Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2014, 05:40 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
do you think i should have cummins come back out and reload again?
__________________

__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-13-2014, 05:43 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,743
Maybe other's will chime in and offer their opinion's on this subject..........
Let us know how you make out or what you find........Good luck! I hope it is as simple as turning it on in the ECM for you!
__________________

__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 05:44 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennismhamm View Post
do you think i should have cummins come back out and reload again?
They have to make sure the cruise control feature is checked and working in the program..........
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2014, 05:53 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,743
Post #9 here Cummins EPA Engine Upgrade? explains about the "droop".........
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2014, 01:13 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
i wanted to ask is there a fuse for the cruise control and if so where would the fuse be on a 2006 alpine coach 40fd?
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 01:11 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
Well, took the coach to cummins this morning and the said the cruise controll is enabled in the computer. So its still not working and no one cant figure it out. Not sure what to do next.
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 02:54 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Not armed with any facts here but if CC is managed within the ECM, the issue could be internal to the "black box" that controls the "Smart Wheel" That box is mounted on the bulkhead, under the dash, by the steering wheel column. Dont think there is anything that can be "adjusted" by the owner/user. If you havent already done it, as a last resort, you could cycle both the chassis and house batteries main switches off and on with a minute or so pause between cycles. For some of the black boxes on the coach, this cycling sometimes serve as a "hard re-boot"......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2014, 08:27 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
bcbowers's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 632
Dennis,

IF the CC worked BEFORE replacing the ECM, simple logic would strongly suggest that the ECM or related activity effectively broke the CC. It's simply too big of a coincidence to let go without further testing. You might ask Cummins if they would TRY another ECM in case yours just isn't responding properly to its programming (supposedly checked?). Or, I'd ask them to check/clean the ECM connector(s?) in case of a dirty pin or improperly seated connector is the culprit. Basically, make sure that Cummins realizes that your CC has failed AFTER they performed work.

I also assume that you've tried cycling Chassis & House power off & on. I'm not familiar with the Vansco setup but it seems like cycling power off & on cures many ills.
__________________
Bob Bowers (Surprise, AZ)
2003 Alpine Coach 40' FDTS
2014 Jeep Cherokee Lattitude
bcbowers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 06:41 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
is the chassis switch in the battery compartment? And does the house have is own switch and if so where is it? do i need to unplug the coach from the from our home power before i try turning off the chassis and house switches?
__________________
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2014, 07:56 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
House bat switch should be right there in your door entryway, on the side wall [similar looking to the chassis bat switch]. No need to shut off 120v shore power when using 12v bat switches....
PS--chassis switch powers all automotive dash functions but no harm in switching house bats too....
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 12:33 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
Cummins can check how they configured the computer, and enable the cruise control feature, it will have to go back to the dealer for that, but they won't charge you for that repair since they did not "fix it in the first place".
__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2014, 04:55 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,743
Quote:
Originally Posted by dennismhamm View Post
Well, took the coach to cummins this morning and the said the cruise controll is enabled in the computer. So its still not working and no one cant figure it out. Not sure what to do next.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Rv'er View Post
Cummins can check how they configured the computer, and enable the cruise control feature, it will have to go back to the dealer for that, but they won't charge you for that repair since they did not "fix it in the first place".
The OP has already been back to see if the cruise was enabled.........but as posted above, it is going to have to go some where to get re-checked to find out what happened when the new ECM was installed. What happened that you had a new ECM installed?
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 01:21 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
The new ECM did something to the cruise control since it worked prior to that, Cummins changed the ECM, it's their issue, they need to figure it out. Write the president of the company, that is how I got action, and brother, they jumped after that letter.
__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2014, 08:23 AM   #28
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: FLORAL CITY,FL
Posts: 361
Blog Entries: 1
our coach had set for a year before we started using it again and when i went to crank it it would not start up. so i had cummins come out and they said the computer was bad and they put a new one on it and it started right up
__________________

__________________
Dennis & Brenda
2006 Alpine Coach 40Fd Limited
2014 Cadillac Srx
dennismhamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cummins



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Normal oil consumption, ISL smlranger Cummins Engines 32 10-14-2014 06:40 AM
Cummins First To Meet 2015 LEV III Emissions Regulations DriVer RV Industry Press 0 08-15-2014 12:04 PM
1999 Cummins ISB 24V oil pan gasket change Bad Bolt Cummins Engines 8 02-24-2014 09:39 AM
Cummins ISX Achieves 10.7 MPG in Latest Test DriVer RV Industry Press 0 02-18-2014 12:44 PM
Cummins Supports Gvnmt Efforts to Develop GHG Standards for Medium and HD Vehicles DriVer RV Industry Press 0 02-18-2014 12:40 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.