Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-06-2013, 06:57 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
Fuel Gage Inop

I have a 40' and the fuel gage is reading empty all the time. Any trouble shooting ideas? Is there a fuse and if so where is it? Where is the sending unit located?
__________________

__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-07-2013, 03:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Sending unit is visible in a window cut into the frame rail just aft of the LF tire. Sending unit uses a standard 35-240 ohm rheostat type float arm in the tank. You can search on "sending unit" and find the generic part replacement type available on Amazon & discussions of install issues.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 06:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
I obtained a new fuel level sending unit from Transfer Flow in California and installed it today. Fuel gage still reads empty, even though I know it has half a tank. Any other trouble shooting ideas?
__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:11 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The sending unit should read 35ohms at one end (full or empty, I don't recall which) and 240ohms the other extreme. I'd tone it at the sender to make sure the new one is reading OK, then tone it at the back of the gauge. If it tones good at both, its the gauge.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
87Rockwood's Avatar
 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Looking here and there.
Posts: 732
Check to make sure the tank is well grounded. It should have its own ground wire.
__________________
87Rockwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2013, 07:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,925
EM--I tried a DIY on this issue a few years ago and got caught up in which direction the senor was reading--eg, I found a 35 to 240 ohm tank sensor but it turned out the ranges were reversed such that full read empty and vice versa. Also recall that many of the "stock"' sensors are designed to hang from the top of the tank, not the side as it is with our Alpines.
Perhaps the float arm could have been "rearranged" to work on the side position but I gave up and returned the sensor.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 11:42 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Scout- two separate 05 owners replaced sensors with a generic a while back & they read perfectly but backwards, empty when full & full when empty. Swapping the sender wires fixes the problem & Gauge becomes right reading.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 03:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,925
Gosh--never thought of switching the wires--still had the issue of float arm position [I think] for the sensor I found. Fortunately, my issue with the gauge was a modest inaccuracy while measuring the the top half of the tank--not a dead gauge. Learn some-thin everyday......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 05:52 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Most folks are using this aftermarket 4" to 27" sender by Moeller, sold on AMZN, or google: Moeller part# 35725-10. Currently $23 @ AMZN w/free shipping over $25, gasket included in that part# so you don't need to order a separate one.
The float arm is 2 piece w/a keeper that you set for the correct depth (I'd use some SS safety wire for piece of mind IIWM). I've looked at the head and think you could reassemble the gizmo for correct reading, but its probably easier to make up short pigtails to change "gender" on the wiring and simply insert w/float arm set to correct length & go for it.

One OEM wire has (at least on 05/06's that I've messed with) a ring terminal to connect to sender's center stud & the other a female spade. So make a 2" male spade to ring pigtail, and a 2" ring to female spade, di-electric grease & shrink tube the connections for safety & reliability, and the generic sender should read correctly.

My OEM setup is not neatly proportional for tank level. It hangs out in mid range for the longest time. I'm pretty sure the aftermarket gauge would be about the same.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:01 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
Gosh--never thought of switching the wires--still had the issue of float arm position [I think] for the sensor I found. Fortunately, my issue with the gauge was a modest inaccuracy while measuring the the top half of the tank--not a dead gauge. Learn some-thin everyday......
Amen! This forum has been the best tutor for self educating myself on my coach and there are a host of folks on this site a person can learn from and they know who they are. I thank them all.
__________________
Jim & Elissa Edmonds
2003 34FDDS Alpine Banks 430hp #74869
Viola, Idaho 3rd Armored Cav & 3rd Infantry Division
tiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 08:33 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
You may want to look back at this old thread.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:27 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
The new sending unit is reading 28 and 260 ohms and each end of the travel, so I know it is working properly. I am reading 160 ohms as installed now and I know I have a little over a half tank. I disconnected the connector at the back of the gage and there are four white wires and the black ground. This gage has battery voltage, oil pressure, fuel level and engine temperature. I don't read 160 ohms across any of the four white wires and the black ground, so I think there may be a wiring problem between the sending unit and the connector to the back of the gage. Of course the wires are buried in a wire loom. Any ideas on where to go from here?
__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 09:02 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
You should be able to eliminate at least one wire by checking for 12v when you turn the ignition on. The other 3 should all have resistance to ground and if they were working you should be able to get readings on 2 more wires leaving you with the one that goes to the fuel sender. BTW do you have a ground wire from the sending unit going to the chassis or are you using the tank to provide ground? If so add the wire and see if that helps.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2013, 11:54 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
Forget most of what I said above. I think you probably have the Medallion instrument which has a 5 wire connector. This does not connect directly to the senders but via a data concentrator. The only info I can find is for their marine instrument but may be worth your looking at their diagnostic guide on this site.
__________________

__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fuel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.