Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2009, 10:00 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Interesting about the fuses because one had its plastic shroud removed and that was lying on the batteries. It is the 250 amp house fuse, but I couldn't tell if it was still good by looking at it - or maybe if it had been removed. I don't have a reference for what it looks like, but your comments seem spot on. I'll call the mechanic tomorrow to see what he did.

Thanks again and I hope you are enjoying unraveling this as much as I am.

Clark
__________________

__________________
ClarkBowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-05-2009, 01:16 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
I was thinking to comment when I first saw this post, but abstained due to the superior opinions of the various engineers we are fortunate to have on this forum.

My coach showed the same problems when Cummins Cal Pacific blew the main fuse while working on it. When I returned, they replaced it and charged me handsomely.
__________________

__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2009, 08:43 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
takeprice,

Never assume that others have the knowledge of a problem that experience teaches. Until I got out the wiring diagram, I had no idea that Clarks problems could be caused by the fuse being blown. Using the bypass switch should not allow one to bypass the fuse, not very safe.

Since the fuse was removed, I would assume that it is good. The mechanic probably pulled the fuse while he worked on the HWH system and forgot to replace it. He didn't realize he could have just turned off the house switch or the bypass switch was on and the power was not cut off when he turned off the house switch.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:01 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Dale.....
I don't have the Alpine or the manual here and the mechanic is denying all knowledge of removing or blowing the fuse (in spite of the plastic cover being off) so do you happen to know the correct fuse number?

Clark
__________________
ClarkBowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 12:34 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Clark- seems the tech should be able to check the fuse for continuity & if it is bad then pull it for matching. If it checks out for continuity, then perhaps it is not the fuse.

Fuse to the House Disconnect on mine is:
brand: Mega
model: Littlefuse
rating: 250A
physical attributes: flat in shape, black body, 2" between studs.

I seem to recall on my 2006 that the house fuse was different, looking more like the Inverter fuse (round body & longer), but that could be memory failure. If your house fuse is round bodied, then the above won't apply.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:17 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 210
I'm responding to the inverter reset portion of this thread.
You were on shore power when you did that, right? The inverter/converter has a transfer relay built-in; resetting it would give you 12V via the converter section, but would not affect battery power.

Frank
__________________
Franklin & Dessa
2001 Alpine 34 FDDS
Tow a 2014 CR-V
F&D ABQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 04:24 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Thanks Mike - That's the one.
Frank - What does that tell you the problem may be? I was hooked up to shore power (still am) and I reset the converter box twice. After that I turned on the "jumper" middle switch.

Clark
__________________
ClarkBowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2009, 05:12 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by ClarkBowen View Post
Thanks Mike - That's the one.
Frank - What does that tell you the problem may be? I was hooked up to shore power (still am) and I reset the converter box twice. After that I turned on the "jumper" middle switch.

Clark
If you're hooked up to shore power and the batteries are disconnected somehow (like by a blown fuse) the inverter will still power the 12V lights (depending on the wiring of the specific coach, of course) if it's running. So that could complicate the analysis. Before taking the coach on the road, I'd want to test it in every configuration I could - notably by disconnecting from shore power. Sorry if my previous post confused you.

Frank
__________________
Franklin & Dessa
2001 Alpine 34 FDDS
Tow a 2014 CR-V
F&D ABQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2009, 10:12 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 122
Just got back from the coast, driving the Alpine. Starts and runs fine and I do have my 110v equipment working if I move the middle jumper switch to on. I turn it to off when I start it.
I just reread Mike's comment about the big scary looking fuse on the back wall and I'll check it tomorrow. The smaller 250amp LittleFuse that Mike also mentioned is ok.
So, middle jumper to on, shorepower or no shorepower - my 110V equipment works.
Middle jumper switch off - no 110V equipment works.

I'll check the big monster fuse tomorrow.

Clark
__________________

__________________
ClarkBowen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alpine chasis vs New Tiffen Chasis RVRONINPA Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 1 10-05-2007 10:03 AM
Alpine Questions and Help Fillitup Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 3 04-30-2006 06:52 AM
Alpine Coach Owner's Forum Member Ted III Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 01-03-2006 04:27 PM
Honked off at Alpine rockcj Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 06-03-2005 09:43 PM
Alpine Ordering Experience - worked out OK Audrey & John Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 5 01-25-2005 01:52 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.