Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-20-2013, 02:31 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Generator no output

Please help. I'm in a park with no hookups and my generator does not put an output and keeps slowing down and speeding up. Any ideas.
__________________

__________________
joebrunold is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-20-2013, 02:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
toneumanns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 792
Check your circuit breakers on the generator panel located on the get set.
__________________

__________________
2011 Itasca Suncruiser, Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
MSgt retired USAF 1988, AA retired 2005
toneumanns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:03 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bluepill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Pensacola, FL
Posts: 2,247
What Brand & Model generator?
__________________
2008 Itasca Meridian 37H & 2015 Flagstaff T12RBST
2011 & 2012 Len & Pat's "One lap of America"
27K miles & 41 states in 13 months - Woo Woo
Yellowstone Lake 6-1-2012
bluepill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 03:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
palehorse89's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 7,777
If the breaker was tripped it would just idle, we need to know what you have like bluepill said to maybe help.
__________________
2000 Newmar MADP 4060, 350ISC, Spartan MM, IFS 2011 Jeep JK, M&G Braking, 2014 MTI 27' Hog Hauler, Wireless brake control, 2006Ultra & 1989 Springer
palehorse89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 04:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
It should be an Onan Quiet diesel. If it is surging I would start by changing the fuel filter. You could also try priming it by holding the start/stop button in the stop position for 2 minutes pushing (called priming) any air that might be in the system out. If I let my fuel get below I usually have to prime mine to get it to run without stumbling the first time I start it after fueling.

Another thing I would try is run the gen slide out and turn the 2 breakers off. Start then gen and see if it will idle without surging. Let it warm up and then turn the breakers on.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:36 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
Would be helpful if you identified the year of your coach (I'm assuming an Alpine). Sounds to me as if the electronic inverter unit has failed. This is common on older units.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
It's an Apex so at least an 06. Also look for a loose connection in the junction box above the gen set.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 222
Also...if you have a xantraex inverter; try pushing the red reset button on the unit in the bays.
__________________
Matt & Lorraine Moniz
'05-36MDDS Alpine / '14 Honda CRV
Sunnyvale, CA
zinom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2013, 08:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks to all and I am sorry it took me too long to respond. I got the bug and feel like crap. After fooling around I hit some switches on the inverter and also a low voltage reset button. All is well and working. i don't know which fixed it I just know it works.
__________________

__________________
joebrunold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.