Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2014, 03:18 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Birmingham AL
Posts: 135
Furnace Intermintent

I set both zones 1 and 2 to furnace and the same temperature and turn the thermostat control switch on. I give it time to start the furnace and sometimes it just doesn't start unless I cycle the on/off switch on the thermostat.

Then once it starts and runs until it reaches the set temperature, often it won't restart when the coach gets cold again. I then have to cycle the on/off switch again to get it to start. Ideas?
__________________

__________________
Dan, MJ and Tucker Dobbins
2004 Alpine 40 MDTS
2013 Honda CRV
djdobbins1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-27-2014, 04:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonds, WA
Posts: 588
I just changed the thermostat on my 2006. Maybe it's time for a new T'stat?
__________________

__________________
Janet and Todd Legg
2006 Alpine Apex M-40FDQS #75594
2014 Honda CRV w/navi
Janet and Todd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 04:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 351
Dan

On mine the thermostat only controls the furnace from Zone 1, even though you set zone 2. I set zone 2 to OFF and forget about it and use zone 1 to set the furnace temps. This is for a propane furnace. If you are talking about Aqua Hot then forget what I have just said!!

Geoff
__________________
2000 Alpine 38 FDS
alpinedrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 04:46 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,250
It sounds like you've got a problem in the furnace, not the thermostat. There are a number of sensors in the furnace that shut it down until you turn it off. That resets it and it lights again. It could be your sail switch, overtemp switch, or the flame sensor that is triggering it off. Suggest you read your manual. Here's one for a Suburban furnace:

http://bryantrv.com/docs2/docs/suburbantech.pdf
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 05:02 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tiredvet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpinedrvr View Post
Dan

On mine the thermostat only controls the furnace from Zone 1, even though you set zone 2. I set zone 2 to OFF and forget about it and use zone 1 to set the furnace temps. This is for a propane furnace. If you are talking about Aqua Hot then forget what I have just said!!

Geoff
I agree. Took me a while to figure out what was going on with my furnace. Shut zone 2 off and it it runs great.
__________________
Jim & Elissa Edmonds
2003 34FDDS Alpine Banks 430hp #74869
Viola, Idaho 3rd Armored Cav & 3rd Infantry Division
tiredvet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furnace



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Residential fridge over furnace in 2004 Diplomat DST (1.5 bath) tkcas01 Monaco Owner's Forum 55 08-17-2015 10:28 AM
Good Suburban furnace service. TXiceman RV Systems & Appliances 8 05-26-2014 09:02 PM
Bad furnace control board? DarqMan Forest River Owners Forum 4 03-21-2014 04:30 PM
Furnace & Thermostat Issues reubenray RV Systems & Appliances 13 01-18-2014 06:07 AM
Suburban NT 30 S Furnace issues elstonek RV Systems & Appliances 16 12-15-2013 08:16 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.