Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-10-2011, 04:13 PM   #1
ZAB
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Dash problems

When I start my rig the dash instruments cycle and do not stop. this is only the digital devices. I have checked into the ACTIA gauges and think they are OK I am now suspicious of the Vansco units. Does anyone have the pin out designations that Western RV used. My rig is a 07 40' MD limited. If someone has a better solution than what I am doing, I would like to hear about it. Is there a Vansco dealer in the Seattle area?
__________________

__________________
ZAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-11-2011, 11:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
I believe you will find the Vanco diagrams on the ACA website in the Tech library. When you say "cycle and do not stop" I am assuming the just keep going back and forth in test mode????

Mine do this: Key on, beeps gauges go half way-all the way then back to rest position. Start, they then do the same again, as power has been interrupted to them for a second or two, so this cause them to test again. Once coah is running, they act normal. Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 02:34 PM   #3
ZAB
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks for the reply. The normal Actia operation is to scale full then half then quarter and then settle down. This is referred to as a test by Actia. Mine does this over and over and does not stop even when the engine is running and I am going down the road. They did work properly at one time.
__________________
ZAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 03:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Anthem, Arizona
Posts: 43
Actia Problem

My solution to a similar problem with the Actia gauges was to reset the Vansco by turning off the the main power switch for a few minutes. My switch is located in the battery compartment on the back wall.
__________________
John Neff
2005 34' Alpine
Anthem, AZ
John Neff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:15 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Zab- the wig-wag feature of the actia gauge is indicating no input for the gauge(s). You can pull the panel w/gauges out by unscrewing the black dash screws, and check the connectors behind the individual gauge faces.
The middle (speedo) gauge is the "brain" and the brain having power but not J1939 input would cause the problem you describe.
JNeff's experience (a Vansco brain fart) would also as it reports various data on the J1939 and could interfere w/the Actia's until you let the excess pressure out of the fart. Use Jeff's method, tho on an 07 your batt disconnect switches may be a 3-rotary-switch set on left hand (rear bulkhead) side of battery compartment.

On the ACA Tech Library there is a PDF of a working doc I started, showing diagrams of the vansco connectors and the pin-outs for the front unit. I haven't had need yet to diagram the pins on the rear (knock on simulated wood-grain). You can learn a lot from that doc. If you continue to have Actia trouble send me a PM or an email at EngineerMike@vagabondwater.com
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 09:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,253
The other thing to check is your ground for the Actia guages. If they are wig waging you could have a loose ground.
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 10:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mythplaced's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,282
Quote:
Originally Posted by EngineerMike View Post
..... the wig-wag feature
Mike is that an "Engineering term"???
__________________
Michael (Home base Northern CO)
USED TO HAVE; 03 Alpine 40MDTS Now RVless
http://www.tripadvisor.com/MemberPro...AA11052EA9DBB0
mythplaced is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 04:13 PM   #8
ZAB
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Thanks to all who replied to my problem. I just got the rig back from a truck shop and $400 later still have the problem.
__________________
ZAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 11:01 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
I would try E Mike's suggestion first -- pull the dash panel, check to make sure all the connections are good, and if the problem is still there, call Patrick at Actia --574-266-2649 --and ask him what to do. He may want you to send the speedo or the entire panel, or have another suggestion, but they turn these problems around quickly. I sent my panel to them from Tacoma, and they had it back to me in about 8 days, with a rebuilt speedo.
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 03:14 PM   #10
ZAB
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 9
Smile actia guages

Thanks to all for the help. I took the speedometer out and sent in in to Actia.
Engineer Mike took his speedometer out and installed it in my coach at the last rally, and my goodness it worked just fine. Actia got the instrument and said their testing could find no problem but they would re-solder the pins on the circuit board that feed the jacks. My goodness again, when the speedometer arrived home I installed it and it works fine. I guess the Post Office must have done something in transit that fixed it. Thanks again to all.
__________________
ZAB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2011, 08:20 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
Glad to hear it's fine. My guess is the pins were lose, even though it tested ok, if they went to the trouble, something showed up even though they said what they said. Glad it now works!!

Engineer Mike, you deserve the Engineer/ALPINE Onwer/Worker/Friend of the year award, as you are always willing to help any and all. Great Job!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, problems now after I got diodes wired up in 06 Wrangler jcgribks Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 4 03-30-2011 07:56 AM
Dash Display Woes roger1938 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 23 12-11-2010 01:17 PM
Workhorse dash and brake problems hawg6 Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 38 10-29-2008 05:36 PM
Dash Radio Problems Skrams RV Systems & Appliances 5 05-04-2008 05:18 PM
Dash Mat Carpet for Class A ghamblen MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 05-29-2006 01:41 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.