Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2006, 04:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
Because I spend so much time in the Northwest, I want to change my Kingdome to another satellite dish. Every morning when the dew is heavy or there are thick clouds, I loose my signal. My concern is the potential wind noise created by an exposed dish. Does anyone have some thoughts regarding my concerns? I have visited with owners of other brands and it has not been an issue. I seem to recall that there is a frontal issue with Alpines that may cause the wind noise problem.
__________________

__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-24-2006, 04:16 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
Because I spend so much time in the Northwest, I want to change my Kingdome to another satellite dish. Every morning when the dew is heavy or there are thick clouds, I loose my signal. My concern is the potential wind noise created by an exposed dish. Does anyone have some thoughts regarding my concerns? I have visited with owners of other brands and it has not been an issue. I seem to recall that there is a frontal issue with Alpines that may cause the wind noise problem.
__________________

__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 04:39 PM   #3
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 9,733
Have you tried this??

It's a LOT cheaper than replacing your dish...
HERE



__________________
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door
Blue Ox Avail and SMI Air Force One
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 04:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
That was my first try. I have worked with Kingdome techs to see if I have more of a problem. I receive (at best) a 62% signal. When using the remote, I get an 90+% signal. The engineer at Alpine said that I can not expect to receive better than a 60% signal from Kingdome. As I move south in the winter, the less the problem. One other motive is that I want to take advantage of the HD equipment installed in the coach and the Kingdome provided is not capable of receiving HD (at least with DirecTV).
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:32 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
I replaced my Kingdome with a MotoSat MHDTV unit. Works great and no problem with wind noise. I would recommend locating the unit behind the front AC unit. The Alpine will beat a dish to death if mounted up front. Daddy Louie actually did a test using a video camera that validated the extreme environment up front on the roof of his first Alpine Coach. My Kingdome was quite noisy on rough roads (rattling sound).
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
On the new Limited SE, a new option is "Satellite Dish, In-Motion w/HDTV Converter". LINK

Since DirecTV HD requires 3 LNBs, I wonder if your dome/dish could be upgraded; which would then require the HD converter of course.

Norm
__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:39 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
Rebels Beach, I also have the King Dome and I purchased the can of spray and it did correct my problem. The question I have is how long does it last. They recommend putting two coats on, which I did. This is a 6 oz. can that costs $ 25.00. They indicate that you can spray it at least 3 times with this 6 oz. can. I have professional painters that work for me and one of them sprayed it for me. They are used to not wasting any coatings. The odds of getting one more coat is slim. Have you found that to be the case?
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:40 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
Wayne, who & what is a daddy Louie????
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
Ted, I used the 1 time, Dome Magic.
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:52 PM   #10
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 9,733
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by lundy:
One other motive is that I want to take advantage of the HD equipment installed in the coach and the Kingdome provided is not capable of receiving HD (at least with DirecTV). </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lundy, I'm not sure where you're getting your information,but with a simple Google of King Controls I found the HD Direct TV adapter that King Controls sells....

HERE IS THE LINK
__________________
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door
Blue Ox Avail and SMI Air Force One
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 05:55 PM   #11
Administrator Emeritus
 
rebelsbeach's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 9,733
Ted, I've not needed to use the can again,but one could spend quite a few $25 before they spend the amount of money needed to buy a new dome/dish...

My "needs" are for the in motion capability so the MD does me no good...Momma likes her TV!
__________________
2017 40' Renegade Verona LE LTS
2018 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara 4 door
Blue Ox Avail and SMI Air Force One
rebelsbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2006, 06:20 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
I guess the real problem I have with Kingdome is the fact that I have had such a problem obtaining a signal in less than ideal weather conditions. Unless I can get a stronger signal, I am really not too interested in upgrades. Receiving a good signal, in most situations, is more important to me than a HD upgrades. I really admit that frustration has set in, because I have used almost all of my cell phone minutes this month with calls to Kindome Controls techs and running tests for them and getting information from WRV.
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:05 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Wayne R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Winter Haven Brownsville, TX
Posts: 1,138
Ted III,
Daddy Louie is Louis Birch's handle on this forum, he occasionally post here. He is also an ACA member.
__________________
Wayne & Kathy
05 Alpine 40FDQS #75330 Towing 24' car hauler, 2012 Spyder, 2003 Harley FatBoy
Wayne R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 08:52 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Oregon Coyote's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Northwest Oregon
Posts: 181
Lundy: I diverted from your original question relating to dew and low clouds and got off on the HD tangent. As many of my full-time Alpine days (once I get it) will be near Mist Oregon (the name is rather telling isn't it ), I too will be dealing with dew, drizzle, and occasional rain

Since it is unlikely DirecTV will ever spot a satellite nearer our latitude, global warming will not help much in the short term, and the Kingdome itself is like covering a satellite dish with a plastic bag, a roof-mounted open dish seems like the only practical solution in the rainy NW. Even then you may need to keep a ladder and raincoat handy in order to wipe off the LNB face in heavy rain.

Norm
__________________

__________________
2001 Alpine 36 FDDS 350 SeaGreen/Mendocino 74263
FMCA ACA NOWACA
Oregon Coyote is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Moto Sat/ DirecTV Jeff and Cheryl Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 5 08-22-2008 06:22 AM
factory sat dish larry penner Thor Industries Owner's Forum 4 02-20-2008 08:03 PM
sat dish larry penner Thor Industries Owner's Forum 6 12-15-2007 09:51 AM
Sat Dish Karl Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 02-19-2006 09:40 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.