Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2008, 01:29 PM   #1
Member
 
TOJOS's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falcon, CO 80831
Posts: 33
Need Help.....
My Hydro-Hot is inop. I had a full tank of fuel and hooked up to city water. I opened the fill/cap on top and it was full. The overflow tank was between the lines. I did notice a red lite on the electronic controller panel (forward side) of the Hydro-Hot identifying "Low Tank Level Cut Off" was on. The unit did work on eletric at first but when I turned it to diesel nothing happened and would not operate when I switched back to electric only again. Suggestions Please.... Tom

TOJOS
2005 Alpine Limited 40' FDTS
__________________

__________________
Tom & Johnna Phillips, Falcon, Colorado
Teddybear the Pom
2005 Alpine Limited 40' FDTS #75381 / 2009 Saturn Outlook
TOJOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-12-2008, 01:29 PM   #2
Member
 
TOJOS's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falcon, CO 80831
Posts: 33
Need Help.....
My Hydro-Hot is inop. I had a full tank of fuel and hooked up to city water. I opened the fill/cap on top and it was full. The overflow tank was between the lines. I did notice a red lite on the electronic controller panel (forward side) of the Hydro-Hot identifying "Low Tank Level Cut Off" was on. The unit did work on eletric at first but when I turned it to diesel nothing happened and would not operate when I switched back to electric only again. Suggestions Please.... Tom

TOJOS
2005 Alpine Limited 40' FDTS
__________________

__________________
Tom & Johnna Phillips, Falcon, Colorado
Teddybear the Pom
2005 Alpine Limited 40' FDTS #75381 / 2009 Saturn Outlook
TOJOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 01:58 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
I had this happen to our coach recently. I found that the level switch was bad and I replaced it which fixed the problem. If you want to replace it yourself read on. Fortunately, I found a new switch at a large RV dealer in the Dallas area close to where we were parked. The float switch connects to terminals 15 & 16 on the right side of the control panel with red wires. You will have to remove the panel cover to get to the terminal strip ( 4 screws). This will expose the circuit board. Remove the red wires and check them with an ohmmeter. The meter should read near 0 ohms. If it reads high of open, the switch is bad. You can bypass the switch with a short jumper wire to get going. The switch is not difficult to replace. You will have to drain the fluid down to the switch level. The new switch used a different size socket than the old one so be sure you have the right tools before starting. The factory suggested using both Teflon and pipe thread sealer.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 02:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
Turn it off, let it sit for 30 seconds, then turn the diesel burner back on, this resets the system. If that does not fix it, bad sensor someplace.
__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 03:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
jerry davis's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fremont, Ca
Posts: 662
Same thing happened with mine. It was the float switch. Got a new one from the factory that was much better than the plastic one that was originally installed. Fairly easy to install.

In the meantime simply jump the wires at the control panel with a paper clip.
__________________
Jerry and Judy
Fremont, California
2017 Dutch Star 4018
toad 2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara
jerry davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 06:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
BigSkyBob's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western Montana on the Divide
Posts: 1,206
I also got a new float switch from the factory and replaced it. My temp sensor also went south and had to be replaced. But you can do this with the proper size deep well sockets. You will need deep well sockets so you have room for the attached wires.
__________________
Bob Retired Army Traveling alone now.
2008 Camelot 40 PDQ 4 slides ISL400 towing a 2016 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 Quadcab
Western MT in summer, AZ, NV in winter
BigSkyBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 03:52 AM   #7
Member
 
TOJOS's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Falcon, CO 80831
Posts: 33
Bob, Do you recall how long it took to replace the float switch in your Hydro-Hot Unit? Tom
__________________
Tom & Johnna Phillips, Falcon, Colorado
Teddybear the Pom
2005 Alpine Limited 40' FDTS #75381 / 2009 Saturn Outlook
TOJOS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 12:00 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The pre-2007 units won't reset w/out using the reset button on the control board. On our 06 I carried a small stick on a hook on the control board for pushing the reset button (there is a small hole in the cover plate, and the reset is a small switch; push it & you will feel it click; its like the reboot button you need for microsoft). One time, for reasons known only to the HHot gremlins, my unit wouldn't operate; something to do w/voltage. One click & it worked fine.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 01:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
If you can't find a small enough stick, try the red spray tube from a WD-40 can or something similar. I taped mine to one of the wiring harnesses.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 08:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
Speaking of Hydro Hot units, and especially mine. It's again scheduled for a master technician to re-check the unit to determine why we don't have hot water. My belief is the mixing valve is stuck closed. This will require the removal of the unit from the coach, as getting to it will require a bean pole person, no bigger than olive (you remember-popeye and olive) to get in there and replace it. I will post the results on Sunday evening. OBTW, it going to be over 100 in Hood River, OR where the repair is going to take place. I want to get started early around 8, we might have it done by noon if we work fast.
__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:01 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
dshogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 341
More on low-level check light - seems this thing always quits on Saturday mornings. Reading the above, looks like my problem. But what's happening is that every once in a while the light flickers to off and the burner starts for a few seconds.
So, does this sound the switch failing?? I'll do the ohnmeter test and then jumper the switch as I know there's plenty of fluid.
Comments or advice please.....
Thanks.
__________________
David Horn, TX; 2014 40ft Phaeton QTH; 2014 Mazda CX5; 2013 Can-AM Spyder RT-S on TandemTow trailer; Traveling with Ringo (an English Cocker)
dshogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
When I replaced my float switch I found that the plastic body was somewhat deteriorated (sp?) and stuck. I think your switch may be intermittant and stuck in the down position but sometimes freeing up and floating up to the closed switch mode. By the way, this switch is position sensitive - it has to be installed with the arrow pointing up.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 07:47 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
dshogman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 341
Follow-up - the ohmmeter isn't where it's supposed to be down below, so just detached 15 & 16 and jumpered with a paper clip. Now it works OK. Will call Monday morning and have them send me the switch.
Funny thing is, when I got back from Texas in March, after all the trouble I had while there, both of the other switches had to be replaced.
__________________
David Horn, TX; 2014 40ft Phaeton QTH; 2014 Mazda CX5; 2013 Can-AM Spyder RT-S on TandemTow trailer; Traveling with Ringo (an English Cocker)
dshogman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2008, 10:09 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
So all know, today we had our HH looked into. One thing was determined the control board was not shutting off the LTOC=Low Temperature cutoff switch and starting the stir pump. So the board was replaced. In addition, the tech was able to squeeze back in the compartment and turn the Mixing Valve several times in both directions and then setting it to 4. We will use the coach in normal outdoor temps later in the week, and see if this fixed it. We are currently on the backside of a major heat wave with temps over 100+ degrees. Once this hot weather moves off, starting tomorrow, things will be back to normal, and we can see if it works correctly. If it does, and the little lady wants the tech too, we can ask him to turn it down to 2.5.
__________________

__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydro Hot Service (Aqua Hot) Wayne R RV Systems & Appliances 15 03-13-2009 07:25 PM
Hydro Hot GaryL MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 01-25-2009 04:50 AM
Hydro Hot DrDaveMA Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 4 06-29-2007 04:51 PM
Hydro Hot Alarmguy MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 12-02-2005 03:26 PM
Hydro Hot RV Systems & Appliances 4 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.