Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2007, 08:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
I have a question for the group. When I read the owner's manuals it says to take the Jake Brake off when in cruise control. I am used to driving with the Jake on when not in cruise control, usually in "low", but if in traffic or a steep downhill, in "high". That means I turn the Jake off when I put it cruise control. Of course, when I'm going down a big hill in cruise on the freeway, that means I must turn the Jake on when I step on the brake or disable the cruise control, to keep the speed in line.

So, do others take the Jake off when on cruise and put it back on when not, or just leave it on when on cruise (doesn't seem to do anything in cruise anyway)?

Appreciate your answers on this.
__________________

__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-13-2007, 08:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
I have a question for the group. When I read the owner's manuals it says to take the Jake Brake off when in cruise control. I am used to driving with the Jake on when not in cruise control, usually in "low", but if in traffic or a steep downhill, in "high". That means I turn the Jake off when I put it cruise control. Of course, when I'm going down a big hill in cruise on the freeway, that means I must turn the Jake on when I step on the brake or disable the cruise control, to keep the speed in line.

So, do others take the Jake off when on cruise and put it back on when not, or just leave it on when on cruise (doesn't seem to do anything in cruise anyway)?

Appreciate your answers on this.
__________________

__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 02:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
OldForester,

I tend to turn my Jake brake on only when I want to use it. I find it is very annoying to have the Jake come on when ever the coach is coasting while in cruise control. I believe it cancels cruise when the Jake comes on. I will have to check it next time we take a trip.

I do intend to check and find out if the transmission can be reprogrammed to only down shift to 5th when the Jake comes on so that the engine doesn't over speed at 60 MPH. I would still be able to manually downshift if more braking was required.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 06:01 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
I agree with Wayne and only use the Jake as needed. However, if the Jake switch is on in either position it will not operate when the cruise is on. If the brake is applied to disable the cruise, the Jake will then activate.

I have found that the transmission will never down shift to a gear which will result in engine RPM in excess of about 2500 RPM. With a speed of 65 - 70 it will downshift to 5th and then 4th as the speed decreases. I will also downshift manually to 3rd or 2nd as more brakeing is needed for a complete stop.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 06:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Wil is right, I probably was annoyed when I tapped the brake while in cruise control and the Jake brake came on.

When I turn my Jake brake on and release the accelerator pedal the Silver Leaf monitor shows 4th selected and the transmission actually in 4th. It displays 4, 6 while it is waiting for the coach to slow enough to engage the Jake it then shows 4,4.

Sometime during the 04-05 model year Cummins went from a wired 2 stage Jake to an ECU controlled Jake. At first we only had the high setting in either switch position. A software update in January 06 added the low setting. That may explain why some coaches operate differently. Or I may be just misinformed.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2007, 08:57 AM   #6
Member
 
Indio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tenaja, California
Posts: 92
Wayne..........

The MH3000 can be re-programed to down shift to the 5th gear. Any Allison shop with a computer can do it.

I find it much less annoying especially in traffic to not have to each time I take my foot off the gas to regain the RPM loss.

Walt
__________________
Walt / Julie Darden

2004 Alpine 40FDTS
Indio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 07:56 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 95
I recently added a 2 pole relay to operate and turn the Jake brake on only when i apply the brakes. If I don't step on the brake, Jake doesn't go on and I coast. I leave the Jake on high. I had to a a micro switch to the accelerator pedal, this allows me to turn off the Jake if I accelerate. If you are interested in adding this simple circuit contact me. It works great and you use a lot less braking.

Nick
__________________
Nick and Ramona
Huntington Beach, CA
2005 Alpine Mid Door
Nick Escamilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2007, 08:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Nick,

I would be interested in what you did. I find that I use the Jake on high most of the time because I don't want to use my brakes in traffic, and I would like for the Jack to come on in high when I step on the brake to get off cruise control, and stay off the rest of the time. The exception would be when I want to keep the Jake on low for more lightly rolling terrain.

So if you could share this setup with us I for one, would be most appreciative.

So how you addeed this relay
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 02:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Nick- That is a heckuva <span class="ev_code_BLUE">cool</span> tweak.

You should sell kits. If you don't want to start such a biz, post the part #'s, where purchased, and description of what hooks up where.
Mike
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 03:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
chris cross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: LAKE POWELL
Posts: 326
Nick-- what a great idea. I'll second EM and ask that you post everything needed.
__________________
CHRIS & DEBI CROSS

40' 2004 ALPINE COACH FDTS
chris cross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 05:13 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Add an over-ride switch for a safety in case the micro-switch foozles up, and we can call it the <span class="ev_code_BLUE">Nake-Brake</span>
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2007, 09:13 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 95
If your interested in the circuit I'll scan it to and electronic file so I can email to anyone who wants it. Adding a safety switch is not necessary, if the accelerator switch freezes, just turn of the Jake Brake switch and when you accelerate the Jake brake goes off naturally. All I'm doing is interrupting the common on the Jake switch. I'm not tapping into any electronics and certainly not dangerous.

You need to add 2 diode to protect from feedback.
One 2 pole relay, both normally open contacts.
One micro switch and manufacture a bracket to hold micro switch to accelerator arm.
Wire and connectors.
__________________
Nick and Ramona
Huntington Beach, CA
2005 Alpine Mid Door
Nick Escamilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 04:28 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
rmmpe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 1,146
No Speakee Engrish--------send picture.
Prease.
__________________
Bob (Squidly Down Under) & Peg - 2013 Ford Focus pushing a 2011 Phoenix Cruiser 2552S
"In God we trust" to preserve our country and bring our Troops safely home.
Carry on, regardless..................
rmmpe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2007, 02:30 PM   #14
Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 95
I would like a one
__________________

__________________
APEXMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Jake Brake dan&donna Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 10-22-2007 06:40 PM
Toad brake with Jake brake Roadking Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 12-18-2006 06:24 AM
Jake brake activation while in cruise control - now I have the answer John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 17 10-17-2006 07:21 PM
Cummins ISL & Jake brake operation on cruise control? John_Canfield Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 09-15-2006 06:58 AM
Jake brake activation while in cruise control - now I have the answer Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 17 12-31-1969 07:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.