Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2006, 05:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Lindenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 281
Can someone please describe what the replacement 350 amp fues looks like and if it has any markings on it.

The 2000 Alpine I am purchasing still has the old 250 amp fuse, I think.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Laurel

2000 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDS
Lindenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2006, 05:21 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Lindenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 281
Can someone please describe what the replacement 350 amp fues looks like and if it has any markings on it.

The 2000 Alpine I am purchasing still has the old 250 amp fuse, I think.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Laurel

2000 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDS
Lindenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 06:13 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East TN
Posts: 19
When I bought my 98 ALpine Coach 36SDS a couple of years ago, I found it still had the 250 amp ground fuse. I contacted WRV and they sent me a shunt to replace the fuse.

The holder for the ground fuse and shunt is located in the right rear of the coach looking from the back. Open the rear engine door and look down and right. Mine is labeled.
__________________
bpe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 06:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Santee, CA
Posts: 148
Where can I find info about the ground fuse? I'd like to check mine (2000) as well and am not even aware of what the issue is...

Thanks,

Mark
__________________
Regards,
Mark
2000 Alpine 36' Mid-door, Single slide
MFortie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2006, 06:40 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bigfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 214
This is the fuse that's in our Alpine 05 40FDQS:
BUSSMANN T-RON, VERY FAST FUSE, 300A, 300VAC, CLASS T, 200KA I/R, BOLTED BLADE, 2.75" OAL X 1" W BLADE, BUSSMANN P/N JJN-300
Hope this helps.
BTF
__________________
bigfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 02:35 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East TN
Posts: 19
There was a recall involved with this fuse. Seems if it blows you have no brakes, power steering or any thing. I have lost the air compressor and hydrolic pump on my coach and it is no fun.

There was some question if 350 was right, and there was a time that WRV could not get the 350 amps. I have the shunt which is a strip of copper shaped and drilled to fit where the fuse was. The recall info is close to the beginning of this forum.
__________________
bpe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 02:52 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: East TN
Posts: 19
Here is the link for the recall.

http://www-odi.nhtsa.dot.gov/cars/pr...ls/results.cfm

search on:
year; 2002
Make; Westeern
Model; Alpine

to find the recall report.
__________________
bpe1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2006, 09:59 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Lindenberg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 281
This week WRV sent me the copper shunt to be used in place of the fuse. What they sent matched the description from bpe1. It looks like they either can't get the fuses or have found that there is no need for a fuse and are using the shunts.
__________________

__________________
Tom & Laurel

2000 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDS
Lindenberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
300 amp fuse & Xantrex XBM Bob and Vicki Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 02-01-2008 04:31 AM
40 amp IGNITION fuse blows when key is in on positio fossil MH-General Discussions & Problems 4 06-17-2007 02:39 PM
2005 saturn vue 30 amp fuse 20champ1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 3 06-22-2005 03:32 PM
NO BRAKES WHEN THE GROUND FUSE GOES OPEN FRED MASINO Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 28 03-07-2005 12:12 PM
NO BRAKES WHEN THE GROUND FUSE GOES OPEN MH-General Discussions & Problems 28 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.