Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-05-2010, 06:59 PM   #1
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 135
Hydro Hot Question

We have an 05 40fdts Alpine. New owners and just learning everything. After finding a low voltage light on the Hydro Hot panel, I reset it (low voltage has been corrected) and the boiler works fine. I set the thermostat to "furnace" but nothing happens. Fuses all seem good. There are several vents around the coach on the bottom of the walls and one under the shower, so I assume that is where heat would come from. The rooftop heat pumps work fine, but I am trying to get the hydroi hot to warm the place just to check it out. What have I missed? I thought some sort of blower would come on.
Thanks for your suggestions!

Wrinklemeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-05-2010, 07:07 PM   #2
a k
Registered User
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,142
Turn on the boiler switch. if you have three roof tops and four zones on the thermostate, just one is for the furnace (hydro-Hot). It's usually zone 3. You have to switch the heatpumps over to furnace.

a k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 07:09 PM   #3
Senior Member
Wayne R's Avatar
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,136
Did you turn the electric or diesel switch on? They are located in the cabinet above the steering wheel.
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2010, 10:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 135
I have two roof top A/C-heat pumps.Electric and diesel switch is on. The thermostat only has one of the zones that can call up "furnace" and that is the one i have on. Maybe things are working as they should. I am just used to "instant" heat with an ordinary propane furnace. What little air that is coming in the vents located on the lower walls/under the shower, is warm. I just am not sure what I should be expecting.
Wrinklemeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 12:36 AM   #5
Senior Member
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,209
Assuming you have the same thermostat as we do. Try the following.

Set the cool-heat slide switch to heat.
Using the zone/mode switch=choose zone 1, and "gas heat" using the mode side.
Set the desired temp using the up/down arrows.

Note: the electric element or diesel burner needs to be on. You will get better heat using the diesel burner option, you can also leave both on, once the diesel burner has gotten the unit hot, and it's not real cold outside, you can just use the electric element to keep the chill off. Also, the diesel burner needs to operate at least two hours a month, along with the generator which needs half load on it for two hours a month-FWIW.

Note 2: Zone 2 needs to be on, and set to heat for the basement unit (air handler) to call for heat if the basement gets down to 40F or below.

Go to: http://www.aquahot.com/eSource/ecom/eSource/default/Manuals.aspx

Download the manual for your unit and read all about it. You should have almost instant hot water once the unit has warmed up to operating temperature. If not, then we need to talk off line. I am aqua-hot certified.
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hydro Hot filter change jerry davis Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 2 05-09-2010 10:05 PM
Hydro Hot leaking Smed Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 14 03-05-2010 07:52 PM
Hydro Hot fans Spur Monaco Owner's Forum 12 12-17-2007 04:55 AM
Hydro Hot Alarmguy MH-General Discussions & Problems 2 12-02-2005 02:26 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.