Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-05-2006, 06:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
hrhuggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banning CA
Posts: 358
Shortly after purchasing our Alpine the retractable cord reel stopped working. I figure it is nothing more than a fuse but I will be darned if I can find it. Anyone have any information on where the fuse is located?

Hugh and Cyndi
Banning CA
2007 Alpine 40FDQS
1999 Chevy Tracker
__________________

__________________
Hugh & Cyndi Reed
35' 2004 Damon Intruder 2 slide
2004 Honda Element toad
hrhuggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-05-2006, 06:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
hrhuggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banning CA
Posts: 358
Shortly after purchasing our Alpine the retractable cord reel stopped working. I figure it is nothing more than a fuse but I will be darned if I can find it. Anyone have any information on where the fuse is located?

Hugh and Cyndi
Banning CA
2007 Alpine 40FDQS
1999 Chevy Tracker
__________________

__________________
Hugh & Cyndi Reed
35' 2004 Damon Intruder 2 slide
2004 Honda Element toad
hrhuggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 06:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
gjstacy's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Hi Hugh,

Obviously, you already have your SE. On our 2004, there are fuses under the main bathroom sink, and then there are more electronics behind the panel in front of the passenger seat. John seems to remember seeing on the SE a panel low on the wall opposite the main bathroom sink that had some electronics. Don't know if this will help...maybe someone that already has an SE will see your inquiry.

Sorry we don't already have ours so we can be of more help.
__________________
Gail, John & Mindy Stacy
2007 Alpine SE 40FDQS, 2011 Equinox
ACA & Alpine SoCal
gjstacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 04:28 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Summer Rowlett TX (Why?)/Winter Palm Springs CA Two Springs RV Resort http://www.twospringsrv.com/
Posts: 521
Greetings from Douglas, Georgia,

Hugh, I assume your 2007 SE is like my 2006 Apex. You will find a fuse panel behind the door in the service bay where the inverter is.
It has a 20 amp fuse. If that fuse is good, check the water hose reel fuse. The connections on the fuse block were reversed on my coach.

The fuse blows when the limit switch doesn't work when you retract the cord and the motor keeps on grinding until it blows the fuse. There is also a limit switch when you reach the end of the cord when extending. My limit switches work but I keep my hand on the operating switch and turn it off manually just in case.
__________________
Basil & Sue Shannon
Former Apex owner (Gary & Renee have it now)
Was Traveling Circus (2 clowns/Sage the Wonder Dog) Tent rotted. Circus folded.
Basil Shannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 02:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
As a suggestion to everyone, limit switches are a safety feature and they are not to be used as an automatic shut-off. There purpose is to assure that we have not neglected to turn whatever off. They should not be used as a continual shut-off. They are a safety feature and we should accept them as just that.
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 07:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
hrhuggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banning CA
Posts: 358
Thanks to all for the suggestions.

Gail and John, I remember looking in the panel under the bathroom sink and dont remember seeing any fuses in that area but I will go back and check and will also check the panel in front of the passenger seat. You will LOVE your new 2007 40FDQS... I know... we do!

Basil, I know I did not check in the area where the inverter is... I will check there too. I didnt run into a problem because of the limit switch... the fuse (I assume) blew when the cord was still out about 8 feet. Had to manually retract the cord.
__________________
Hugh & Cyndi Reed
35' 2004 Damon Intruder 2 slide
2004 Honda Element toad
hrhuggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 06:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
I had the same problem. OEM installed fuse was 15A, Glendinning calls for 20. I think the motor sometimes strains (pulling extra amps) when the cord is dragging or binding. On our rig the 12V GM-type blade fuse block is behind a cabinet "door" in the potty room; no doubt different location on yours.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
hrhuggie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Banning CA
Posts: 358
sorry about being slow to post back... got busy with (ugh) work and couldn't check. I finally got a chance to look and found that the fuse is located in the hall electrical center in front of the bathroom door. It was mislabled but I did find it and the Glendinning is working again. EMike, it did have a 15 amp in, thanks for the info on 20.
__________________
Hugh & Cyndi Reed
35' 2004 Damon Intruder 2 slide
2004 Honda Element toad
hrhuggie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 07:33 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
gjstacy's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Hugh,

I'm glad you let us know how you fixed your problem...thanks! We will add this to our PDI next month to ensure that we have a 20 fuse in the right place! Hopefully, they will properly label the fuse for the reel, or at least someone at Camp WRV will know where it is.

Are you going to join us at our SoCal rally in Las Vegas from February 16 - 18? If yes, we'll be able to compare notes on our new SEs.

Safe Travels!
__________________

__________________
Gail, John & Mindy Stacy
2007 Alpine SE 40FDQS, 2011 Equinox
ACA & Alpine SoCal
gjstacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Fuses '04 Dolphin Mike_Chicago National RV Owner's Forum 11 12-16-2013 01:01 PM
Fuses? JKCTAZ National RV Owner's Forum 13 05-29-2009 07:39 PM
Fuses ready2rv Newmar Owner's Forum 1 02-13-2009 02:56 PM
Fuses Tom & Dee Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 8 03-04-2007 01:16 PM
Where are the fuses? kymacs Newmar Owner's Forum 9 10-31-2005 06:22 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.