RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.

Old 09-06-2019, 12:51 PM   #1

Failed Charger/Inverter

I have a 2005 36' FDDS. Even though I am hooked up to shore power my house batteries have lost charge. It looks like the original stock units are still available. Has anyone had experience replacing? I am not an electrician and am not considering doing the job myself. Until I have a chance to get it in for service, is it possible to charge the batteries with an external charger? My batteries were recently replaced but I do not want them sitting completely discharged.

Jim57759 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-06-2019, 01:36 PM   #2

Look for popped breakers on the inverter/charger case. That my be your problem.

Yes you can use a 10 to 20 amp automatics battery charger to get your batteries back up to full charge. Find the main positive and main negetive cables leaving the battery bank and connect it there.

twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2019, 01:54 PM   #3