Go Back   iRV2 Forums > THE OWNER'S CORNER FORUMS > Alpine Coach Owner's Forum
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 11:28 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
We had a power outage in the campground the other day. People were running their generators. I was uncomfortable being hooked to shore power and running our generator, so I turned the power breaker off at the hookups pedestal.

Is this something not to worry about? I just didn't understand what might happen if the power came back on and our generator was running. Didn't know if the coach power management system could handle this scenario.

(Plus, who knows what kind of spurious power behavior might be at the campground just before power was restored).

What do you do?

Audrey
__________________

__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-15-2006, 11:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
We had a power outage in the campground the other day. People were running their generators. I was uncomfortable being hooked to shore power and running our generator, so I turned the power breaker off at the hookups pedestal.

Is this something not to worry about? I just didn't understand what might happen if the power came back on and our generator was running. Didn't know if the coach power management system could handle this scenario.

(Plus, who knows what kind of spurious power behavior might be at the campground just before power was restored).

What do you do?

Audrey
__________________

__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 02:24 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,134
Audrey, I "think" the electrical system is smart enough to allow only one source of AC power into the coach at a time. There is a transfer switch that accomplishes this.
However. I would certainly turn off the breakers at the pedestal for the reason you mentioned. As the park power returns it could be low on voltage or whatever. A few years back I was in a park in the high sierras and the power went off. we were asleep at the time. It came back on, but was not providing the proper voltage. Turns out they had a park generator providing all the power. When the generator came back on line it somehow burned out my inverter. I had to buy a replacemnt inverter........So I share your concern. However it wont happen again with our coach, cause I installed a system that checks the incomming power and shuts down if it suspect poor power.
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 03:07 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
We have the surge guard system which shuts off if something is wrong with the shore power. It seems to work pretty well - we've had low voltage or other issues that have caused it to shut down.

But I don't know if the surge guard system distinguishes between power from the generator or from the 50Amp plug. The surge guard display is the same in either case.

What if the campground power came on while the generator was running? What would happen? Would our system detect this and shut down the generator?

Audrey
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2006, 05:42 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dave Fernandez's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ontario, CA USA
Posts: 1,294
Hello Audrey:

The transfer switch will only allow one source to operate even if both are powered. I have on more than one occasion been running the generator both A/C going because of the outside heat and pulled into a campground plug into electric power and than shut down the generator and the A/C's continue to run. I have also preformed the procedure in the opposite way when I am getting ready to leave a campground. I have also installed a unit (Transfer Switch) that will shut down power to the Coach if the voltage is high or low, to prevent damage to the Coach.

Transfer Switch
__________________
Dave Fernandez
2001, 38ft FDDS, 350 ISC, Tow 2004 Yukon
http://www.alpinesocal.com
Dave Fernandez is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 10:19 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,134
The surge guard is wired after the gen or shore power. so it would protect from gen problems and shore power problems.
If shore power came on while gen was running I think the gen would take precedence cause it was already running. Or like I said before un plug from shore power when running gen. Your safe then
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 12:49 PM   #7
Member
 
FRED MASINO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: STEVENSON RANCH, CA
Posts: 66
The surge protector/transfer switch is controlled by the generator. Win the Motorhome, is pluged in to shore power and the genortor is running at the same time, the currrent will flow from the genertor. Turn the generator off and the transfer switch will return to normal position, witch is shore power.
__________________
FRED 2001 40 FT ALPINE
FRED MASINO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 06:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
Aud- FYI- the SurgeGuard unit used on our coaches is also the transfer switch, so it has to choose gen or shore power.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2006, 04:43 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Audrey & John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: wandering North America
Posts: 484
OK Thanks! I didn't know which "shore" power source took precedence.

Audrey
__________________
36ft 2006 Alpine Coach FDDS
Audrey & John is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 07:36 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
1peddler's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Covina, Ca 91791
Posts: 111
I find this topic very interesting. I had problems with my last MH (lost the microwave)at a campground when the power dropped. We now have a 2005 Alpine 40FDQS.

I am confused, does the coach have surge, high and low voltage protection from the factory. Do I need the AEC product or similar that Dave has installed?
__________________
Dennis And Sally
2005 40FDQS
ACA & SoCal
1peddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 10:32 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
My understanding is if you got the Surge Guard option, you have high/low voltage protection as well as open neutral or neutral/hot cross-wiring protection.
If you don't have the option, the above troubles could be issues, as w/plugging any appliance into any unknown outlet.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 10:39 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Stretch's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: cayucos, ca
Posts: 1,134
Well, we have an 03, 40fdts. Our coach did not come with low or high voltage protection. After the problems we had with our first Alpine, where park low voltage burned out our Freedom 2000 Inverter, we purchased and installed a EMS Model EMS-HW50B power protection device. The cost is about $350.00, (not cheap), but the new inverter was a lot more, $1200.00. This device installes permanently on the basement roof. If you are electrically handy and not afraid of the job. It is easy (relatively) do-it-yourself project.
After it is installed, the system is completely automatic. Each time you plug into shore power the EMS device goes thru a series of tests. It checks for proper voltage, cycles, and open neutral and open ground. This test takes two minutes. Then it allows the power into your coach. If something is wrong it will tell yo on a panel that you install near the inverter and generator controls. That's it Now you safe.
Stretch
__________________
Ross Starkenburg
2017 Newmar Dutch Star 4369. Spartan chassis w/full disc brakes. 2015 Jeep Grand Cherokee toad
Stretch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 02:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
1peddler's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: West Covina, Ca 91791
Posts: 111
Thanks, Mike and Stretch for the response.

I checked the build on the coach. It does not have Sure Guard. Will check out the EMS-HW50C and the AECS M10040A.

Does anyone use somthing else?
__________________
Dennis And Sally
2005 40FDQS
ACA & SoCal
1peddler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2006, 04:08 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
some folks use a Hughes Autoformer which doesn't need to be hard wired, but takes up space & becomes part of your setup process.
__________________

__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Onan MicroQuiet 4000 generator questions JC Andrews RV Systems & Appliances 10 06-17-2013 07:56 PM
No AC power from Generator or Shore power Dale777 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 12-20-2007 02:46 AM
Ice Storm Power outage - BUT - we kept warm Logthumper Monaco Owner's Forum 4 12-14-2007 03:16 PM
Generator Questions K9RV Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 15 03-15-2006 02:07 PM
No Eletrical Power from Power Tech Generator Field Trip Newmar Owner's Forum 5 09-27-2005 06:23 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.