Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2012, 11:34 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: las vegas nv
Posts: 20
no ele power when eng is running

we have had our 1999 coach parked for the last year . i took it out to fuel it and found to tv would not come . as i use it for the back up camera it worked fine when i parked it . i put new batteries in and every thing works when on shore power or generator . i can not remember if the panel did lite up when driving before . i checked the breakers and noted the battery charge light was not on when motor was running . is there a breaker some were else ? thanks for any help. ernie
__________________

__________________
alpine99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2012, 12:30 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olympia
Posts: 670
Check the inverter. On the inverter there is a reset button. Try giving it a push. In 2008 we were driving thru Idaho when the TV (ie Rear View Monitor) went off. Turned on the gen and got the monitor back. Stopped for lunch and started looking around. Pushed the reset buton and that fixed the problem. BTW do not run the gen and have the inverter on at the same time. Per my manuel that is a no-no.
__________________

__________________
Jeff
'99 Alpine Coach
Jeff and Cheryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff and Cheryl View Post
BTW do not run the gen and have the inverter on at the same time. Per my manuel that is a no-no.
We must have an automatic cut off that yours doesn't have, we do it all the time and no problems in 10+ years.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 05:06 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dan DeBruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 268
Mr_D,

Why do you run the genny and the inverter? Just wondering. If I have the generator on, it powers up everything my inverter would power. Do you just leave it on for convenience or is there a specific reason?

Thanks

Dan
__________________
Dan and Kathryn DeBruin plus dogs
2005 Newmar Dutchstar 4009
Victor NY
Dan DeBruin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 09:12 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
The inverter only powers some circuits on Alpines but the generator powers all circuits.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 09:23 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
Welcome to the forum.

Many coaches have cut off switches to disconnect the house and chassis batteries for storage. Could it be that the house battery disconnect switch is off?

Rick
__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 01:42 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Olympia
Posts: 670
Mr. D
The OP has the same year model and make as mine. His question was specific as was my answer. The manuel reffered to is the inverter manuel. The set up on a 1999 Alpine I would expect not to be the same set-up as a 2002 Newmar plus different inverters even from the same manufacturer will have different power managment processes. Finally, a 2002 Alpine has a different set-up than a '99.
__________________
Jeff
'99 Alpine Coach
Jeff and Cheryl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2012, 02:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
If there is a television where the driver can see it (Mandatory for a back up monitor) then by law, EXCEPT for a back up monitor, the unit has to be cut off by some kind of ignition interlock.. That's what happened, the ignition interlock bit you.

Usually near the TV is another outlet, one for a Sat receiver or radio or some such that is NOT required to be cut off... Move the plug.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:18 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by alpine99 View Post
we have had our 1999 coach parked for the last year . i took it out to fuel it and found to tv would not come . as i use it for the back up camera it worked fine when i parked it . i put new batteries in and every thing works when on shore power or generator . i can not remember if the panel did lite up when driving before . i checked the breakers and noted the battery charge light was not on when motor was running . is there a breaker some were else ? thanks for any help. ernie
I also have a 99 Alpine. My TV quit also. I found it had become unpluged up in the overhead console. Hope this helps.Old trucker
__________________
Old Trucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2012, 05:22 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 204
Heat in basement??? I have a 99 Alpine coach, that I purchased 3 years ago. I have always been afraid of tanks & plumbing componets freezing. We travel from Indiana to South Texas and leave just after Christmas. I have gotten too old and too fat to climb into the basement. Have any of you older Alpine owners have an answer?? Thanks, old trucker
__________________
Old Trucker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:35 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
There should be one heat duct dangling in the basement open on the end. Mine has a thermostat on the basement ceiling set to trigger the furnace assuming the furnace is on.
On mine (HydroHot) there is no thermostat setting for the basement zone inside the coach, hence the separate thermostat. I'm assuming earlier coaches were the same.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:49 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan DeBruin View Post
Mr_D,

Why do you run the genny and the inverter? Just wondering. If I have the generator on, it powers up everything my inverter would power. Do you just leave it on for convenience or is there a specific reason?

Thanks

Dan
Ever try to run the heat pumps off an inverter?
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 12:51 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff and Cheryl View Post
Mr. D
The OP has the same year model and make as mine. His question was specific as was my answer. The manuel reffered to is the inverter manuel. The set up on a 1999 Alpine I would expect not to be the same set-up as a 2002 Newmar plus different inverters even from the same manufacturer will have different power managment processes. Finally, a 2002 Alpine has a different set-up than a '99.
That's why I phrased my answer the way I did.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2012, 08:08 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,929
Hummm....heat pumps off inverter. First, the heat pumps on our Alpines arent wired on the same circuit as the inverter. This is for a reason -- if you did manage to make it happen, you would be trying to run a 12-15 AC amp [18-20 amp start up] off a 2000 watt inverter. At near total inverter capacity, you would kill your bats in about 5 minutes, or in this case, ask you alternator and DC power system to run at max capacity for long periods of time--probably not a good idea.
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.