Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2008, 03:22 PM   #1
Member
 
RVersOnline's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to RVersOnline
Perhaps others have experienced this....

Just before we left our full service site this morning in Ajo, heading for dry camping at Organ Pipe, I noted that I was only getting power from the inverter -- not from shore power. Being an older park, I surmised that perhaps the Surge Guard had detected an irregularity, and cut off the power. Since voltage was still around 12.5, I figured it must have happened quite recently.

At Organ Pipe I turned on the generator -- and in general it appears no A/C was coming through. With the inverter on, I'm able to run a few A/C things (like the DataStorm dish!) -- at least for the present. I find I don't have any manual that discusses the physical inverter -- just the control panel. On the inverter, there is a red "reset" button, which I held down. Just prior I'd seen two green lights on the inverter top. One says "network", and I can't read the other one which would be top left if the inverter had been put in horizontally, rather than vertically. As it is, I was barely able to make out the "reset" next to the red button. After pushing and holding that one, all the LEDs went out, then they all came one. Then it reverted to just one green LED, "network". At one point the inverter itself stopped working, but seemed to restart (inverter power only) after I pressed one of two buttons next to the "reset" button, and which have captions I just can't read due to the way it's installed.

One more oddity. Although the generator does not seem to charge the batteries, or to put the fridge on electric (versus propane), I *can* run the A/C while the generator is on. I thought that only happened when there was A/C present -- which for the most part at least it is not.

I'll of course call WRV in the AM, but before I lost the inverter power again (and DataStorm), thought I'd put up this (not-so) quick post to see if others may have encountered this one.
__________________

__________________
2007 34' FDDS Ltd SE
RVersOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-10-2008, 03:22 PM   #2
Member
 
RVersOnline's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to RVersOnline
Perhaps others have experienced this....

Just before we left our full service site this morning in Ajo, heading for dry camping at Organ Pipe, I noted that I was only getting power from the inverter -- not from shore power. Being an older park, I surmised that perhaps the Surge Guard had detected an irregularity, and cut off the power. Since voltage was still around 12.5, I figured it must have happened quite recently.

At Organ Pipe I turned on the generator -- and in general it appears no A/C was coming through. With the inverter on, I'm able to run a few A/C things (like the DataStorm dish!) -- at least for the present. I find I don't have any manual that discusses the physical inverter -- just the control panel. On the inverter, there is a red "reset" button, which I held down. Just prior I'd seen two green lights on the inverter top. One says "network", and I can't read the other one which would be top left if the inverter had been put in horizontally, rather than vertically. As it is, I was barely able to make out the "reset" next to the red button. After pushing and holding that one, all the LEDs went out, then they all came one. Then it reverted to just one green LED, "network". At one point the inverter itself stopped working, but seemed to restart (inverter power only) after I pressed one of two buttons next to the "reset" button, and which have captions I just can't read due to the way it's installed.

One more oddity. Although the generator does not seem to charge the batteries, or to put the fridge on electric (versus propane), I *can* run the A/C while the generator is on. I thought that only happened when there was A/C present -- which for the most part at least it is not.

I'll of course call WRV in the AM, but before I lost the inverter power again (and DataStorm), thought I'd put up this (not-so) quick post to see if others may have encountered this one.
__________________

__________________
2007 34' FDDS Ltd SE
RVersOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 03:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Looking 2009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 51
From what you have said I would start at the transfer switch with a volt meter. With the genset running being very careful check the incoming side for voltage. If you have 120 volts then one of the relays has failed.
__________________
Looking 2009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2008, 06:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
RVersonline,

See this irv2 thread for a very similar problem that I had just before Christmas.

Bad Transfer Switch

It might give you some clues. My problem turned out to be a bad transfer switch. I replaced it and all was okay.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:46 AM   #5
Member
 
RVersOnline's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Bend, OR
Posts: 79
Send a message via Skype™ to RVersOnline
Morning brought both a new day and -- at least for now -- generator power to our dry camping location at Organ Pipe. Reason unknown -- but welcome anyway. Many thanks to those who responded on such short notice. We actually were pulling in almost enough solar power (3 panels/engineered system) to keep the house batteries almost topped off -- and with a bit more conservation, perhaps we could have stayed pretty much fully charged. But it's comforting not to have to rely on that!
__________________
2007 34' FDDS Ltd SE
RVersOnline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 03:51 PM   #6
Member
 
silverleaf-tim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 41
it sounds to me like your surge guard transfer switch is not latching and therefore not letting power through from the generator to the coach....you can check it out with a volt meter
__________________
1996 Alfa Ideal 30' 5th, 1992 Dodge Cummins tow rig w/Banks PWR pack
silverleaf-tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2008, 08:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 2,226
My guess is the wiring in the Surgeguard has finally come loose. Everyone is talking about it, and many of us have already check it. Look for "Poor Engineering by WRV cost me 300 dollars", that whole thread talks about different electrical issues, which you most likely need to check. Hope things are not as bad as some.
__________________

__________________
Monty & Janet - 2007 Alpine APEX 40 MDTS
S/N - 75715 - Retired - Master Certified RV Tech
Old Rv'er is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Generator with Shore Power Tom & Diane Damon 7 09-19-2008 11:55 AM
No 120 30amp shore power after accidental generator start yankinva Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 07-23-2008 03:56 PM
Bounder: No charge from shore or generator. Iceman II Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 16 06-23-2008 07:38 AM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM
A/C w/shore power, but NO A/C w/generator ON peppermintpj1 RV Systems & Appliances 2 03-02-2006 10:35 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.