Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-18-2013, 09:51 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 350
Headlight Switch Cost

Hi John

Took a while as we just got back to AZ and the motorhome but I checked the number and it is the same switch as you mentioned ( SW5262 or F85Z11654BAA). I called Ford and was quoted 208 plus tax and Autozone 166. Thankyou for the Amazon link. I will be ordering one from there today. Got to love this forum and the internet!! I tried to post this on my previous thread about no headlights but it is too old and I can't post on it.

Geoff
__________________

__________________
alpinedrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-18-2013, 05:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
Hi Geoff, nice to know that sometimes these comments are actually useful. It is hard to believe how many variations of this switch Ford came up with.
__________________

__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 06:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
I guess you already ordered one but I would have suggested another strategy. Ask a Ford dealer to look it up and what other vehicles used that switch. Then go to a junkyard or look an Ebay. I did this for my HVAC dash control. Turns out it also was used in Dodge trucks. I got a used one for a fraction of new cost.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:46 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Looks to me like the guts are actually the same switch parts, but the bezel changes to suit some interior design feng shui to assimilate to different vehicle motifs.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 04:27 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 350
Hi

Now back to some serious stuff! I got my new headlight switch today and installed it. I now have parking lights and running lights BUT no headlights. I find only one resettable fuse and I have replaced that with a new one. I checked at the headlight bulbs and there is no power getting to the sockets.

Any other fuses or ideas??

Thanks

Geoff
__________________
2000 Alpine 38 FDS
alpinedrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 05:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,211
There might be a relay so the full amperage of the headlights doesn't go through the switch, or it could be the High/Low beam switch/relay.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 07:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,639
I agree with Bob that it is probably the high/low beam relay or even the dip switch on the steering column.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2013, 08:02 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 350
OK

Any ideas where the hi/lo relay could be on a 2000 Alpine.? I'll try tomorrow to see how I can remove the cover on the steering whee. right now it is too dark!

Geoff
__________________
2000 Alpine 38 FDS
alpinedrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 12:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 350
Stop the press!!

I now have headlights

I went to check to see if power was at least coming from the switch on the dash and as I was "persuading" the switch to move enough for me to do that I saw that one of the 2 plugs at the back of the switch was not properly seated. I snapped it in place and there was light

Thanks again everyone for the posts

BTW the switch from Amazon came the next day and is in the same Ford Motorcraft box and is the same part as the local Ford dealer quoted me 208 plus tax...Amazon 88 plus tax and free shipping to my Alpine door!!

Geoff
__________________

__________________
2000 Alpine 38 FDS
alpinedrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.