Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2015, 11:12 AM   #1
Member


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 69
Instrument panel problem

I have a 2008 40MDTS Alpine SE Limited. Recently, I lost power to the 4 in 1 gauge (fuel, water temp, tranny temp and oil pressure) and to the 2 message center readouts. The speedo/tach and Smarttire gauges are working OK. No other outages that I can find. Is there a fuse box somewhere that I'm not finding or is this powered as part of the Vansco system? The wiring diagram in the owners manual and the tech library on ACA has not been helpful to me.
Thanks for any ideas that you may have. Hoping to not have to take it in for service at $105/hour.
Dave Weber
Wenatchee, WA
__________________

__________________
dwebcbceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-28-2015, 12:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
I would suggest that turn off all the power to the coach including batteries and let the Vansco reboot. I hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 10:00 AM   #3
Member


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 69
Hi Dave and thanks for replying. I have tried rebooting the Vansco but it didn't remedy the problem. So..... on to plan B. I've heard no other ideas so probably will need to get it to my local RV place. Bummer.
__________________
dwebcbceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 11:07 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
DrDaveMA's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cotuit, MA
Posts: 2,258
I would look for a broken ground on the connectors.


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
__________________
Dave, Bobbi and Fenway
2005 38' FDTS Alpine Limited, 2016 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
Cape Cod, MA
DrDaveMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 10:45 PM   #5
Member


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 69
Ah yes the loose ground wire! Good idea. Seems to be the bane of motor homers and especially the Alpines. Unfortunately locating it is beyond my skill set so will need an expert RV repair man.
Thanks for responding.
Dave Weber
Wenatchee, WA
__________________
dwebcbceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2015, 11:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 426
The power for the gauges come from the from the Vansco PDM (Power Distribution Module) mounted above the front Vansco.


With the ignition key to run position all the outputs should be lit. If any are not lit, there could be a short on that output. If they are all lit, then maybe you could have some other problem, like a bad ground or connection. A Vansco reset won't help that.


You could replace the ignition switch, which is probably not the problem, which is cheap and easy to replace. Pollack 31-322 for about $14.


In my opinion, whoever you take it to should understand the Vansco system.


We don't have a wiring diagram for these later model coaches.


I have an intermittent start problem for about 4 months now. On mine lights 7 & 8 go on the PDM go out and will not start. I have checked a lot of connections and replaced my PDM and still not found problem. Right now I have into a shop to check it out. Hopefully, I will find out something next week and let you know.
__________________
2007 Apex MDTS (425 hp) #75723
2007 Toyota 4-Runner
2014 Ram Laramie 3500
kraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2015, 07:55 PM   #7
Member


 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Wenatchee, WA
Posts: 69
Thanks Kraig. I appreciate your response and advice. I will pursue this further with the idea that the Vansco is likely the problem.
Dave Weber
Wenatchee, WA
__________________

__________________
dwebcbceo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
panel



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'96 Flair.....latch on instrument panel? Motor7 Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 12 04-18-2015 08:18 PM
2008 Journey XC-S Instrument Panel Manual jengle Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 3 08-26-2014 11:48 PM
Dash Gauge Problem RangerRick Newmar Owner's Forum 3 02-02-2014 12:53 PM
Redneck 1993 Allegro Bay Diesel Pusher with electrical problem jcruce13 Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 10-09-2013 12:27 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.