Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2009, 02:43 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
anthem4us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 110
No Power

I was watching tv and the power went off for the tv and the outlet in the compartment to the left of the tv that supplies the tuner. Nothing else went off or lost power. I was wondering if anyone knows where the breaker for this circuit is? I checked the main breaker panel and the inverter breaker panel and no breakers have been tripped.


40MDTS
2004
__________________

__________________
anthem4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-17-2009, 03:43 AM   #2
JWT
Senior Member
 
JWT's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 137
Have you tried the reset button located on the inverter in the storage bays?
__________________

__________________
John & Greta
'05 36' FDDS
JWT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 09:49 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
There are 3 places I'd check
As you did, the main breaker
Then the sub panel (inverter breakers)
and then... The INVERTER itself.. Some of them (not mine) will have a breaker on the inverter.. It may be "round in back" usually a post type (Push in to reset)

IN addition you might cycle power to the inverter

First try, Turn inverter off at it's on/off switch (ON THE INVERTER, not the control panel)

Count to 10 and turn back on

Next if that does not work turn off the 120 volt breaker that feeds the inverter, then disconnect the 12 volt leads

Drink a cup of coffee (wait 2-5 minutes)

Re-connect 12 volt and restore breaker.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
TV outlet is the last in the following chain:
2nd Brkr (20A) down from top in 30A gray Inverter panel (only 4 brkrs total)
Bed outlet #1 (don't know which is #1, might be DS)
Bed TV outlet
Overhead oulets #1, #2, TV

So the brkr is the 20A General Purpose breaker; there is also a 15A gen purp brkr in that gray panel. It could be a problem w/the wiring to the individual outlet.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 10:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 1,100
If nothing else lost power, it would not be an inverter problem. The circuit breaker for the entertainment center is on the inverter breaker panel. Mine is the 3rd breaker on the black panel, labeled general purpose and controls the rear TV also. Sometimes when a breaker trips the breaker lever will not change position. You should try to reset all of the breakers on this panel. To reset a circuit breaker, always flip the breaker lever all the way to off, this may require a hard push if it is tripped and then back on. The TV has an "ignition cut off" devise in its circuit, which also might be a problem.
__________________
Dale Gerstel
AMG GTS
Las Vegas, NV
Had: 2007 Limited SE 40fdts
dgerstel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 07:41 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Abington, PA
Posts: 1,103
Possibly it is a Muntz TV and you need to feed it more quarters? Only for the older Rv'ers.
__________________
Ted & Carol Ulmer
2005 Alpine 34', 34FDDS
2006 PT Turbo pusher
Ted III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 07:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 349
no power

Sounds like a classic case of a gfi (ground fault interupter) popping...Are you sure someone didn't push the button by bumping against it...Mine is behind my recliner and it controls exactly what you said was not working. RKL2
__________________
RKL2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 09:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,938
Long shot here--my 2003 has two plug-ins in the TV/stereo/DVD overhead compartment. One of the two plugs has some sort of 12 volt DC lock-out, eg, whenever the engine was running, you couldnt watch TV. Not sure if you still have that same plug in 2004 but perhaps it has gone bad--dont recall a past thread on IRV2. Not sure why but I bypassed the lock-out plug with a short extension cord from the other plug in the compartment.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 12:10 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The 2006 schematics still show the "lockout" plug.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 02:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
anthem4us's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 110
Found the problem

I used a tester and checked the outlet in the compartment to the left of the tv and it indicated that the negative and postive wires were reversed. I then checked the tv outlet and got the same reading. I then went to the compartment to the right of the tv and checked the outlet and the wires were not reversed. I removed the outlet which is the type that the rv industry uses which has the wires pressed into metal clips. I replaced it with a standard outlet and the problem went away.

Thanks to all for your comments

Larry
40' MDTS
2004
__________________

__________________
anthem4us is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5th Wheel--can't power slideout/refrig yet can power microwave, wall outlets. Huhhh?? doodlebug52 5th Wheel Discussion 9 04-28-2009 10:47 PM
KVH Trackvision Power Switch Replacement Mike R Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 3 04-24-2009 06:48 PM
No aux power from house batteries John Trent Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 02-17-2008 11:59 AM
Shore Power sjcaldal11 Newmar Owner's Forum 4 02-10-2008 06:35 AM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.