Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2008, 04:42 PM   #1
Member
 
Dave&Kacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 49
After noticing that the chasis baterieskept draining and would not charge when on shore power, I found the isolater fuse (20 amp) was blown. I did not have a 20 amp fuse handy, so I rtied a 30 amp(I know, and I didn't leave it in except to run to the auto store anf get some 20s) When I returned the 30 amp was blown.

Isn't the only thing on the isolater the batteries? Why would practically new batteries draw more than 20 amps unless there was a short in one or more of the cells? Could low water cause this overload?
__________________

__________________
David & Kacy Alexander
Corrales, NM
2003 Alpine 40' FDTS
Dave&Kacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-19-2008, 04:42 PM   #2
Member
 
Dave&Kacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 49
After noticing that the chasis baterieskept draining and would not charge when on shore power, I found the isolater fuse (20 amp) was blown. I did not have a 20 amp fuse handy, so I rtied a 30 amp(I know, and I didn't leave it in except to run to the auto store anf get some 20s) When I returned the 30 amp was blown.

Isn't the only thing on the isolater the batteries? Why would practically new batteries draw more than 20 amps unless there was a short in one or more of the cells? Could low water cause this overload?
__________________

__________________
David & Kacy Alexander
Corrales, NM
2003 Alpine 40' FDTS
Dave&Kacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:00 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Dave,

Do you have the Echo-Charger and did you find what was keeping the chassis batteries from charging? (previous post) If you have the Echo-Charger, it only allows a set amount of amps to go to the chassis batteries. Did you check to see if it is wired correctly? I would check for other problems, but it sounds like you have Problems with the Echo-charger.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:42 AM   #4
Member
 
Dave&Kacy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Corpus Christi, Texas
Posts: 49
Dale,

I have a Heart Interface Digital Echo Charger 1224 volt reated at 15amps. The Echo charger says that the red/stripe goes to the chassis battery, which it does. However, the Battery Compartment Layout drawing shows the red/stripe going to the house batteries.

I think that I am confused as to what the Echo Charger actually does. It appears to be a sensor that switches charging between the house and/or chassis batteries via the battery isolator. Both legs of the Echo Charger are fused with a 20 amp fuse, so why would it make a difference as to which battery set that either leg goes? Additionally, if I were to switch legs, wouldn't the 20amp fuse on the other leg continue to blow?
__________________
David & Kacy Alexander
Corrales, NM
2003 Alpine 40' FDTS
Dave&Kacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
Dave,

I would follow the instructions from the Echo-charger, not WRV, as long as the wires are not spliced somewhere.

The Echo-charger senses when there is enough voltage at the house batteries to show that they are charging. It then connects the chassis batteries to the house batteries through it, with a limit on the amount of current flowing through it. It does not work with the battery Isolator, it is only connected to it's battery connections. The Isolator, is to split the charging current from the alternator to each of the battery banks, through 2 or more heavy duty diodes mounted to the finned heat sink.

I would switch legs to match the Echo-charger instruction and see if that cures your problem, there were many owners that said that their Echo-charger was wired backwards. If it still blows the fuse, it sure sounds like the Echo-charger is the problem, as it is what regulates the current.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:20 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
My 1999 had both an isolator module and an echo charger. The echo charger was located under a bedroom closet with the charger/inverter.

The isolator works with the alternator and provides 2 isolated outputs which connect to the chassis battery and the house battery. It only is active when the engine is running. The diodes in the isolator prevent either battery from draing the other.

The echo charger is a solid state device which connects between the positive side of the house and chassis batteries. It provides a small charge current to the chassis battery from the house battery. Since it is fused at 20 amps, the charge current would normally be less than 20 amps. Also, the voltage on the chassis battery will be about 0.6 - 0.8 volt less than the house battery. If it is connected wrong it will not work correctly. If this is a new condition, it would appear that the echo charger wiring was not at fault.
__________________

__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking For coach heater/battery boost fuse Charles99 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 11-30-2008 03:53 AM
Location of Chassis Fuse Box on F-53 LaserMark4 Ford Motorhome Chassis Forum 6 11-10-2008 10:28 AM
Battery Isolater Location? ktnhog Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 5 08-15-2008 02:55 PM
Jeep Wrangler TJ and Battery/Fuse ? Megsfolks Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 6 06-14-2008 09:59 AM
Location of chassis fuse panel cajunjohn Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 05-31-2008 08:46 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.