Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Old 02-11-2011, 08:47 AM   #1
How to replace hubs, calipers, rotors, bearings, & seals

Disclaimer: I am not a professional mechanic or mechanical engineer. The following information is accurate to the best of my knowledge, but no guarantees of accuracy are expressed or should be assumed.

As documented in other threads (http://www.irv2.com/forums/f104/1999-alpine-coach-brake-failure-80199.html , http://www.irv2.com/forums/f104/warning-older-alpine-coach-brake-pad-corrosion-83901.html , http://www.irv2.com/forums/f104/rear-and-front-hub-disassembly-and-assembly-81090.html ) I needed some major repairs to my 1999 Alpine Coach brake system. I decided to tackle the job myself, but I was unable to find a comprehensive document (shop manual or similar) to guide me through the process. After much research on the internet and with the help of other contributors to this forum, I was able to complete the repair myself. This post is to document what I learned and hopefully help others who are considering similar repairs. If others find errors, better ways to do any of this, or any other pertinent information, please add to this thread.

Special Home-Made Tools
I have considerable experience building things out of wood and steel, so I build many special tools when needed and when I feel it is within my capabilities. This takes time, but saves money and, for me, is the fun part of the job. I would rather design and build a tool then run all over town trying to beg, borrow or buy one. I built several tools for this project, which I will describe and show in this post.