Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2011, 12:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Tom- if the smell is distinct at the inverter (inside cabinet) vs at the GFI or the appliance that was in use at the time in question, probably either transfer switch in inverter or a p.c. board inside. Given lights out on inverter and therefore no charging, I'd suspect the 120V input circuit on inverter and its p.c. board as likely, and not the xfer switch. When its only the xfer switch, I believe there have been cases of inverters working the charger and attempting to run a bad xfer switch but failing to send 120V back out all the while lights are showing inverter as working.

Could also be only a fuse. There is a fat "Inverter" fuse, which on my rigs has been located on back wall of battery bay, 300A iirc, and its about $75 at a reasonable price before delivery, likely available in Elkhart. Might also be an internal fuse or brkr that burned up.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-10-2011, 12:57 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Tom and Patty's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,850
My solar panels are not charging either. Hmm. I don't see any wires from the solar charger attached to the inverter yet, but I'm just starting removeal.

Dave, I went looking for magic smoke and attracted the attention of the local police force. :-)
__________________

__________________
Tom, Patty, Hannah "The Big Dog" and Abby Kat, Indianapolis, Indiana 2000 36' FDS 72232 Our Photos
We live out in our old van. Travel all across this land. Drive until the city lights dissolve into a country sky, me and you - hand in hand.
Tom and Patty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 01:59 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Tom and Patty's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,850
The inverter is out. I see where the "magic Smoke" went. The circuit board that all the breakers are attached to has a burn mark with a smoke trail. Wires all look good.

The solar panel is charging ok, after I plugged it back in up on the roof after replacing the refer vent(oh boy) and turning off the inverter breaker. ( that is a poor sentence)



Wish me luck in Elkhart.
I
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1472366917.png
Views:	59
Size:	860.8 KB
ID:	16224  
__________________
Tom, Patty, Hannah "The Big Dog" and Abby Kat, Indianapolis, Indiana 2000 36' FDS 72232 Our Photos
We live out in our old van. Travel all across this land. Drive until the city lights dissolve into a country sky, me and you - hand in hand.
Tom and Patty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2011, 03:29 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Mike & Nancy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Beaumont, CA
Posts: 222
Hey Tom........tell Patty she broke it and she should fix it

Merry Christmas you guys......miss not seeing ya.
__________________
Mike and Nancy
2015 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2009 Hummer H3 Alpha
Mike & Nancy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:01 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Tom and Patty's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,850
Mike, check your PM's.
__________________
Tom, Patty, Hannah "The Big Dog" and Abby Kat, Indianapolis, Indiana 2000 36' FDS 72232 Our Photos
We live out in our old van. Travel all across this land. Drive until the city lights dissolve into a country sky, me and you - hand in hand.
Tom and Patty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:52 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,445
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom and Patty View Post
I turned the breaker off that supplied power to the inverter, which should do the same. As it is now, I will pull the inverter and drop it by Xantrex in Elkhart and have them diagnose it.
On our breaker panel we've got TWO breakers for the inverter - - found that out when we had a problem. Both needed to be reset - turn off, wait a minute, turn back on. Just a thought.

Barb
__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2011, 07:28 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Tom and Patty's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,850
Definitely has a burned board. Tried to drop at Xantrex in Elkhart, but they were doing an audit and told me no way would they take it in. But I could ship it to them, or to Tennessee. WT…I was driving right by but needed to ship it to them? Not very helpful!

Took it to M&M in Ohio City. He should have the board rebuilt by Thursday.

He said the cause could be running a 1500 watt heater frequently through the inverter circuit.
__________________
Tom, Patty, Hannah "The Big Dog" and Abby Kat, Indianapolis, Indiana 2000 36' FDS 72232 Our Photos
We live out in our old van. Travel all across this land. Drive until the city lights dissolve into a country sky, me and you - hand in hand.
Tom and Patty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 01:11 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Try running the heater off the PS front outlet, which if still OEM wiring, isn't thru inverter xfer switch.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 12:33 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Spokane
Posts: 52
The folks across the road from us at Chula Vista RV had a similar issue with a electric heater. Their 458 is a newer model with the circuit breakers on the front of the inverter. Reset the breaker and all was find. His wife will not be using the receptacle on the inverter side in the future.
We had our AC board replaced by Fuge Electronics here in San Diego. Great repair shop and an authorized xantrex repair facility. I will have information on Fuge at the Rat Rally.
__________________
J Rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 10:50 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
takepride's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 1,563
When I smelled the Magic Smoke from my Combi inverter, I instantly realized it was my chance to ditch the modified sine inverter and install a true sine. Cost more though.... (for Good Sam).......
__________________
2003 Alpine 40FDTS (400HP)
Long Beach, CA
takepride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 10:49 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Tom and Patty's Avatar


 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,850
Well the inverter is back in with a repaired circuit board. All is good., except for my back and shoulders.

One more question. Batteries are Trojan 105's. The Trojan chart says 185 amp hours at 5 hours and 225 at 6 hours. What is the rating of the battery so I can set the charger?

Thanking everyone:-)
__________________
Tom, Patty, Hannah "The Big Dog" and Abby Kat, Indianapolis, Indiana 2000 36' FDS 72232 Our Photos
We live out in our old van. Travel all across this land. Drive until the city lights dissolve into a country sky, me and you - hand in hand.
Tom and Patty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:05 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Wil Rathke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 283
The batteries will provide 185 AH if discharged in 5 hours and 225 if discharged in 6 hours. This means that the battery will provide more capacity if discharged slower. I have 8 house batteries and set my charger/inverter at 900 AH which is the 6 hour rate.
If you have 6 batteries you would have 675 AH capacity which would discharge in 6 hours at a 112.5 amp rate.

Remember the batteries are 6 volt and are in series to provide 12 volts and the AH rating is for 2 batteries and not individually.
__________________
2005 38FDTS
2011 Ford Edge
Fredericksburg, TX
Wil Rathke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 11:55 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Always thought the AH setting was based on total bat capacity so if you have four 105 AH rated bats, the inverter bat AH setting would be 420 AHs. If you have six 105 AH rated bats, the setting would be 630 AH, and so on.....Since the xantrex units have a bat temp sensor, the inverter will de-rate if the bats get too warm during the charge cycle anyway, so the AH setting kind of a guideline. Once again, I could be totally all wet. Also need to ensure your inverter is set for flooded/wet cell Vs AGM or whatever.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 01:29 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
I take it you are asking the question because you have a Link 1000 Remote panel. On pdf page 31 (manual page 22) of the Link 1000 manual (http://www.xantrex.com/documents/Dis...-01_Rev-A).pdf) it says you are supposed to use the battery mfg's 20 hr rate for battery bank size esitmations. On page 6 of the Trojan brochure (http://www.trojanbattery.com/pdf/TRJN0175_RECColl.pdf) it says the standard GC2 (T-105) 6 Volt battery has a 225AH rating. Even though you place 2 of these batteries in series to obtain 12 Volts, the AH rating still remains at 225AH. With only 2 6 volt batteries you would set the Link 1000 battery capacity to 220AH. The link 1000 jumps in increments of 20AH for capacity values > 100 (pdf page 23).

If have 4 T-105's connected in series/parallel configuration (2 series sets with each set connected in parallel) then you have a total of 225 x 2 = 450AH. Therfore, you would set the Link 1000 battery capacity to 440AH.

Dave
__________________

__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automatic Transfer Switch (Power Switch) Ragman National RV Owner's Forum 2 07-18-2011 10:51 AM
Shore Power and EMS Question... fansill Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 5 06-20-2011 05:28 PM
Winegard power supply problems nhcouple Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 06-14-2011 11:41 AM
No aux power from house batteries John Trent Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 11:59 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.