Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-30-2007, 02:49 AM   #15
Senior Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Summer Rowlett TX (Why?)/Winter Palm Springs CA Two Springs RV Resort http://www.twospringsrv.com/
Posts: 517
Greetings from Corpus Christi,

We had the factory install a DishNet 942 which is high definition (front tv only), RF remotes, two receivers in one unit and DVR. No need for a DVR in the bedroom. We record everything and seldom watch live TV other than the news.

Basil & Sue Shannon
Former Apex owner (Gary & Renee have it now)
Was Traveling Circus (2 clowns/Sage the Wonder Dog) Tent rotted. Circus folded.
Basil Shannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-30-2007, 04:01 AM   #16
Senior Member
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 344
Unlike TiVo, you only need a land line connection wth Direct-plus if you purchase ppv events.

Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 06:54 PM   #17
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866

I saw the Direct-Plus Receivers with DVR and Direct-Plus HD receivers with DVR today at Circuit City.

I have an RCA HD receiver installed at the factory on my 06 that also routes all the cable TV and analog antenna through it.

Knowing what you know about yours, do you think I could do the Direct Plus swap for the RCA, or better yet, the Direct Plus HD swap for the RCA, and still be able to scan cable and analog channels with it into the receiver memory?

If so, I will try one of these receivers and see if I can swap it out.

Thanks for your input; it's very helpful--
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 07:47 AM   #18
Senior Member
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 344
My DVR has no ability to scan cable or local broadcast into memory. It does have thru-puts for the outside inputs. To my knowledge, it can only record off the dish. The only concern I would have with a swap is to maintain cooling as the DVR has a hard drive that runs continuously.
Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 11:01 AM   #19
Senior Member
Jim A's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,270

The DirecTV Tivo is the same thing. It has an input and output to pass through the antenna or cable signal, but it does not tune or record the signal. If your TV has a tuner, that might be of some value, but since the plasma is just a monitor with no tuner, you need something else to tune the cable or antenna. I trashed the VCR and use a DVD-R recorder for that.

Some Tivos can be modified to add a second fan to help cooling, but so far I have not found it necessary. It can show the internal temperature, and mine shows normal.
Jim A
'04 Alpine Coach 36' MDDS
Jim A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2007, 02:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866

I think I might still try the swap for the RCA Direct TV receiver in our '06. As long as it has thru-puts for the cable and antenna, I'm OK with that. I only care about recording off the satellite.

With the RCA Direct TV receiver I have to scan cable or antenna each time I move to a different location for them to work.

Circuit city has a Direct-Plus basic DVR for $99 so it's hard to go too wrong to give it a try, once I let Direct TV know what I'm doing so when I swap the unit and the card they can match the card to the new receiver serial number.

I'm not too concerned about cooling because I don't have much else in that cabinet -- the Xantrex receiver and my tank monitors. If it works fine, I might cut a fiew more nicely arranged air holes.
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 03:30 AM   #21
Junior Member
SuperB's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Wildwood Crest
Posts: 10
Hi all. Hi Route 66, you said a telephone line is not needed to activate a newer model Directv receiver. Are you talking about a DVR model# HR21-700? Our 2008 dutchstar is just about built (waiting for completion of paint and inspection) and we were wondering how we go about activating the receivers?
SuperB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 04:10 AM   #22
Community Administrator
Route 66's Avatar

Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 23,665
I have 2 standard definition DVRs, and my installer/dealer activated them by calling DirecTV.

It is my understanding that the HD DVRs are activated by phone also, according to my dealer.
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

No trees were harmed in the transmission of this message, but millions of electrons were temporarily inconvenienced.

Route 66 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2007, 07:57 AM   #23
Senior Member
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,097

I assume that you are talking about having a telephone line connected to the receiver to operate it, like required at home. Both the receivers, DVR and standard do not require a telephone line to be hooked up to work in your RV. You will not be able to do some things like order special events from the receiver with out that connection, but watching regular programs will not be a problem. To activate the receivers, you do as Route 66 said and just call in.

Dale Gerstel
2007 Limited SE 40fdts
Las Vegas, NV
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:59 AM   #24
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Jose, CA,US
Posts: 134
Since the latest post is over a year old, I want to check. We want to add a HD DVR receiver, both for home and the moho. We have DirectTV right now, with no phone line attached either place. What do we need to make it work? Costco has a deal on the receiver, $169, but I want to make sure it will work at home and on the road. Can you connect to a cell phone line to update? What kind of dish is required? We currently have the original dish we bought with the motorhome.
2006 Itasca Meridian 36G

Towing a 2011 Honda CRV
Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 09:13 AM   #25
Registered User
SacsTC's Avatar
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA.
Posts: 846
I am currently chasing this issue myself. We have the MotoSat Slimline HD5 Satellite dish with the Directv HR21-700 in the motorhome. First, you need to have a 5 LNB dish with minimum 2 cables to feed the DVR. You need to purchase DVR monthly service.(5.99) If you want High Definition, you have to purchase HD Access.(9.99) You do not need a phone line attachment except for ordering PPV, but that can be done by computer.
I have a Hughes Model HTL-HD receiver at the house, but that will have to be upgraded to a newer receiver in order to receive the new High Definition Signal. It was coded as MPEG-2 but is now coded in MPEG-4 so my receiver won't decode the new HD Signal.
Oh well, I finally signed up for HD Access this AM..If it makes MM happy, so be it.
Costco has a deal on the receiver, $169,
Where did you find this, its not on the website?? and do you remember what brand receiver it is??

SacsTC is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear bedroom slideout mechanism problem? Letsgoagain Monaco Owner's Forum 8 12-30-2008 05:40 PM
Rear Bedroom Window Fogging Mike R Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 22 12-05-2008 06:24 PM
DVR for direct tv- New info Rjcarbo Newmar Owner's Forum 2 11-07-2006 05:16 PM
DVR Hookup morninglory Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 06-22-2006 03:41 PM
July 4th Ladies LCR tournament marypal South Central Region 5 06-21-2005 02:38 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:49 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.