Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2014, 05:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Lost electricity at trailer plug

Today's problem while driving toad lights quit working. When we stopped I checked for power at the plug at the rear of the coach and there was none. Where's the best place to start looking for the problem on an Alpine Coach? They were working fine when I hooked up but somewhere along the way they all just quit. I use mag lights on the toad so I plugged them into the back of the toad and they work perfect. The wires the rear of the MH look great at the plug but when tested with test light I got nothing at any terminal.

Thanks,

John Foster
__________________

__________________
Fostfreez is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-26-2014, 06:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,136
Check at the plug ends first for power. I believe your pigtail runs off chassis wiring.
__________________

__________________
trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 07:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 132
If nothing works then you most likely have a have a ground problem. Test with a different ground.
__________________
gatorv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2014, 07:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Model and year of your Alpine? Assume coach taillight are working? Newer coaches sometimes have after-market relays to boost amps to toad lights. Most Alpines also required signal light converters to change separate signal lights [amber] to combined red signal and stop lights on the toad--this module could also be a problem???????
PS--poor ground contact between coach and toad can also be an issue......
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 01:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
If you have a 2004 or later Alpine, and are using the OEM 7 pin trailer plug, try shutting off your chassis disconnect switch, wait 30 seconds, turn it back on & retry the trailer plug. Key has to be ON iirc to get trailer plug signals, else you read ground at all pins (fuzzy recollection, don't sue me if its not true). The chassis switch cycling will reboot the Vansco VMM's in the battery compartment & @ front firewall that take brake/turn/running light signal inputs & output the trailer plug signal.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 09:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Curious--if coach tail lights are functioning but trailer plug is not, is it still a Vansco issue. I have heard the axiom for newer Alpines: "when in doubt, reset Vansco", but wasnt sure if the coach tail lights and the trailer plug were on separate [Vansco]runs?????
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 10:14 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Separate Vansco outputs to tail lights & to trailer plug.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:32 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The Vansco outputs are mostly auto-resetting-breakered at 6A. So the taillight circuit plus the trailer lights could easily overwhelm just one output.
There are extra outputs on the rear Vansco, even after the trailer plug so it was an easy way to breaker it.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
Would be nice to get feedback on what year coach John has. It's not in the profile.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:45 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Thanks for all of the responses. All of the coach tail lights do work. Today I retested my little test light at the battery then followed Mike's instructions regarding all power shut down for 30 sec. Plus. Then turned power back on turned ignition switch one click to the right, turned the headlights on and tested all 6 terminals (I have 6 point round plug) and got nothing. I then noticed for the first time that there is a 2"X4" module glued to the inside of the rear cap near the trailer plug that is wired out of and back into the wires that connect to the plug. The decal/label on it is mostly destroyed. The only words visable were "trailer green wire and yellow". Could this module be fried and causing the problem? Is it necessary for lights only? I am still on the road in Arizona after the DRR (unofficial) and would like to fix myself if possible without finding a shop. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
John Foster
'04 34' Alpine Coach
__________________
Fostfreez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2014, 04:57 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
OK, so I don't have a vansco but I do have that module. On mine it is wired between the 7 pin socket and a separate 6 pin socket. It is necessary to allow the separate turn and brake signals that the coach has to operate a combined brake and turn bulb that most US cars have. As Mike implied yours should have the 7 pin as standard and it seems someone has changed it to a 6 pin. You will need to get a meter on the input side of that module.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 08:44 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
OK--guess you didnt read my input regarding the module--as a non-vansco owner, I am feeling a bit left out here......[smile]
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 09:00 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Algoma's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 2,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old Scout View Post
OK--guess you didnt read my input regarding the module--as a non-vansco owner, I am feeling a bit left out here......[smile]
If Mike is correct there should not be a module on a vansco equipped coach as there are separate outputs for the socket and the coach lights. But he noted there is normally a 7 pin socket on these coaches but this coach has a 6 pin. I was just adding the info that I have both a 7 and a 6 pin on mine and I assumed someone had added that module to mine when they added the 6 pin socket. As you have the module and I assume the original 7 pin socket only I must be wrong about that. But I do agree with you that if all the pins on that socket are dead it is likely a bad ground on that module.
__________________
John and Mary Knight
2015 Newmar Ventana 4311 - wheelchair accessible
2015 Cadillac SRX Luxury AWD
Algoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 11:37 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 30
Old Scout, I apologize for not recognizing the info you gave about the module in your response. Being someone that knows nothing about electrics it went right over my head. Is it possible to bypass the module? Is there a simple fix I could do to get lights for toad mag lights? Does the module need to be replaced? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

John Foster
'04 34' FDDS
'03 Jeep Liberty toad
__________________

__________________
Fostfreez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailer brake controller plug? jdporter221 Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 01-19-2014 08:46 AM
Trailer brake controller plug? jdporter221 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 01-16-2014 07:46 PM
Need a larger trailer! dukenrock Just Conversation 8 01-13-2014 07:26 AM
adding battery to a enclosed car trailer Sprinklerdude Trailer Towing and Tow Vehicles Discussion 5 08-30-2013 08:47 PM
Can't make up my mind.. utility trailer or no? Cubey Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 10 08-12-2013 09:55 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.