Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-27-2007, 06:35 PM   #1
TGF
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 46
Has anyone had an LCD installed in the rear bedroom? We are taking delivery on May 1, 2007 at the factory and would like to have the standard rear TV replaced with about 26 inch LCD. Has anyone had this done and perhaps has anyone also added a VCR or DVR to record? Any ideas would be appreciated>TGF
tgfettig@milwpc.com
__________________

__________________
TGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-27-2007, 07:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
VAGABONDMAN's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: YAKIMA
Posts: 166
Yes, we added a 23" sony flat screen in the bedroom of our '03. I used a knee action type mount on the rear front portion of the BR slide where there's lots of meat to screw into; the TV is shaped so that most of the back side fits into the window and I used narrow strips of velcro to fasten it in place for traveling.
There is a photo of this set up in the post linked here:


UPGRADES FOR MY 2003 40FDTS
__________________

__________________
Frank Rouse

Vagabondman
VAGABONDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2007, 08:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
TGF,

My 2006 Alpine Coach 36FDTS has an LCD TV in the bedroom that was installed by the factory at build time, via a special request. The LCD TV is attached directly to the bedroom wall that is in common with the toilet room, eliminating the CRT TV enclosure. We picked the coach up at the factory on May 23, 2006. The bedroom LCD TV works just fine. I did not have a VCR or DVR added to it. I don't see any reason for that, since you can do that with the front TV arrangement.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 03:06 AM   #4
TGF
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 46
Dale: Did you ever take a photo of the set up. When we start our PDI on May IT would be nice to have to show Burk Morgan, Phil Matoon and who ever else might be involved in the transformation potential. Thanks again>Tom
__________________
TGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2007, 11:53 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
TGF,

Burk and Phil are the right people to be working with for any TV-HD-Satellite arrangement.

Burk knows all the details on my LCD TV arrangement, since he is the person that we worked with specifically on this special option. Phil Matoon also is the one person that I personally know fully understands how a TV and satellite arrangement should be set up for whatever are your requirements. After getting wrong information from other people in the Customer Service Center, Phil is the one who finally gave me the straight story on the right equipment required to get HD satellite reception with an HD satellite antenna, HD receiver and HD TV.

I have my coach in storage at the moment, so it is not easy to get and post a picture.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 02:50 AM   #6
TGF
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 46
Dale: What size and brand of LCD did you use and are you happy with the picture quality?
Also; What was the installed final cost? Thank you>Tom
__________________
TGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 05:54 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Dale777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: TX
Posts: 495
TGF,

The bedroom LCD TV is made by Sharp. The picture quality is very good. I don't remember the size or the cost.
__________________
Dale & Karin
2006 Alpine Coach Limited 36FDTS
Watercolor Artist: http://www.cindydaunis.com/
Dale777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 02:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 355
I installed a 17" LCD in my 2000.

Space available will determine what size you can use. I would try Davis Cabinets in Juntion City OR.

Danny
__________________
Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 03:05 PM   #9
TGF
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 46
Danny: Thanks for the photo and input. I wish I had the time to go to the cabinet company, but unfortunately, we start PDI on May 1, 2007 and have to leave 6 days later. I was kind of hoping that we could get service to make this happen during PDI and our final tweaking before we head out on our 2,000 trek back home. That TV in the photo looks good. Do you use any kind of recording device? If we would have known that there was no way to record any TV anywhere we would have had either a DVR or something else installed during production. At any rate, thanks again>TGF
__________________
TGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 04:15 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 280
It is interesting to me why no provision is made for recording. Many have chosen to retro-fit a DVR. Many of us like to travel about but also have our favorite TV shows.

I see few comments regarding this, so I guess it is only important to me. I have just started my 6 month in the RV and have left my TiVo behind. I am currently in withdrawal!!
__________________
lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 05:18 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Danny Gayhart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Surprise, AZ, USA
Posts: 355
I have Direct-plus DVR, like TiVo
__________________
Danny & Claudia

2000 Alpine Millennium Edition
Danny Gayhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2007, 07:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Washington State
Posts: 866
Danny,

How do you get Direct Plus DVR, like Tivo, without a telephone line connected?

I tried to install a DVR at the factory and they couldn't make it work without overheating the cabinet space in the front last year. I tried installing a DVR but couldn't get it to fit without going upright in the linen closet in front of my bedroom TV on our '36.

So, how does Direct-plus DVR work, since Direct TV says I need a land line along the way? Different satellite dish or do you have a bird on the wire on your Mototstat?
__________________
Former Owner, 2006 36MDDS
2010 Arctic Fox 22GK Travel Trailer
2007 Toyota Tundra
OldForester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 01:09 AM   #13
TGF
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 46
Old Foerster: Keep those ideas coming. Thanks>Tom
__________________
TGF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2007, 03:28 AM   #14
Community Administrator
 
Route 66's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Retired Fire Service RVer's
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Newark, DE
Posts: 25,617
Quote:
So, how does Direct-plus DVR work, since Direct TV says I need a land line along the way?
No telephone line is needed to activate or use DVRs, either DirecTV or Dish Network.

I have 2 DirecTV DVRs, and activating them was not a problem without a telephone line connection.

The older DirecTV DVRs, possibly the Tivo units did require a telephone line connection for activation, and occasional telephone line connection to keep the DVR happy, but not with the newer models.

Remember, that DirecTV/Dish reps are reading from their script, and most of them have no idea how things really work.
__________________

__________________
Adios, Dirk - '84 Real Lite Truck Camper, '86 Wilderness Cimarron TT, previously 4 years as a fulltimer in a '07 DSDP

Route 66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rear bedroom slideout mechanism problem? Letsgoagain Monaco Owner's Forum 8 12-30-2008 06:40 PM
Rear Bedroom Window Fogging Mike R Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 22 12-05-2008 07:24 PM
DVR for direct tv- New info Rjcarbo Newmar Owner's Forum 2 11-07-2006 06:16 PM
DVR Hookup morninglory Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 2 06-22-2006 04:41 PM
July 4th Ladies LCR tournament marypal South Central Region 5 06-21-2005 03:38 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.