guys use? I think the previous owner used Rotella T 15/40 and I know that is good oil.
I have the 1999 40' Alpine with the 350 ISC Cummins engine. It has 33K miles on it. What filter can we buy at Walmart, Autozone, etc? Does anyone have the Fram number for my engine?
Thanks in advance.
denwhit is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!