Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2008, 10:36 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 39
i am new to this so be gentle. i have a 2006 36ft alpine. the cover over the entry step has stoped working. i can't find a fuse for it. it dosn't appear to be in the head. is there another fuse box? and so where? we just got this unit. we met some of you at the rally at 7 feathers in ore a couple of weeks ago.. thank you for your help.
__________________

__________________
woodinboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2008, 10:36 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 39
i am new to this so be gentle. i have a 2006 36ft alpine. the cover over the entry step has stoped working. i can't find a fuse for it. it dosn't appear to be in the head. is there another fuse box? and so where? we just got this unit. we met some of you at the rally at 7 feathers in ore a couple of weeks ago.. thank you for your help.
__________________

__________________
woodinboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:45 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
My 05 has no fuse, a few times my step has stopped working and I reset the Vansco unit in the battery bay and all was fine.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 39
thank you for answering my problem. i do not want to appear stupid but guess i am. i just looked at the Vansco unit. how do i reset it. i do not see any buttons or anything like that. do i just unhook it? and which set of wires do that. thank you
__________________
woodinboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:50 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
woodinboater,

To reset the Vansco units, turn off and on the chassis disconnect switch in the battery compartment. It is a large silver colored switch on the wall of the battery compartment. I don't think you need to turn off and on the house battery disconnect switch, but if you do, it is on the wall of the entry steps.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 05:50 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 173
Sounds like two issues here. One is the entry step not working and the other is the sliding step well cover not working.

The entry step issue is a known problem with the Vansco multiplexors. I had my step stop working many times, and many times I reset the Vansco. The solution was to wire the entry step directly to a 12v source (available right there at the house battery disconnect), bypassing the Vansco. I've never had another step problem since.

Sorry I can't help with the sliding step cover. I never use mine, but in my previous rig it was air pressure actuated. If you have been sitting for a while and have no air pressure in the tanks, then the cover won't move.

Ken
__________________
Ken
2006 34' Limited
Retiredfields is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 07:34 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,249
Woodinboater - IF you have the step slide switch in the console slide, before getting to carried away, check the switch for the step slide. WRV had a LOT of problems with the length of the wires going to the switches, many of them were cut too short and when you slide the console out they tend to break. If you do not have the slide out console, ignore this, or you can at leeast check the wires, it won't hurt.
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:25 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Selah, WA
Posts: 106
On my 2006 34', the wires behind the console came out of a large connector. Once they were back into their correct slots, the cover worked fine. You could easily see the wires when you remove the cover off the passenger side of the console. I believe there was an inline fuse for the step cover there also.
__________________
Terry McGuire
09 Alpine Limited SE 36FDTS
14 Chev Silverado Toad
TerryM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 09:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
My info on the Vansco system shows that the step cover is powered through the PDM module. This is the "Power Distribution Module", which is different than the VMM modules that are mounted 1 in front and 1 in rear, it is mounted next to the VMM in the front. The PDM is used for high current outputs. The output is # 4.
__________________

__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water at step cover J R Sprague Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 09-22-2008 10:45 AM
Step Cover Project N5IIG Damon 2 03-15-2008 06:43 PM
Step Cover - When to Use? JavaJelly Newmar Owner's Forum 9 12-23-2006 04:52 PM
KS Step Cover Motor Doc Mark Newmar Owner's Forum 6 11-02-2005 04:50 PM
Need a fuse box cover Gregg Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 1 09-06-2005 09:11 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.