Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-17-2006, 08:06 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,445
At the risk of once again having people mad at me for daring to criticize Western Rec., we are still experiencing NO response from the factory personnel while still trying to get the speedometer fixed. We have called, left voice mails, been lied too (we'll get right back to you), the technicians here have been promised diagrams and not received them, etc. How can we in good faith recommend Alpines to others when the customer service personnel treat second owners as dirt? There is simply no other way to put it - we are treated like dirt.

IF this problem had been looked at, and corrected, while we were at the factory in August as we asked, then we wouldn't be still having trouble. But it wasn't, so we are now in a position of being on the East Coast trying to get something fixed that the technicians are unfamiliar with and NEED some help from Western Rec. We've been very patient, but after 2 weeks (this time around) enough is enough.
__________________

__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-17-2006, 08:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,445
At the risk of once again having people mad at me for daring to criticize Western Rec., we are still experiencing NO response from the factory personnel while still trying to get the speedometer fixed. We have called, left voice mails, been lied too (we'll get right back to you), the technicians here have been promised diagrams and not received them, etc. How can we in good faith recommend Alpines to others when the customer service personnel treat second owners as dirt? There is simply no other way to put it - we are treated like dirt.

IF this problem had been looked at, and corrected, while we were at the factory in August as we asked, then we wouldn't be still having trouble. But it wasn't, so we are now in a position of being on the East Coast trying to get something fixed that the technicians are unfamiliar with and NEED some help from Western Rec. We've been very patient, but after 2 weeks (this time around) enough is enough.
__________________

__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2006, 04:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
gjstacy's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Hi Barbara & David,

I would strongly suggest that you contact Mike Glazier, who is the head of Customer Service. I have always found him to be very responsive.
__________________
Gail, John & Mindy Stacy
2007 Alpine SE 40FDQS, 2011 Equinox
ACA & Alpine SoCal
gjstacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 04:28 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,445
Doesn't anyone see the common response to get ahold of Mike Glazer as a problem? Why do they have a technical staff if nothing gets solved unless the Vice President gets involved? Mr. Glazer did call us last night and I thank him for calling us. We have finally gotten the problem corrected. Unfortunately this Coach Care facility may no longer work on Alpine Coaches because they can not get an answer from Western Rec. There are few places in the east to get an Alpine serviced, I would hate to think that good service centers (and the one in Elkhart is very good) are being turned off because of NO response when they try to contact the factory.
__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 06:52 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 307
Personally, I have had very good response from WRV to our problems on our '06. Also, they have responded as well as any other manufactures to Holiday Camper in SC where we have taken ours.

However, we had our 10,000 mi. service done at McGaugh RV, an Alpine dealer in Springdale, AR, this month. We needed a few things looked at. To our sorrow, they told us they would no longer be doing any warranty work for WRV (we could have it done and submit a bill for reimbursement), and they were most likely discontinuing selling Alpines. When we asked why, they were careful with their reply, but it had to do with warranty reimbursement problems. I realize there is more than one side to this, but it is still disquieting. They seemed an effecient place, and since we are often in the area, we had hoped to be able to use them (of course, we still can do that). I was sorry to see another dealership discontinue Alpines.

Motor Home Specialist in TX was another place we hoped to use, but on these posts have learned that they will not even work on anything out of warranty.

I want to add that McGaugh RV personnel said they had dropped the Country Coach line mainly because they got almost no technical support from them and could not get calls returned. There are big bucks in NW Arkansas, if anyone has been there lately can testify; so money is there to buy high end coaches.

This all seems a shame to me.

Beverly
__________________
Buddy and Beverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 10:08 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
gjstacy's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 629
Hi Barbara,

I certainly understand your frustration, as I have experienced some of that in the past, tho not as bad as it sounds for you.

However, if we owners don't let WRV management know that we are not getting responses, how will they know they have a problem to fix? I am a real believer in helping mgmt understand their issues, in a constructive way.

Good luck!
__________________
Gail, John & Mindy Stacy
2007 Alpine SE 40FDQS, 2011 Equinox
ACA & Alpine SoCal
gjstacy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2006, 11:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
I just put ours in the shop for a coupla warranty fixits. In shopping for a shop I called Sacramento Freightliner since the main issue is the radiator fan not engaging properly in N & 1st gear, & that's a chassis issue. The FL rep made it abundantly clear they DO NOT DO Alpine warranty work. I thought the emphasis was odd.
'Course it was also odd how he lectured me that the overheating problem I've had twice, and that was diagnosed by WRV's folks @ Aguanga, is basically impossible. Hmmm, smart fella. "Sorry Mr. Fleming, nothing is causing that overheating." Maybe the feeling 'tween FL-Sacto & WRV is mutual.
I'm assuming the fan drive problem will require some WRV interface, so I'll get some idea of how that's working.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alexander Springs Rec Area, OCN - Fla. Jody & Jeff Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 0 02-19-2009 09:41 AM
CG Owners, How About A Response GaryKD Camping Locations, Plans & Trip Reports 40 07-04-2008 11:41 AM
Response to being ROBBED fep Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 17 02-26-2007 05:06 PM
Classified Ad Response? Darrel Forum 101 | Announcements | Member Concerns 4 08-21-2006 09:03 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.